We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“revisit to this hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Scotsman Hotel to your Saves list
The Scotsman Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1YT, Scotland (Old Town)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Renfrew, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“revisit to this hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We returned to the Scotsman for a complementary visit due to first visit not being great.
What a difference !
The room was awesome and the staff very attentive . The breakfast was good with hot food and hot plates ( this was an issue for us on the last visit)
We enjoyed the experience very much and would return again. l

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Service and Administration at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel. I am glad on this occasion we were able to provide you with our usual five star Scotsman service we are very proudly known for. I will pass your comments on to our team and we look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you once again.
Kind regards
Laura cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    781
    411
    190
    101
    73
See reviews for
171
878
68
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I stayed with friends at the Scotsman as part of Spa Breaks pamper weekend which included a treatment, use of spa and dinner bed and breakfast. It was only £150 per person!!! amazing value. We had access to the full menu and therefore could indulge in the mouth watering 10oz sirloin steak at £28 as well as starters, sides and coffees on top. Breakfast also included and really tasty. The hotel staff couldn't do enough to help make our stay a special one. They engaged in conversation about our trip, helped us with our evening meal booking (restaurant was fully booked so we were squeezed in at a later time but given an complimentary cocktail for the inconvenience. Rooms were lovely and spacious. No noise from street. Only niggle was the lift takes ages to arrive but that's hardly anything to moan about. Spa is lovely. Pool is a tad cold but the Jacuzzi more that makes up for that. Excellent value and quality. Thanks Scotsman and spabreaks!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Service and Administration at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel. As you will be aware, normally avenues such as Trip Advisor are utilised for the negative aspects; making your kind words appreciated that little bit more.

We are very proud of the fact that each and every one of our staff knows the importance of making our guests feel special and I am pleased to see that you experienced the team’s professionalism and friendliness.

Thank you once again and I hope you will return to stay with us once again.

Kind regards
Laura cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales, uk
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

This is a 5* Hotel, the genuinely friendly staff help make this Hotel one of the most pleasurable places to stay in Edinburgh. What a fantastic city!
The rooms are comfortable, spotless and calm, quiet and peaceful. Staff are so attentive from the brilliant reception girls to the concierge, who are always present when you need them.
The bathrooms are excellent and the attention to detail does not go un-noticed. Beds turned down at night and water placed beside the beds.
Well done to the all the staff - they help make your stay so relaxing.
The one comment I would make , however, is that although the Hotel certainly deserves the acclaim of 5 huge stars - the restaurant does not! If you are going to serve fish and chips please provide vinegar! This is after all the UK! The staff here, did not impress me and I felt uncomfortable from the moment I walked in, maybe I was not dressed appropriately, but that does not mean I should not be there.
To end on a high note - there are wonderful sites in Edinburgh and I would not hesitate to stay at the Scotsman again, it is brilliantly placed for all the attractions, immediately on the Royal Mile.
Excellent and well done again to all the staff of the Hotel - you can be very proud.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent and you will be comfortable wherever you are placed
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Service and Administration Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel. As you will be aware, normally avenues such as Trip Advisor are utilised for the negative aspects; making your kind words appreciated that little bit more.
We like to pride ourselves on our professionalism, relaxing atmosphere and service throughout the hotel; I am pleased to see that you experienced all of these and enjoyed your stay.
With regards to your comments about the Brasserie I am very sorry you were made to feel this way, we do not have a dress code in the brasserie at dinner as we would like our guests to feel as comfortable as possible and im so sorry to hear that you felt the opposite.
Once again thank you so much for your kind comments regarding The Scotsman Team, I will make sure these are passed on. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Laura cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed in the Scotsman Sun 10th of November as a belated birthday celebration. My partner rang during the week and we were upgraded to a beautiful elegant suite with incredible views and attention to detail. My partner subsequently proposed later that evening in the suite and we shall be returning to this hotel time and time again as the service was outstanding. From the outset the entire customer experience was faultless. Having been a purser for british airways for many years I am used to staying in upscale hotels, What stood out about the Scotsman was the staff - I have rarely met with such a fanastic bunch of people. They were utterly utterly charming! The names I recall were Ross, Duncan who took our luggage? and the barman who created a unique twist on my favourite cocktail the Caipirinha. Beautiful spa and dining experience too but most certainly the staff make this hotel. We shall return!

Room Tip: Indulge in a suite you will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Service and Administration at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for your positively wonderful comments and of course congratulations! I am glad out team were able to add to what is such a very special occasion for you both.
We are very proud of the fact that each and every one of our staff knows the importance of making our guests feel special and I am pleased to see that you experienced the team’s professionalism and friendliness; I will make your comments known to the Team as I am sure this will be very much appreciated.
Once again thank you so much for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kindest regards
Laura cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Dropped into The Scotsman Hotel on our recent visit to Edinburgh for a drink. Couldn't decide on a cocktail, the barman (unfortunately didn't get his name) made me up a personalised cocktail to what I fancied. Much appreciated and will definitely return on our next trip. Wonderful service

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Service and Administration at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit and cocktails, are barmen are a very skilled team that love being able to experiment with different cocktails, so I am sure they appreciated making you a personalised cocktail as much as you enjoyed drinking it! I am glad you will return, we look forward to welcoming you back.
Kindest regards
Laura cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Attentive business staff, listen a react fairly.
Concierge was a really nice fellow, liked his family tartan. Very attentive.
The restaurant was fantastic for breakfast and dinner. Ian and his crew are top shelf.
Our room was generous and comfortable, and warm...during the fall this year.
We would stay again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Everyone got a little noise due to the Oktoberfest celebrations that went past this guys bedtime. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Service and Administration at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your positive comments regarding your recent stay with us.
I will pass your comments onto Iain and his Brasserie team. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kindest regards
Laura cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

This was our third stay at The Scotsman so its a hotel we like. Our experience this time was much like that of Aug60 below so I will not repeat all the points which have been made. This is a confident classy hotel with some blips. In terms of service there is a marked difference between the wonderful, welcoming reception and concierge staff and the inattentive, even disinterested brasserie staff. Our experience like others was of arriving into the breakfast room and trying to catch the attention of a staff member. None of the larger tables were available to we were pointed , not led, towards a small table next to the pillar- we had to ask on more than one occasion for salt, pepper and butter to be brought. No-one indicated for example if eggs could be prepared to order. This is an area of service which really needs to be improved. ( The Marine and Houston House of the hotels we have stayed in recently provide much better service.)

We did eat in the brasserie for lunch which was excellent and i felt reasonably priced for the quality and location. The gym and spa area is good but not quite of the quality of the Sheraton. I found the gloom Stygian rather than soothing.

Our room was on the 8th floor and had a split level bedroom and lounge. The view across the rooftops towards the castle and beyond on side and Calton Hill on the other is wonderful. The bathroom is well appointed.

This is a good hotel, well crafted and with unique features from its time as the home of The Scotsman newspaper. We like it otherwise we would not have gone back but at 5* it needs to ensure that the quality is maintained throughout.

Room Tip: All the rooms we have stayed in have been good but the split level rooms on the 8th floor might not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Service and Administration at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay with us at The Scotsman, I will pass your comments onto our reception and concierge staff.
With regards to the comments regarding the brasserie staff and breakfast service, I have passed all of your comments onto our brasserie manager Iain Gibson who has asked me to pass on his sincere apologies and has assured me that he will take the appropriate steps to address this.
As we are situated in the centre of Edinburgh City and hold an enviable position on the edge of North Bridge we are surrounded by the buildings of the Old Town of Edinburgh I am glad you appreciated the view from your suite!
Thank you for your comments please be assured these have been passed on and will be dealt with accordingly.

I do hope you will return to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Laura cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Scotsman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scotsman Hotel

Address: 20 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1YT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#23 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#43 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#47 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Scotsman Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scotsman Hotel, resides within the former Scotsman Newspaper building. Originally built in 1905, this majestic building was designed to dominate the Edinburgh skyline and features incredible views of the city´s most famous landmarks. In 2001 the building was transformed into The Scotsman Hotel with careful attention towards preserving the magnificent Italian marble staircase, stunning oak panelling, imposing marble pillars and ornate ceilings.Originally the reception room of the newspaper, our North Bridge Bar and Brasserie features the original oak panelling, a hand carved wooden balcony and imposing marble pillars. The seating area is split into two levels with the balcony offering quieter, intimate seating, with a birds-eye-view below to the buzzing main restaurant and cocktail bar.The newspaper held its giant printing presses in the lower ground floor. The press room now houses our Scotsman Health Club and Spa with a vast state of the art gym. Popular with locals and hotel guests alike. Facilities include a steel swimming pool, steam and sauna, tropicarium, 60-station gym, spa treatment rooms and a relaxation suite.With no two alike, our 69 rooms and suites each have their own quirky features including curved corner window bays with breathtaking views and marble bathrooms and as a guest at The luxury 5 star Scotsman you will enjoy free Wi-Fi access and a complimentary Scotsman Newspaper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Splendia and Agoda so you can book your The Scotsman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Scotsman Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.