We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Braid Hills Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Braid Hills Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Braid Hills Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   134 Braid Road, Edinburgh EH10 6JD, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #92 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A perfect spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Braid Hills hotel just far enough from the city to be accessible but with a feeling of country. Overlooking spectacular open space, walking tracks and a great spot for a picnic.
Bus stop on road below hotel, few stairs to climb down, 10 minutes to princess street.
Rooms large and with a touch of grandeur. Beds comfortable, but a little on the small side, immaculately clean. No bar fridge. Full breakfast each morning. Yum!
Restaurant very nice indeed, friendly professional staff and food excellent, large portions, well presented.
Generally a fantastic place to stop. We stayed for 5 days, every day a new adventure in beautiful Edinburgh.
Compliments to receptionist Grainne, what an asset to the hotel. We were delighted with the experience highly recommend. A1.

Room Tip: Double with ensuite. Four poster beds available also. Western side of hotel hot during the aftern...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    232
    71
    40
    20
See reviews for
95
211
27
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Took family to this traditional hotel, out in the quiet suburbs, just a short cab ride from the bustling city. Nice bar and good breakfast, did not get to have dinner. Staff are the friendliest one could hope for. Rooms a bit small but go for ground floor for better water pressure. There are some good golf clubs in the same area that we did not have a chance to play, but next time we will.

Room Tip: Get an upgraded room for a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Excellent Hotel ! My daughter had her Wedding here in May 2013 and we could not fault the Hotel facilities & Wedding function . We did book a lot of rooms but we were not the only guests but the Weekend felt like a House Party and the staff could not have done anymore to make everyone welcome. From the Friday morning to the Sunday morning and from the pre Wedding meal in the Restaurant right through to the last breakfast we had a ball . 5 star food, welcome & hospitality , rooms , lounges, restaurant and the Suite for the Wedding Breakfast . Excellent thank you all so much !

Room Tip: 1st floor wonderful view of Edinburgh & golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

As soon as we checked in everyone we encountered were excellent. So attentive and helpful.

We were helped to our room with our luggage, which was a bonus because we were in 310 for the week and its up so many stairs! The room was small and decor outdated but met our needs, everything was very clean. We had a great view of the area. Unfortunately the shower was awful, no pressure at all.

Our first night was quiet, there is some road noise but its minimal. The bed was (and is, we check out tomorrow) so hard. I have developed back pain throughout the week.

The public areas have recently been upgraded, hopefully they will invest in the rooms soon. The bar is lovely but usual hotel prices ruled out too many drinks. We didn't try breakfast so cannot comment, we prefer local cafes in town.

The location is excellent, the bus is on the main road at the bottom of some steps, and arrives pretty much every 5mins and it only takes 15mins to get into town.

Overall fantastic. Although if staying longer in the future I would worry about the shower and bed.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

This would have to be one of the better hotels we have stayed in on our trip. The staff are very helpful and friendly, the service was 100% and although it could have been a little closer to the centre of the city, taxis were readily available. The only criticism is the lack of an elevator/lift

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I was staying in Edinburgh for 1 evening and my usual preference of hotel was unavailable, so thought I would give this location a try. Easy to access from the airport, just a 15 minute drive, and in a very pretty area on the outskirts of the city centre with stunning views across the city.

The location has adequate free parking, but I would suggest getting there early. There are steps aplenty and I don't think there is a lift by accessability might be a concern if you have difficulty with stairs. My room was a little dated in its decor, but that's not something I usually have an issue with, and with suitable amenities such as tea & coffee making, TV, trouser press etc. The bathroom was tiny, with just a shower and a poor quality and rather frayed looking shower curtain.

The restaurant is somewhere to be avoided. Overpriced, poorly cooked food, and inattentive staff who appeared to be stressed with minimal diners made for a poor experience; head for the bistro next door instead.

A dreadful nights sleep, with a feeling that my bed wasn't 'quite right' were confirmed when checking the mattress in the morning and finding it to be broken. Mentioning this at reception merited an apology, but nothing in the way of recompense which was disappointing.

Overall, for £81 B&B I found this to be a poor experience and not a location I will be returning to

Room Tip: Rooms at the front will have a stunning view over the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Group_Director, -- at BEST WESTERN Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for reviewing the Braid Hills Hotel. I regret that your stay was not more enjoyable. As you noted, we do have good parking provision within the grounds of the hotel but in very busy periods this does get quite full, however, there is ample on street parking adjacent to the hotel so our guests are always able to find a parking place .

Speciality Hotel Group acquired this hotel in the latter part of 2012 and we have already embarked on the refurbishment of the property which will involve installing a lift once we have obtained the necessary consents. We do, however, always have porters available to assist our guests with their luggage.

I'm extremely sorry that the shower curtain was frayed and the mattress was broken. I understand you reported this to our front desk and I can assure it has now been rectified. As part of our refurbishment programme all of our rooms are being redecorated and upgraded.

With regard to the food and service in the restaurant, having received good reviews recently for our newly launched menu, I'm surprised that you felt the food was poorly cooked and the service was lacking. This has been reported to our Food and Beverage Team.

I do hope that we can encourage you to visit us again where I'm sure we can deliver the standards that we strive to achieve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We absolutely loved this hotel. The staff is friendly and they all seem to have a great sense of humour. Our room was huge with a beautiful view of the hills of Edinburgh. There is a dining room, a lounge and a bistro all on the property so we never had to go far for a good meal. They also serve a wonderful afternoon tea in the lounge every afternoon. Probably our only complaint would be the water pressure in the shower, but as it is a Victorian hotel sitting at the top of a hill, that is to be expected. We are definitely planning to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Braid Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Braid Hills Hotel

Address: 134 Braid Road, Edinburgh EH10 6JD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Braid Hills Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Edinburgh Braid Hills Hotel is magnificently situated in its own grounds, with panoramic views right across the City of Edinburgh, to the Pentlands, the Firth of Forth and the Fife hills beyond. Great contemporary Scottish cuisine served in either of the hotel’s two restaurants and genuine, friendly service from the all staff is complemented by ample free parking, free wifi and convenient access to a frequent bus service into the city centre. Come and experience a hotel stay with a real Scottish feel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Braid Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Edinburgh
Edinburgh Best Western
BEST WESTERN Braid Hills Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Braid Hills Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.