We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasent Enough” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Braid Hills Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Braid Hills Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Braid Hills Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   134 Braid Road, Edinburgh EH10 6JD, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #92 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Leeds
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Pleasent Enough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

An impromtu trip to Edinburh on business found me hunting for hotels and this was the closest one to my office and the only one available.

It was situated in a pleasent area with good views over Edinburgh and the staff were friendly enough. The room itself consitsted of two single bed and it was clean and homely, with fresh towels and piping hot shower. The breakfast in the morning was of good qulaity and there was plenty of choice.

All in all and pleasent stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BraidHills, Front of House Manager at BEST WESTERN Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2009
I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Braid Hills Hotel and that the hotel met your requirements. I hope we will see you back next time you are in Edinburgh!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    232
    71
    40
    20
See reviews for
95
211
27
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2009

Stayed here for a couple of nights as part of a curling tour of Scotland. Not a fantastic place to stay but it was clean, rooms were a decent size, service was adequate, food was OK, nice cozy lounge. In general it suited our purpose.

  • Stayed January 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

Myself and my partner came here for a night for a relaxing break from our 2 year old. The hotel is very impressive from the outside, the views are stunning and the hotel looks very grand...until you get inside. The staff are pretty much non existent. When we got to our room, we were pretty disappointed as the view from our tiny window was of the side of a building really. The room was ok, bit disappointed by the tired, old fashioned decor. The bathroom (if you can call it that) was really little, although the shower itself was quite nice. We had dinner at the bistro as the main restaurant had a poor menu. The food in the bistro is average for the price. I had fish, which was clearly not fresh, it was overcooked and tasted a bit like chicken nuggets lol. We then proceeded to the bar, which was dead! There was no music and we were the only people there apart from the barman who seemed more busy making pots of tea!

Out of boredom, we turned in reasonably early, looking forward to a relaxing night. To my horror, there was a wedding reception going on just up the corridor from us with a LIVE BAND (a pretty crap one at that). I was absolutely amazed that they thought it was acceptable to set up a live band literally 10 metres from where the hotel rooms were. As you can imagine, it was very very loud with people thumping up and down the corridor all night. After 2 and a half hours of this, I telephoned reception and complained about the noise, instead of offering a solution, the manager informed me that it would "only be going on for another hour" I was horrified! Shortly after 12, the noise stopped and we eventually nodded off at 1 am. To my annoisance, the phone rang at 5 am for a courtesy wake up call which we did not request. Needless to say I was fuming!! We wuickly got up and went to eat some breakfast before we got out of there very promptly. The breakfast was poor, the sausages were very chewy, obviously very cheap. The toast was cold, although the breakfast staff were friendly.

Overall, a terrible experience!!! Steer clear!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BraidHills, Front of House Manager at BEST WESTERN Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2009
On behalf of the hotel I wish to offer a sincere apology for the problems encountered during this stay. As a hotel we endeavour to ensure every guest has an enjoyable stay every time, especially due to the fact we rely on a high volume of repeat business. This experience is certainly not a reflection of a typical stay at the Braid Hills Hotel. We have followed up the issues highlighted with the staff concerned and reviewed the food items criticised. I would encourage you to contact the hotel directly if you would like to discuss this further as we are committed to continually improving our service at the Braid Hills Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

We stayed here in April 2009,and spent 2 nights here. Hotel is away from town centre which was great and only 3 minute drive to the Castle. We loved our stay here. Great breakfast everyday, and a beautiful resturant and lounge area to relax in. The room was a good size, and was very comfortable.Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a top hotel , great staff and value for money.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2008

We booked this hotel through Best Western and received a very favourable rate. We were attending a funeral reception held at the hotel. After booking I read the Trip Advisor reviews and it was with much trepidation that we booked in. I can only say that your previous reviewers were not staying at the same hotel. A Fairmont, Raddisson SAS or Marriot it is not but it is a good traditional Scottish hotel. The staff were outstanding in their friendliness and willingness to help. Our room was a standard double with 90s decor but was well maintained and extremely well equiped. The bathroom was small but immaculately clean and the shower worked well. A previous reviewer complained about the heating, we had the opposite problem, despite turning off the radiator and opening the window wide we were still too hot!
I would recommend the Bistro; when 12 of us turned up at 2pm they gave a great welcome and provided a good meal with enthusiasm and a high standard of customer service.
The bus service just outside the hotel is excellent running every 10 minutes. Free parking within the hotel gounds is a definite plus.
Overall this is a good value hotel with many outstanding features.

  • Liked — Location and excellent customer service
  • Disliked — Heating too high
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kilmarnck
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2008

hotel room was freezing,after complaining we were giving a portable heater.to our dismay said heater was removed from our room as we ate our meal.after complaining again we were given the heater back one of the staff informed us that no matter how much we complained no one would care as it happens all the time the most embarrising was hearing two people asking for porrage the next morning only to be told there was none we were in the capital of scotland for heavens sake i have put my complaints in writing to great western and the hotel but i have had no reply and going by the way we treated i dont expect one

  • Stayed November 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BraidHills, Front of House Manager at BEST WESTERN Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2009
The hotel has recently discovered the 'hotel response' facility on this website and will now be addressing all feedback to provide better information to customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2008

Stayed two nights on a B&B deal.

A large rambling hotel in a quiet suburb of Edinburgh commanding a very good view across the hills. If you don't want to walk/drive into the city centre (approximately 2 miles) there is a very good bus service from the main road below the hotel.

The hotel appears to have a very grand opinion of itself and charges accordingly. I am sure some of the larger rooms are impressive with space and views, but the routine, smaller rooms are poor value considering the hotel's distance outside the city centre; small and no views. As mentioned by other reviewers, it needs a make over; decor is tired and, more importantly, is needing a good clean. The small bathrooms (shower room actually) was dirty in parts. Loose wires everywhere feeding the small TV, kettle and tea/coffee making facities are cluttered.

Breakfast was very Scottish with grease and stodge abounding - little finesse in the presentation and service. OK if you like that sort of thing.

Fire alarm went off on a Sunday morning, false alarm thank goodness - staff appeared disorganised and almost absent.

There are much better hotels in Einburgh for the price.

  • Liked — Grandeur
  • Disliked — Decaying, and in some places dirty, grandeur
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Braid Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Braid Hills Hotel

Address: 134 Braid Road, Edinburgh EH10 6JD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Braid Hills Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Edinburgh Braid Hills Hotel is magnificently situated in its own grounds, with panoramic views right across the City of Edinburgh, to the Pentlands, the Firth of Forth and the Fife hills beyond. Great contemporary Scottish cuisine served in either of the hotel’s two restaurants and genuine, friendly service from the all staff is complemented by ample free parking, free wifi and convenient access to a frequent bus service into the city centre. Come and experience a hotel stay with a real Scottish feel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Braid Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Edinburgh
Edinburgh Best Western
BEST WESTERN Braid Hills Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Braid Hills Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.