We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good nights stay..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Edinburgh Airport

Save Saved
You added Hilton Edinburgh Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Edinburgh Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Edinburgh International Airport, Edinburgh EH28 8LL, Scotland (Airport)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20% off
Ranked #108 of 147 hotels in Edinburgh
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A good nights stay..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I stayed at the Hilton at Edinburgh Airport last week on a business stay with a colleague. The check in was friendly and efficient and the rooms clean and a good size. Dinner in the restaurant was good and the service was excellent. Breakfast in the morning was excellent and the staff were great as we stayed longer for a business meeting and they refreshed coffee etc. willingly. Check out was also friendly and efficient.
My only negatives would be the heating in the room was a small radiator and the room was hot when I went to bed but I woke up cold in the night. The other thing was the bar prices are steep but this is generally the case in this type of hotel. All in all though a good stay and I will happily stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    211
    330
    193
    89
    44
See reviews for
144
280
80
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Don't arrive at this Hilton expecting the usual standard. While the staff and food are good the hotel itself is very much in line with a Holiday Inn Express. Rooms are basic and it doesn't have the same appeal as other Hiltons ie Glasgow which is always high quality. Since the hotel does not now supply it's own transport to the terminal, it was a shambles!! 20 people waiting for transport including a young family for approx 30 mins is not good at 4.45 am. This is not the first time this has happened, when we've stayed there. Unless this is sorted we would be as well staying further away and booking taxis!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liam_Spillane, General Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Airport, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear SteveMunro60

Thank you for review of our hotel.

I was very sorry to read that you were affected by the service provided by Flying Scot carparks shuttle service who are the paid to provide this service. We have had an improvement in the service after recent communication with this operator. However it does pain me to read any kind of issue like you experienced and once again I am sorry for this shortfall.

I appreciate the positive comments that you have been kind enough to highlight as well and I know it will be well received by my team as well.

Many thanks again for your review, I hope that you will consider our hotel again in the future if you could contact me direct at the hotel, it would be greatly appreciated if the opportunity arises.

Yours sincerely

Liam

Liam Spillane, Hotel Manager, Hilton Edinburgh Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Two overnight stays were pretty enjoyable. Rooms in both stays were very comfortable,heating systems were somewhat erratic, but rooms were clean and fresh and no problems with bathroom facilities. Only one breakfast taken, but it was as good as a full "Scottish" can be.Check out was efficiently handled by friendly staff, and ,all in all no grounds for any criticism, would,and have, had repeated stays here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liam_Spillane, General Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Airport, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Bill M

Thanks for your recent review of Hilton Edinburgh Airport.

We are at an advanced stage of installing supplementary heating in all bedrooms and so I u deist and your point. The remaining comments that you have made are all very positive and I greatly appreciate each and every compliment you have mentioned.

Thanks again for your time and effort in your review.

Yours sincerely

Liam

Liam Spillane, Hotel Manager, Hilton Edinburgh Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed here on a visit to see the rugby international. The hotel has a direct express bus link to the City Centre and Murrayfield. We eat in the resteraunt and the food and choice was good but not cheap. The breakfast was excellent value, quality and choice as was the service. The check in and check out was also very friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liam_Spillane, General Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Airport, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Mike D

Thank you for your fantastic review of our property after your recent stay with us.

On reading your review I hope the rugby was as good as you state your hotel experience was! I think your words of praise for the hotel is a great accolade for my team and facilities.

Once again, thank for your review.

Yours sincerely

Liam

Liam Spillane, Hotel Manager, Hilton Edinburgh Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

spent one night in this hotel, Room was clean although there were chunks of plaster of the wall, and was in need of a lick of paint.

Breakfast consisted of a salad bar where the (selection of cheese), was lying dried up on the plates the cold meat was as bad,

Temperature control consisted of either a wall heater or one of these rattling ceiling fans that you get in Spanish hotels.

To top it all on the web site it does not tell you that they have the cheek to charge you six pounds to(£6) to park your car in their car park whilst staying in the hotel.

Wont be back

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liam_Spillane, General Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Airport, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review.

I was sorry to read that there was some damage to the wall in your bedroom. I can only hope that when guests encounter something like this, that a quick telephone call to reception from the room would have had a member of management with you to speak with you to resolve the matter.

I can see from your description of breakfast you opted for the continental breakfast which is provided fresh daily and so what you experienced is very far from what we provide normally. I'm sorry again that this was the case.

Finally in relation to your feedback on the car park charges, due to our location at an international airport we could not provide free parking due to the volume of cars wishing to use our facility which would mean legitimate hotel guests would possibly not have anywhere to park close to the hotel. In addition to this as our land is owned by the airport owning company we are not allowed to provide free car parking.

I hope that my reply gives you some clarity and understanding for your much appreciated feedback.

Yours sincerely

Liam

Liam Spillane, Hotel Manager, Hilton Edinburgh Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed in a twin room for 1 night, as always we were met by friendly staff at reception. This hotel is very convenient for an early morning flight. The flying scot minibus took us to the airport and back, it seems to take a good bit longer to make this journey compared to when Hilton did it directly.
The room was comfortable but did look a bit dated perhaps it's time for a bit of room refurbishment?
The breakfast was good and on the whole we enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liam_Spillane, General Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Airport, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Enjoylife63

Thank you very much for your recent positive review of Hilton Edinburgh Airport.

I'm happy to confirm we do have another project starting on 3rd December 2012 on the next phase of bedroom refurbishments. Perhaps you could look us up the next time and we will allocate one these rooms for you?

Thanks again for your review.

Yours sincerely

Liam

Liam Spillane, Hotel Manager, Hilton Edinburgh Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsburg, IN
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I don't know if it was because we had spent several nights at amazing B&Bs leading up to our last night in Scotland, but we were not particularly impressed with this hotel. We chose it because it is right next to the airport, so that was very convenient. I read on their site (or maybe it was Travelocity) that they offer a complimentary shuttle to the airport, but it in fact costs money -- it was either 1 or 2 pounds per person. The staff was friendly, and while the room was clean, it felt overpriced and lackluster. This might be nit-picky but there wasn't an outlet near the bed that I could use to charge my phone, which I was also using as an alarm clock. The provided alarm clock was across the room. I thought I could unplug the bedside lamp and use that outlet, but it didn't match any of my converters. Next time, we will stay at another B&B and find a way to the airport.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liam_Spillane, General Manager at Hilton Edinburgh Airport, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Leslie M

Thanks for your recent review of Hilton Edinburgh Airport. I, along with my team, was sorry to read that your stay with us was not to your total satisfaction.

I have taken your points constructively and will follow them up individually in the operation and with the team. The shuttle bus service has had a small nominal fee of £1.00 in place since January 2012, however I have been chasing third party websites to update information that they carry about my hotel, so again I'm sorry that this is the case.

Once again, thank you for your time in reviewing our hotel, I know you said that you would look at alternatives in the future, but please contact me at the hotel if you think I can help based on my reply to you that your comments have been taken seriously.

Yours sincerely

Liam

Liam Spillane, Hotel Manager, Hilton Edinburgh Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Edinburgh Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Edinburgh Airport

Address: Edinburgh International Airport, Edinburgh EH28 8LL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Airport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Edinburgh Airport 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hilton Edinburgh Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Edinburgh Airport Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hilton
Hilton Edinburgh Airport Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Edinburgh Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.