We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, excellent location although pricey.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2DG, Scotland (New Town)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #116 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Fife
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, excellent location although pricey.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Paid for a Castle view and was disappointed to be placed in a room with a poor outlook. However after going back and speaking to Marie the Receptionist, she relocated us without any fuss. The room had an amazing view to the Castle and up and down Princes Street. The room had a double bed and a two seater sofa.

Marie is a prime example of all the staff within the hotel. Nothing was a problem. Staff on reception, waiters, bar and cleaning staff were all very pleasant. The staff are, indeed, a credit to this hotel. All the waiting staff were very attentive and provided an excellent service. One of the waiters engaged us in conversation and gave us a few pointers to try and enhance our stay.

The hotel is located on Princes Street and being so centrally located has an impact on the price of the accommodation as well as the bar prices.

The meals were good. The breakfast was delicious, it is a buffet self service. Certain dishes are available on order from the kitchen. I don't think there was anything not available. If you don't like the breakfast here you must be too fussy.

We would definitely stay at this hotel again and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a castle view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

What a great review and we thank you for it. We are proud of our staff and service given and we are pleased to see that they have excelled again. We do hope you use our hotel again in the future and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    379
    261
    91
    47
See reviews for
133
409
64
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Highlands
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Have just had A two night break at the mercure which we have visited at this time of year when it was under other ownership.We were very pleased it was still well run. Very pleasant staff at reception and Dining Room. We had a room facing on to Princes Street which is spoilt with the tram workings but hopefully that will soon over.

Room Tip: Although you are on the front on the Princes Street side you still get a view of the castle and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valued review. We are always trying our utmost to deliver the best service to our guests, and i am glad that we have made your stay enjoyable. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Just returned from a trip to Scotland. Spent two nights in Edinburgh at the Mecure hotel on Princes st. My wife and I received a free two night stay in a mecure hotel because we got married at one of their hotels in August. We chose the Edinburgh hotel because of its location, right on Princes St. The location was great, within walking distance to our favourite shops and restaurants. Very speedy check-in from the friendly staff then up to our room. Wow, biggest bed i've every stayed in and very comfy. Room was very spacious, then we looked out of the window - great views of the castle, momument and princes st. Would definately recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in Edinburgh. Only 2 complaints, 1 - not the hotels fault, princes st outside the hotel was closed due to the tram works so had to walk through edinburgh carrying bags etc, 2 - no car park facilities, had to park in the train station car park, I know most city centre hotels dont have their own car parks but it would have been nice if the hotel had a deal of some sort with the car park for a slight discount etc. Other than these small complaints, a great stay at a great hotel. Also, the breakfast is fantastic with great views from the restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your recent review on our hotel and that you found our staff friendly and the hotels location excellent. We are always trying our utmost to deliver the best service to our guests.We do have a deal with a car park to offer a discount to our guests. We do hope that you will use our hotel again in the future and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Arrived at 9.30 and fully expected to drop off cases and return later to check in, but lovely to be told we could go into our room early! Great view from our bedroom window, really a picture postcard of Edinburgh and felt very privledged to see this at night and in the morning. Rooms not large, but adequate, nice a warm and no noise from Princes St even though the work is ongoing right in front of the hotel to install tram lines. Breakfast was one of the best we have had, and again, you sit and look out over Edinburgh. Great position for shopping, eating (and drinking out). Will be back for def.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

What a great review and we thank you for it. We are always trying our utmost to deliver the best service to our guests, and i am glad we have made your stay enjoyable and thank you for your lovely comments about our breakfast. We do have a great location with the most fantastic views of Edinburgh.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Situated only a few minutes walk from Waverley Station and with amazing views of the city and castle The Mercure Edinburgh Princes Street Hotel was a perfect choice for a ladies short break to Edinburgh. Staff were very polite & friendly (a special thank you to Damien who dealt with my booking) .My room was spotlessly clean and my bed was very, very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent (buffet-style with lots of choice).The hotel is central for a spot of retail therapy and also for the bars and restaurants in the New Town. The Royal Mile is about 10 minutes walk away.Hoping to return soon.........

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

What a great review and we thank you for it. We are always trying our utmost to deliver the best service to our guests, and i am glad that we have made your stay enjoyable. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012 via mobile

Rooms are fine if you not looking luxury, just want a place to rest your head. if your in edinburgh for an exploration few days, this is 10 minuted from the royal mile, and bang in the centre for shopping

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your continued support and review! We are always trying our utmost to deliver the best service to our guests, and i am glad that we have made your stay enjoyable. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton on tees
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Just stayed in the Mercure Edinburgh city hotel, really nice hotel right in the heart of Edinburgh, although the rooms maybe a little tired overall this is a good quality hotel with great views from the bar/restaurant area which looks directly on to Princes Street and you have a great view of the castle. The breakfast was buffet style with plenty of choice and you certainly wont go hungry. Staff were really friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. Will certainly stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Princes Street otherwise you will be looking at air conditioning units!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

What a great review and we thank you for it. We are proud of our staff and service given and we are pleased to see they excelled again. I am glad that we have made your stay enjoyable and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel

Address: Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2DG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Hotel built above 2 well-known stores (Jenners & Marks & Spencer) in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Edinburgh
Ramada Hotel Mount Royal
Ramada Edinburgh
Edinburgh Ramada
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.