We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience - Great Service - Great Hotel - Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Scotsman Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Scotsman Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Scotsman Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1YT, Scotland (Old Town)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 147 hotels in Edinburgh
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great Experience - Great Service - Great Hotel - Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

From the moment I walked through the door to the concierge ordering my taxi back to the airport the experience at this hotel was excellent. The staff are welcoming, professional and friendly and your every need anticipated.
The rooms are of a high quality and have everything you need from iron, trouser press, quality toiletries, thick fluffy towels, quality cotton sheets, slippers, tea, coffee, buscuits and complimentary bottles of water provided at night.
The health and leisure club was great with pool, sauna, steam room, gym & spa bath.
I found it very difficult to leave the hotel for sightseeing
Location wise it is excellent for a short walk to the castle and also onto Princess St for the main shopping area.
Food was of an excellent quality both at breakfast and dinner in the Hotels restaurant.
This Hotel will be the standard I judge all others at going forward. Thank you

Room Tip: Just let the Hotel know if it is a special occassion
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Operations Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel. As you will be aware, normally avenues such as Trip Advisor are utilised for the negative aspects; making your kind words appreciated that little bit more.
We like to deliver a truly 5 star “Scotsman” experience to our guests; our staff always endeavouring to be professional, friendly and offer the very best service at all times, I am pleased to see that you experienced all of these throughout your stay and we are very proud of the fact that each and every one of our staff knows the importance of making our guests feel special.
It is an excellent compliment to be deemed as the hotel to which you will judge all others and I should like to thank you for such a compliment; we hope you will return to stay with us in the future and look forward to welcoming you back
Kind Regards
Claire Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,328 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    692
    343
    149
    82
    62
See reviews for
148
742
62
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed 5th-7th December for a special occasion as a couple, we were given a warm and friendly greeting by both the receptionists and concierge. On checking in we were pleasantly surprised to be allocated an upgrade to the Editors Room which was wonderful and very appreciated. The room was extremely spacious will great views over Princes Street and the German Market. The hotel is full of character in it's style and is located directly across the road on Market Street from Waverley Station. The hotel can be accessed by a lift to reception. We had a great stay and would certainly recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a special time in the city. Also a special mention to Claire Thomas Operations Manager for the lovely welcome card and treats.

Room Tip: room on 3rd floor upwards facing north over Princes Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Operations Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel.
We like to deliver a truly 5 star “Scotsman” experience to our guests; our staff always endeavouring to be professional, friendly and offer the very best service at all times, I am pleased to see that you experienced all of these throughout your stay.
We always like to upgrade our guests where possible to add to their experience; I am very pleased to see that you were given the opportunity to enjoy one of our beautiful suites and that the standard was the high level at which we pride ourselves.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the little selection of nibbles we sent to your room and very much hope to welcome you back to the Scotsman in the future

Kind Regards
Claire Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stayed at the scotsman for a weekend to celebrate a friends 40th birthday recently. This is not a budget hotel by any stretch of the imagination but I feel that the luxurious room and hotel decor throughout proved good value for money on the whole. Traditional scottish style with the use of tweeds and tartan, the rooms we stayed in were of a very high standard. My husband and I were lucky enough to be upgraded to a large room with a bay window in the corner which offered spectacular panoramic views along Princes Street and right out to the coast. The room itself was furnished to a high standard with comfy chairs, kingsize bed flat screen TV and a really well stocked minibar. We got breakfast in bed delivered to our room on the last morning of our stay which at £16.95 each seemed expensive but was very delicious and rounded off our weekend perfectly. All in all, I would definitely recommend this hotel for a lovely stay with great service from all staff.No complaints at all from any of our party.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Operations Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel.
The Scotsman hotel was originally home to the famous Scotsman newspaper and we are very proud that when the renovation took place to become the hotel it is today, a lot of the traditional features were kept. We believe this adds to the originality and quality of our rooms and suites.

It is always a pleasure to read our guest’s reviews and to hear that you will be recommending us to your family and friends is an added bonus; we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back

Kind Regards
Claire Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The staff was helpful and cheerful, and checked on our room three times a day to make sure everything was perfect. Love that they bring you the paper in the morning and a flagon of water in the evening.
Our room was absolutely awesome, large and roomy, with a sound system, flat-screen telly, well-stocked minibar, safe, bathrobes and slippers. Not the best view, perhaps (high windows), but the room was very quiet and the bed was large and comfortable. Curtains were amazing, as they shut out the light so effectively.
Bathroom was also super, although I wish it was possible to turn the heating up in there. Waterfall shower is the best shower I've ever used.
The Spa was great, nice pool with low lighting so as not to reveal all the cellulites :D Also had a bubblebath, sauna, steam room and tropical room. These last three had a strong rose smell in them, which was probably meant to be relaxing but really just made us feel queasy.
Free wi-fi is also essential, and the connection was fast and reasonably reliable.
We loved it, and hope to go back there soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Operations Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel.
We like to pride ourselves on our professionalism, relaxing atmosphere and service throughout the hotel; I am pleased to see that you experienced all of these and enjoyed your stay.
As the Scotsman, we were originally home to the famous Scotsman newspaper and are very proud that when the renovation took place to become the hotel it is today, a lot of the traditional features were kept. This means that all of our rooms are individually sized and styled giving a real feeling of originality and quality to all of our rooms and suites.

Thank you for your comments about the aroma in the Spa area; I have passed these onto our Health Club Manager who has checked that the settings are as they should be.

It is wonderful to hear that you will be returning to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back

Kind Regards
Claire Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Thank you for a fantastic stay at The Scotsman! And thank you for upgrading us to The Penthouse on the top of the hotel. We felt like at home, the view was great and we didn't hear all the noise fro the city. We had nice and cold weather during our stay, and unfortunately the apartment was a little cold!
Thank you again!
Nan and Morten, Oslo

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Operations Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel. As you will be aware, normally avenues such as Trip Advisor are utilised for the negative aspects; making your kind words appreciated that little bit more.

We always like to upgrade our guests where possible to add to their experience; I am very pleased to see that you were given the opportunity to enjoy our beautiful Penthouse suite and that the standard was the high level at which we pride ourselves.

I am sorry that the temperature was not as you required and I have already asked our Maintenance Manager to ensure that all of the settings are as they should be; it is lovely to hear that you had a wonderful stay and we hope to welcome you back soon

Kind Regards
Claire Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensburgh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed here with two friends for two nights to go to the rugby autumn tests. It was our first time stay at the Scotsman and we were really looking forward to it. The Hotel certainly disappoint. From the moment we got there we felt spoilt. Ivor showed us to our rooms which were huge! He pointed out all the features of our room and then showed our friends round their room. We went for cocktails at the bar before having dinner at the north bridge brassiere. Cocktails were delicious with the staffs' new mixes going down a treat! I can strongly recommend the Hendricks rose and the sage mistress. Dinner was delicious too. The following night after the rugby we felt ourselves drawn back to the hotel instead of staying out in town. The only minor niggles was that breakfast took a long time on the second morning due to us arriving straight after a large party and that there is no car park but I guess that's down to the hotels fantastic location. A beautiful hotel in a fantastic location but by far the best feature of this hotel is the staff. The bar staff and front of house are exceptional and a credit to the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Operations Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you so very much for writing your wonderful review of your recent visit to the Scotsman Hotel. I have ensured that Ivor and the front of house team have been given your positive feedback. We very much try to ensure that our guests expectations are exceeded. The Bar team is headed up by Coran who delivers a wonderful menu of seasonal cocktails, ensuring that local produce and seasonality are the main ingredient. We hope to welcome you back soon to try our wonderful 2013 menus and enjoy another relaxing stay in Edinburgh at the Scotsman Hotel.
Kind Regards
Claire Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The minute i walked into the reception area, smiling faces and the warmth makes you feel really welcome. My Mum and I came on a Christmas shopping trip and were immediately upgraded to a suite by the very friendly Scotsman staff. The concierge was amazing, he couldnt help us enough even offering to book cut price cinema tickets for us. It was raining most of our stay and they walked us to our taxis with umbrella s ! They treat us like royalty ! The suite was lovely, heaps of space, really comfy beds and an enormous bathroom with views of the castle. We requested a quiet room and never heard anything. Well done to the Scotsman for making our stay one to remember again !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScotsmanEdinburgh, Operations Manager at The Scotsman Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you so much for you wonderful review, I have ensured that Ivor, our amazing doorman, has been given your positive feedback. We very much try to anticipate our guest requirements and ensure that their comfort is our key focus. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Once again thank you for taking the time to write your positive review.
Kind Regards
Claire Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Scotsman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scotsman Hotel

Address: 20 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1YT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#23 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#46 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Scotsman Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scotsman Hotel, resides within the former Scotsman Newspaper building. Originally built in 1905, this majestic building was designed to dominate the Edinburgh skyline and features incredible views of the city´s most famous landmarks. In 2001 the building was transformed into The Scotsman Hotel with careful attention towards preserving the magnificent Italian marble staircase, stunning oak panelling, imposing marble pillars and ornate ceilings.Originally the reception room of the newspaper, our North Bridge Bar and Brasserie features the original oak panelling, a hand carved wooden balcony and imposing marble pillars. The seating area is split into two levels with the balcony offering quieter, intimate seating, with a birds-eye-view below to the buzzing main restaurant and cocktail bar.The newspaper held its giant printing presses in the lower ground floor. The press room now houses our Scotsman Health Club and Spa with a vast state of the art gym. Popular with locals and hotel guests alike. Facilities include a steel swimming pool, steam and sauna, tropicarium, 60-station gym, spa treatment rooms and a relaxation suite.With no two alike, our 69 rooms and suites each have their own quirky features including curved corner window bays with breathtaking views and marble bathrooms and as a guest at The luxury 5 star Scotsman you will enjoy free Wi-Fi access and a complimentary Scotsman Newspaper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Otel, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Fastbooking, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Scotsman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Scotsman Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.