We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mercure, Edinburgh” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2DG, Scotland (New Town)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Love Summer with Mercure
Ranked #116 of 147 hotels in Edinburgh
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Mercure, Edinburgh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Excellent position right on Princes Street.
Room a bit small but everything in it you could need, hairdryer, kettle, tea, coffee etc, iron, trouser press, shower gel, shampoo, soap.
7/10 for cleanliness.
Would definitely stay again because of the position, views and good price.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. See you on your next trip hopefully!

Kind regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    152
    325
    211
    68
    37
See reviews for
104
347
55
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

My wife and I had the penthouse room over looking the Edinburgh Castle. This was one of the greatest stays I've had at any hotel.
Although the place was exceptionally busy, the staff was very nice, patient and made us feel welcomed. The room was second to none and the view that awaited us was an unforgettable moment. We stepped out on the balcony and stood in awe of what laid before us. The food was very good the location could not have been better. What an outstanding visit to an amazing city.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and get the penthouse facing the castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed in the Mercure Hotel during a rugby weekend. It is located over the Marks and Spencer's at the Waverley station end of the Princes St. Locating parking near the hotel was difficult. Any suitable parking identified on the web before arrival could not be reached due to roads been closed because of tram works. Eventually we got parking in the train station. The parking is on new street and is about 10 minutes walk.

The hotel itself is tired and jaded. The bedroom was small.
Breakfast on morning 1 was cold when we arrived down, even though we were the first down for breakfast-. We had breakfast out the second morning.
The location of the hotel is its main attraction, with a great view from the bar / restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valued review. We would sincerely like to apologise that the rooms did not match your expectations. I would like to assure you that we have looked into the breakfast issue that you highlighted and taken action. We do hope that you would consider visiting us again.

Kind regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I stayed here one night for business. After a delayed train I arrived very tired and was incredibly pleased to find out that it was, as advertised, about 2 minutes walk from the train station and easy to fine.
The reception desk was friendly and were expecting my arrival with the paperwork out waiting allowing for a quick check-in. After hours on a delayed train this was a god send.
The room was clean and warm if a little bit of a squeeze.
The best thing about the room was the shower. Lovely, hot and powerful it was a welcome wake up call in the morning.
Free wi-fi in the lounge, with a view of the castle is an enjoyable way to begin work for the day and as the lounge is large and spacious you can spread out a bit and work in peace and quiet without feeling crowded.
Nice hotel, I also got a good deal on Last Minute which was good.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

we got this room via a late booking site (24 hours before) and a very good deal for a hotel in such a location. Enviable position on Prince's st (main shopping street ad tourist road) and overlooking Castle, Scott Monument and gardens - perfect - so long as you have a room at the front. Rooms were average, nothing bad, but just standard fare. Same goes for the interior as a well, but if you are out all day then that should not bother.Breakfast was not included in price (£16 per person when we were there if you pay), but plenty of eating places outside to go. Definitely to recommend for the setting and for the price (even without late booking deal) you get views you have to pay considerbly more for in some of the other big hotels along the street.

Room Tip: The downsid of wanting the view of the castle is that your room fronts onto main road - so be prepar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. See you on your next trip hopefully!

Kind regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

This is an excellent hotel, rooms are a good size and clean. The breakfast was very good. The best point is the location. The beds are a little uncomfortable but apart from that it is ideal for a short stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. See you on your next trip hopefully!

Kind regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Generally hotel was ok.
Room - clean, great view, but could hear some road noise etc particularly at night.
Sleep Quality - bedding ok, but mattress uncomfortable.
Breakfast - quality and variety of food was only average, disappointing at £10 per head.
Reception staff very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valued review and thank you for your nice comments regarding the reception team. We would sincerely like to apologise that you did not feel the comfort of mattress and breakfast matched your expectations. We treat all of our comments with the utmost seriousness and we will be investigating this matter accordingly.

Kind regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel

Address: Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2DG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 147 hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Hotel built above 2 well-known stores (Jenners & Marks & Spencer) in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Edinburgh
Ramada Hotel Mount Royal
Ramada Edinburgh
Edinburgh Ramada
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.