We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced Disaster” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Scotsman Hotel to your Saves list
The Scotsman Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1YT, Scotland (Old Town)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Overpriced Disaster”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2008

What an overpriced disaster. Save your money and book elsewhere. Our 'suite' was cramped, drab, and needed a total overhaul (the wall-to-wall carpets were starting to peel up, there were scuff marks all over over room's walls and baseboards, the toilet worked half the time, etc.). The hotel staff, particularly the concierge Marek, were not helpful. They couldn't get us a suitable dinner reservation, they told us our rental car agency was closed on the weekend (I called and it was not), and they gave us wrong directions. The prices are very high at this property, but do not be fooled - this is nowhere near a 5 star hotel. I would never stay here again.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — dreadful service, ratty decor in rooms, overpriced
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    782
    411
    190
    101
    73
See reviews for
171
878
68
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Teesside
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2008

On arrival the staff were superb. We were very early but staff stored cases and delievered to room. We were up graded to a suite - thank goodness. the room was ok, dining room with fresh fruit, wonderful bathroom and fresh water every evening. We ate in the hotel first night - in was dreadful! Food was very poor, tough over cooked steak, staff arguing and only 2 other tables - other must have heard how bad the food was. Breakfast was terrible, always prepared to wait for fresh food but it was dry and overcooked - obviously kept warm under lights. The table was cleared as you sat, with hovering staff whisking things from under your nose. Not relaxing. Ok for business use but not for romantic weekend. Very, very disappointed. Never heard back from complaint letter.

  • Liked — The reception staff and great bathroom
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2008

had been looking forward to staying at the scostman for the edinburgh tattoo as i have stayed at the hotel twice before and thought the attention to detail was second to none. However although we still had a great time i felt that the new management had cut corners on simple things that make such a difference in a five star hotel
Mainly the removal of:

valet parking we had to park our car in an ncp car park during the edinburgh festival which made this a round trip of one hour

complimentary body lotion in room

concierge team

no longer receive small box of edinburgh rock on turn down service

scottish staff

these may seem very picky but for the £300 a night price tag they are what used to make the scotsman personal

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2008

The drain of the bathtub was blocked, so you had to take a shower "in a lake". The view and noise of the room were awful (I'm sure that the Editor Room we'd boocked wasn't the room they gave us) The lift didn't work. The refrigeration system was only a fun. In spite of the discount the hotel made in our account due to all these disappointed facts, we don't recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — the lies of the receptionists
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAn Francisco
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2008

We really enjoyed the Scotsman. We were traveling with our teen-aged son and so booked an Editor's Suite with a rollaway bed. It had plenty of room and was quite luxurious. The room had all kinds of amenities, we especially enjoyed the high-tech light switches. We didn't spend the extra money for a view of the Firth, but I think I would next time I stayed here.
We had two complaints. The room got stuffy at night and there was no AC. Maybe they don't need it often in Edinburgh. We did open the windows, which helped a bit. Also, most of the staff was Eastern European and didn't seem to know much about Edinburgh. Fortunately, we have friends in the city and they took us around, and gave us good hints on restaurants and pubs.
Our room came with a full breakfast. We also ate lunch at the hotel the first day when we arrived, and the food was very good. The swimming pool and health club were very surreal. Unfortunately, we didn't make time for using the pool but it would have been fun.

  • Liked — Great location
  • Disliked — lack of Scottish staff
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2008

The Scotsman Hotel is conveniantly located in a beautiful baronial style building on the North Bridge midway between the cobbled streets of the royal mile and the bustling shop lined Princes Street.

I travelled to edinburgh with a friend for the weekend and as we caught an early morning flight from Belfast our room was not ready when we arrived at the hotel however the warm, welcoming staff were on hand to take our bags and contacted us as soon as the room was availible. We reserved a deluxe twin room for our stay at The Scotsman which had various quaint touches such as a fireplace, a privacy hatch and Edinburgh Monopoly. The beds were among the most comfortable we have ever slept in.

Breakfast is served in the Club room and offers a wide range of culinary delights ranging from your full scottish to delicious seafood delicacies. Unfortunatly the experiance was slightly tarnished on the last day when the arrival of a new chef meant that we waited almost 30 minutes for some white toast and a cooked breakfast, however as usual the food was marvellous when it arrived.

The hotel's North Bridge Brasserie was not open due to renovations during our stay however been based in the centre of Edinburgh there were plently of restaurants available, the hotel itself has an excellent restaurant called "vermillion" while on Princes Street The Balmoral Hotel offers "Hadrian's Brasserie and the mitchelin starred"Number One Restaurant".

Overall we had fantastic stay in The Scotsman and would certainly stay in this wonderful hotel again.

  • Liked — The excellent location
  • Disliked — If I was really picky, the lobby and lifts are tiny
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2008

Just back from a weekend at The Scotsman. We arrived with high expectations and 95% of the reality lived up to them. But walking down North Bridge on Sunday, weighed down by our bags, to the car park half a mile away, it was the niggley wee things that were bugging us, niggly things that when you are paying lots of good money to stay in a 5 star hotel, you are simply entitled not to have to expect.

Great hotel, amazing building, well converted, wonderful views, fantastic ambience, superb central location. The spa underneath was a wonderful way to start each of the 2 days we stayed, lovely quiet pool. Breakfast was very good. Our room, one of the small publisher suites, was big and very comfortable indeed, lots of nice touches. It really did feel like a 5 star experience.

The one big drawback that to an extent is not the hotel's fault, is the lack of any sort of parking. Guests have to battle from wherever they can park (not easy in summer in central Edinburgh) to reach the hotel, not the best start weighed down with luggage. Basically, we expect the solution to the parking problem to be provided by the hotel (valet-parking, acquisition of a nearby parking lot, whatever), not to have to be provided by us having to lug our bags around Edinburgh and paying an additional £50 to NCP etc for parking.

The room certainly had the feel and appearance of being 5 star. However, being picky (which we're entitled to be given the cost of staying), the bath was stained with a yellow hue, the double bed was in fact two sandwiched singles appearing as a double (really, really poor - OK in Mrs MacGlumpher's B&B, but criminal in a 5 star hotel!), although there were lovely products in the bathroom, there was a lack of body lotion. In a five star hotel you certainly expect your body wash to have its accompaniment of body lotion.

These are all points that kind of dampened what was otherwise a great experience. The thing that really got us mad though, and will probably mean that we never go there again and tell the world why, was a tiny thing, of no monetary consequence whatsoever to us or the hotel. Wifi is advertised as available in all rooms. Great, we wanted to check film times, so laptop out, plugged into cable at desk (reception told us to our surprise that there was in fact no wifi) and there's a message from the hotel saying that internet connection costs £1 for each 15 minutes. Rang reception, yep, that's the case. This is a 5 star hotel - billed as Edinburgh's finest - and they have to take an extra £1 off us (in amongst the numerous hundreds of £s already and otherwise very happily being paid) to access the internet for 20 minutes. Just unbelievable, literally.

On checking out, I raised the issue with Ian at Reception (unfortunately not Neil who the previous night had been beyond excellent). A mumbled "that's hotel policy" was his only response. Being the worst complainer in the world, we handed our credit card over, turned tail and set off down North Bridge... A truly fantastic weekend and otherwise wonderful hotel experience, tainted for the sake of 1 measly pound.

Basically, wonderful hotel, but if you're in the 5 star league (which you are and should be) get a grip and understand what that means.

Stayed June 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Scotsman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scotsman Hotel

Address: 20 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1YT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#23 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#47 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Scotsman Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scotsman Hotel, resides within the former Scotsman Newspaper building. Originally built in 1905, this majestic building was designed to dominate the Edinburgh skyline and features incredible views of the city´s most famous landmarks. In 2001 the building was transformed into The Scotsman Hotel with careful attention towards preserving the magnificent Italian marble staircase, stunning oak panelling, imposing marble pillars and ornate ceilings.Originally the reception room of the newspaper, our North Bridge Bar and Brasserie features the original oak panelling, a hand carved wooden balcony and imposing marble pillars. The seating area is split into two levels with the balcony offering quieter, intimate seating, with a birds-eye-view below to the buzzing main restaurant and cocktail bar.The newspaper held its giant printing presses in the lower ground floor. The press room now houses our Scotsman Health Club and Spa with a vast state of the art gym. Popular with locals and hotel guests alike. Facilities include a steel swimming pool, steam and sauna, tropicarium, 60-station gym, spa treatment rooms and a relaxation suite.With no two alike, our 69 rooms and suites each have their own quirky features including curved corner window bays with breathtaking views and marble bathrooms and as a guest at The luxury 5 star Scotsman you will enjoy free Wi-Fi access and a complimentary Scotsman Newspaper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Splendia and Agoda so you can book your The Scotsman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Scotsman Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.