We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location & Great Breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2DG, Scotland (New Town)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #116 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Stamford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good Location & Great Breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

This hotel has probably got the best location of all in the heart of the city - right on Princes Street, They must be the envy of every other Edinburgh city hotel! Consequently every thing is within walking distance.

Saying that, it is an odd place. Reception is on the first floor and the entrance is easily missed. The rooms, and general decor throughout, are a little drab and it looks a little (in places) like a throw back to the 1970's.

But it's clean and that is what counts.

Their breakfast however is truly superb. I went down not expecting much really only to find the food excellent, helpings (it is self service) generous and the operation very efficent. Would highly recommend the breakfast.

All in all a decent hotel - and superb locaton and breakfast!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    379
    261
    91
    47
See reviews for
134
409
64
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Schwyz, Switzerland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

The Mercure Edinburgh Mount Royal is located very nicely for most activities in and around Edinburgh. It's on Princes Street just across from Princes Street garden with a nice view up towards the castle. Waverly train station is 5 minutes by foot.
the rooms were clean and what one would expect from a Mercure Hotel. For our taste the mattresses were a bit soft. The service staff was very friendly and helped us immediately with what little we needed of them.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

I stayed in this Hotel for 2 nights on a shopping weekend with friends.I have to say that this hotel is in the best location for shopping,the hotel staff were so friendly and helpful,food fantastic overall we had a fantastic weekend and will return next year for the same shopping trip,Well done to all the staff keep up the good work .

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

I recently stayed at the Mercure hotel with my boyfriend for his birthday. When we arrived, we found it difficult to locate the hotel as the name changed from Ramada to Mercure. We were unaware of this and ended up searching up and down Princes Street. The hotel seemed nice and the staff were friendly and willing to help. The bedroom had a fantastic view of the castle, it was quiet at night but it was on the small side. Generally the hotel was outdated, the bar and restaurant needs to be re-decorated but the views again, were amazing. The bathroom had a great shower and was clean. But the towels were not changed daily and we ended up having to ask each day for clean towels. Overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Stayed bed and breakfast at this hotel for 2 nights. In a super location, especially for shop aholics, right next to M&S and Jenners department store.
Staff at the hotel are very helpful, when we had a problem with the flush on our loo it was fixed immediately. The room we had was a twin, a bit small, anyone with a large suitcase would struggle to get through the narrow door way. It was however clean, beds a bit "lumpy".
As we were b&b we ate out at night - recommend Italian - Amarone - round corner from Jenners on St Andrews Square - fab food and staff we went back the second night it was so good.

Room Tip: Ask for double, they are larger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011 via mobile

Stayed for one night in a single room for work - it was tiny and had to squeeze round side of bed to get to t.v and desk etc... I honestly had a bigger room in halls of residence at uni! I was on 7th floor at the back off hotel (over the extractor fans!) The shower had no power and it took a long time to wash my hair! Everything is average and could be better - it's just getting old!

Had a meal with colleagues in the restaurant. We ordered 2 steaks 1 medium-rare and 1 well done. They were both cooked the same. We would've complained but it took so long to come that we couldn't wait any longer. Would definitely not eatanother evening meal here. Breakfast was fine though.

Reception staff were friendly and the view from the hotel restaurant was lovely. If I was paying myself I probably wouldn't return but it's not so bad if work are paying!!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valued review. We would sincerely like to apologise that you did not feel that the room matched your expectations and that your service was slow in our dining room. I do hope that you would consider visiting us again when you are in Edinburgh as i can assure you your enjoyment will be a priority to us, as all guests are.

Best regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights and had a back facing room on the 5th floor. The furniture does need refurbished as other guests have stated and a new carpet would certainly help. On my first night the curtains were a very dated red and blue pattern however when i got back to my room after a long day i was delighted to see brand new cream curtains had been fitted at some point and this small face lift made a huge difference! The room was spotless and the shower was hot and powerful, there is standard tea and coffee in the rooms and if you need more the staff are more than pleased to indulge you. This hotel is so central to all that edinburgh has to offer, the staff at the hotel are friendly and willing to please and if the refurbishments continue this could make mercure princes street an AMAZING place to stay for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms have an outstanding view over edinburgh city centre but are more expencive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valued review. We are always trying our utmost to deliver the best service to our guests, and i am glad that we have made your stay enjoyable. We are currently doing some refurbishments to our bedrooms with new carpets also on the agenda. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Best regards,

James Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel

Address: Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2DG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Hotel built above 2 well-known stores (Jenners & Marks & Spencer) in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Edinburgh
Ramada Hotel Mount Royal
Ramada Edinburgh
Edinburgh Ramada
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.