We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, can't wait to return” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added The Scotsman Hotel to your Saves list
The Scotsman Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1YT, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Amazing, can't wait to return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Just back from a great night stay with my husband we both could not ask for a better break away, just what we needed. The staff were brilliant very professional, our room was excellent with a great view of Edinburgh & very clean (i am so fussy). Spa was amazing, therapist was so lovely we got 3 treatments nearly 2 hours of bliss. I got body scrub, massage & facial. It was very reasonable. Food was excellent we didn't need to leave the hotel. I forgot i was in Edinburgh so handy as not too far from home (didn't want to travel far my baby is weeks old). I feel so relaxed & refreshed. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Services Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel. As you will be aware, normally avenues such as Trip Advisor are utilised for the negative aspects; making your kind words appreciated that little bit more.
We like to pride ourselves on our professionalism, relaxing atmosphere and service throughout the hotel; I am pleased to see that you experienced all of these and enjoyed your stay.
It is always a pleasure to read our guest’s reviews and to see that you had an opportunity to enjoy a number of facilities and they were all at the high standard at which we pride ourselves is an added bonus.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the Scotsman in the future

Kind Regards
Claire Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    738
    380
    169
    87
    65
See reviews for
159
812
64
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Had 3 nights @ £99 per night excl breakfast.
+ ve
Attentive staff from Concierge, Reception, Restaurant and cleaners, warm, comfortable, great surroundings and character and excellent food in North Bridge Brasserie. Breakfast was a little steep at £17 - but it kept me going all day and I only wanted 1 course at dinner, that's after walking to Leith, Arthur's Seat, The Royal Mile etc. Mrs B's kippers and smoked Salmon were also reported to be excellent. Not the cheapest place but excellent value. Room large (fit 3 Travelodge hutches) and although on North Bridge, relatively quiet. There was one drunken Scots person singing something at 03:00 on Wednesday morning but that didn't last long before they fell over / shut up. Recommended.
I would go the the North Bridge Brasserie even if I was not staying at the hotel - very good value (not cheap but excellent quality in impressive surroundings)
- ve
Someone had been ill in the lift the following the Scots victory over the Irish (Rugby Union - high spirits vs hooliganism for Football) so it ponged a little - not the hotel's fault and cleaner was very apologetic.
Asked for room with view over Carlton Hill - not allocated so we received an upgrade to one with with no problems
Mistake on bill pointed out and no quibbling over refund

Room Tip: Facing North - a super view from bank of Scotland, Castle, Princes Street, Calton Hill and down to P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Services Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel.
We are very proud of the fact that each and every one of our staff knows the importance of making our guests feel special and I am pleased to see that you experienced the team’s professionalism and friendliness.

I am sorry that you were disturbed by certain celebrating individuals following the rugby however it was nice to hear that they did not deter from the enjoyment of your stay.

I hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the future and we looking forward to welcoming you back to the Scotsman.

Kind Regards
Claire Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is a food review only, but the meal, restaurant and service was excellent and well worth sharing. After flying into Edinburgh early on a Friday and dropping our bags in the Witchery hotel we headed out for breakfast.

I had seen the Scotsman's website and it looked good so gave it a try. So we turned up unannounced and asked for a table. We couldn't have been made more welcome. The Scottish breakfast was freshly cooked, the help yourself breakfast bar full of fruit, yogurt etc. etc.

The hotel was originally the home of The Scotsman newspaper and they have done an excellent conversion to a fine looking hotel, retaining classic art deco appearance with modern facilities. We will stay there one day.

Thanks to the staff who made our first meal in Edinburgh very memorable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Prince's Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Services Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel. As you will be aware, normally avenues such as Trip Advisor are utilised for the negative aspects; making your kind words appreciated that little bit more.

I was delighted to hear that you took the opportunity to join us for breakfast and that it was at the usual high standard for which we are proudly known; I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Scotsman in the future.

Kind Regards
Claire Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This isn't the best 5* I’ve stayed in but there's not much to moan about either. The accommodation was really nice, very clean, tidy with all amenities you could ask for. The only issue we had was the noise level outside on a weekend. When staying make sure you're not facing the North Bridge side which is on the main street. We stayed for 3 nights and was really noisy especially on Friday/Sat early morning.

Breakfast was lovely the normal you would expect in a 5 star hotel, staff really friendly and made us all feel at home.

I recently visited Scotland for Hogmanay this year and had a fab time. I used the The Scotsman Hotel Spa facilities for a day which included the gym and all the spa facilities. The spa, personally is why I came back 4 weeks later. I love to keep fit so there’s nothing better than a good sweat off session (showered after obviously) then venturing to the Jacuzzi (hottest ever Jacuzzi - you will love it) , sauna, steam room, tropical showers and a decent size swimming pool. Make sure you take goggles if you're a swimmer as pool is laden heavily in Chlorine.

Loads to do in Edinburgh, like ghost walk, visit Edinburgh Castle and the night life is great too. The Tour Bus is well worth a trip as you will learn lots including the largest Georgian buildings in close proximity in the World. There’s also a great sweet shop near by the train station if you have a sweet tooth.

I hope this has been a help and any questions please ask.

Room Tip: Please avoid the street facing side as can be very noisy especially on the weekends early hours into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Services Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel.
As the Scotsman is a City Centre hotel we are, unfortunately subject to the noise pollution of a busy Capital City. Throughout the rooms and public areas of the hotel we have made every effort; such as double glazing and appropriate sound proofing to try and ensure our guests are not disturbed during their stay.
I was pleased to read that you had previously enjoyed our Health Club facilities and to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us on this occasion as well is an added bonus.
I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Edinburgh and the Scotsman in the future.
Kind Regards
Claire Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Been to Edinburgh many times but had not stayed at this beautiful old hotel which is very much in keeping with the city. Location is second to none - one minute out of the train station (but not noisy) two minutes walk onto the Royal Mile and two minutes onto Princes Street. A big thank you to all of the helpful and pleasant staff. The hotel itself is very clean - the room was very nice with a lovely view over the city - the only downside for the room was it had a very small bed. Our friends were lucky enough to be upgraded free of charge and they had a fabulous suite. Great place to visit and we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: All rooms we saw were very nice - just the small bed was the problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Services Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel.
We like to deliver a truly 5 star “Scotsman” experience to our guests; our staff always endeavouring to be professional, friendly and offer the very best service at all times, I am pleased to see that you experienced all of these throughout your stay.
I am sorry that we were unable to offer you an upgrade on this occasion and would like to assure you that all of our beds are standard sized; please contact us directly should you chose to return to the Scotsman and we will happily endeavour to arrange this for you.
We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to the Scotsman.
Kind Regards
Claire Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

You can access this hotel directly from the railway station at level 0, while the reception is located at level 4, with entrance from the North Bridge Street. We had a family room with an extra bed, and the room was spacious enough, with two comfy chairs while the couch served as extra bed. Nice selection of items in the mini bar, safe and a TV set. Room service was quick and cleaning was excellent. Breakfast good, we also had dinner in the restaurant one evening, excellent, although a bit expensive. Our room was a bit to hot, we never sorted out how to regulate it ourselves, so we kept a window opened. Apart from a five minute singing and shouting period outside, we were not disturbed in our 7th floor room. We noticed the strange smell that several reviewers comment upon, but only on the first day and we weren't bothered. Nice pool, also for children, although it was a bit dark. Very good service at the desk, both at the spa and in reception. There are a few cons here, but all in all 5 stars is arguably deserved.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Services Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel. As you will be aware, normally avenues such as Trip Advisor are utilised for the negative aspects; making your kind words appreciated that little bit more.
We like to pride ourselves on our professionalism, relaxing atmosphere and service throughout the hotel; I am pleased to see that you experienced all of these and enjoyed your stay.
It is always a pleasure to read our guest’s reviews and to hear that you enjoyed your stay is an added bonus; we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Claire Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel had all the amenities we wanted and the rooms were spacious and lovely. The communication between the staff unfortunately left a lot to be desired. We booked the night before arrival and when we arrived they didn't seem to have any record of us. We confirmed the pre -booked dinner when we arrived, but when we got to the restaurant at the pre-booked time they had no record of the booking. We had a lovely relaxed stay in spite of this.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Customer Services Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your letter regarding your recent stay at the Scotsman. I appreciate you taking the time to make your comments, and would like to take this opportunity firstly to apologise as well as responding to the points you have made.

With regards to the communication you experienced between our staff and departments I would like to offer my sincere apologies for this and assure you that this is not the standard of service that we endeavour to achieve. I have passed on your comments to our teams and their managers have already addressed these with their staff.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay despite these problems and truly hope that you will choose to return to the Scotsman to allow us to show you the 5 star service we are proudly known for.

Kind Regards
Claire Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Scotsman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scotsman Hotel

Address: 20 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1YT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#23 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#31 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#46 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Scotsman Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scotsman Hotel, resides within the former Scotsman Newspaper building. Originally built in 1905, this majestic building was designed to dominate the Edinburgh skyline and features incredible views of the city´s most famous landmarks. In 2001 the building was transformed into The Scotsman Hotel with careful attention towards preserving the magnificent Italian marble staircase, stunning oak panelling, imposing marble pillars and ornate ceilings.Originally the reception room of the newspaper, our North Bridge Bar and Brasserie features the original oak panelling, a hand carved wooden balcony and imposing marble pillars. The seating area is split into two levels with the balcony offering quieter, intimate seating, with a birds-eye-view below to the buzzing main restaurant and cocktail bar.The newspaper held its giant printing presses in the lower ground floor. The press room now houses our Scotsman Health Club and Spa with a vast state of the art gym. Popular with locals and hotel guests alike. Facilities include a steel swimming pool, steam and sauna, tropicarium, 60-station gym, spa treatment rooms and a relaxation suite.With no two alike, our 69 rooms and suites each have their own quirky features including curved corner window bays with breathtaking views and marble bathrooms and as a guest at The luxury 5 star Scotsman you will enjoy free Wi-Fi access and a complimentary Scotsman Newspaper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Scotsman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Scotsman Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.