We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great spa, great staff – loved it !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh to your Saves list
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ingliston, Edinburgh EH28 8LX, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 145 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
UK
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great spa, great staff – loved it !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

We spent a night here for my wife’s birthday. The hotel is part of the ‘hand picked’ chain and is sited in it own grounds being split into two, the hotel, and the spa. The hotel is a classic Victorian building with lots of wood panelling, impressive staircases, winding corridors and rooms that are all different and a little rustic . We had a good sized room with views over the grounds, large screen TV and a fireplace, there’s a mini bar that only contains water and a small carton of real milk (there’s room for your own wine), tea and coffee plus room service. I liked the fact that the bedroom sash window wouldn’t quite shut properly – shows it to be a genuine old lady of a building.

There is also a separate new block attached to the old hotel which in contrast is very modern where the rooms all have balconies. Woods surround most of the building with manicured lawns where you can take a pleasant stroll .

The hotel facilities include a bar with brassiere attached which is also used for breakfast. The prices here were reasonable and the food was good. There is also an a’la carte restaurant where the prices are a little scary. Scattered around the hotel are meeting rooms a ballroom and a sitting room, there’s tables and chairs on a veranda if the weather is good. Breakfast was very good with a wide choice and plenty of it.
Next door is the spa, this is a separate ultra modern building (lots of glass and steel frames) where you have to walk from the main hotel – it’s only a couple of minutes around the corner but wouldn’t fancy it in the wind and rain.

The spa is quite impressive, large pool, sauna, steam room, bubbly pool and beds around the pool to relax for a couple of hours, plus a fully equipped gym. It’s free for hotel guests and we were given robes, slippers and towels. There are also several treatment rooms offering a wide range of treats, a relaxing area and separate bar/café that serves snacks and drinks which you can use sat in your robe while using the facilities. The Spa is set below ground (don’t worry it’s not as bad as it sounds as that level is stepped back up to ground level so you don’t realise where you are), there is a large function room on the upper level.

Overall we were very impressed with our stay. All the staff both in the hotel and spa were friendly, helpful and attentive without being overbearing. The spa as mentioned earlier was wonderful and the hotel was just what we had hoped for – classic Scotland with good clean rooms.

Final few things, about 15 mins from the airport but we weren’t really bothered by any noise, likely to be 30 minutes from the city, looks to be free PC use in the reception, free wifi, lots of parking and the sun shone on a November weekend when we were there giving it a great Autumnal setting.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    223
    76
    30
    11
See reviews for
120
383
19
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2009

Booked a standard room and it was stunning with a huge tv. Fantastic breakfast and also brasserie evening meal was high standard. The leisure facilities are simply the best i've experienced - a huge swimming pool and a separate aqua pool and sauna and steamroom - very artisticly planned. Nice grounds for a short walk too. Would definitely return - worth every penny.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2009

Stayed here whilst on a business trip. Much better than the usual hotels I end up in. Rooms were spotless, food superb and staff very friendly. Well away from the roads so a superb nights sleep Shame I couldnt make use of more of the facilities as I was only there for the one night. Many of the other customers I spoke to seemed to be regular visitors.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

Came here with aged mother for lunch. No reservation. No problem. Magnificent grounds. Located near Edinburgh airport but only as the crow flies. You feel like you are miles away! Lunch was fixed price - 15 GBP, 3 course with tea or coffee included. Several choices of starter and main course. Best Caesar salad that I've ever had. Main course salmon for me, beautiful. Then come 3 separate large bowls of vegetables, roast potatoes + parsnips, boiled new potatoes, and steamed broccoli/cauliflower. Way beyond usual British portions! Then the dessert buffet - with the best trifle I have had in a while, and several other options, all as much as you can eat. Service was exceptional, with students from a culinary school in Edinburgh. Quite a memorable lunch. Will definitely revisit in future. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2009

Just returned from an overnight stay at Norton House. We stayed in the contemporary deluxe room on the top floor (Edinburgh Suite). The room was fantastic, its not pictured on the website but was suggested to me by reservations, and I'm so glad they did. Huge wrap around balcony with table and chairs, lovely sitting area, gorgeous furniture and a fantastic bed. The bathroom was great, complete with telly and separate bath and shower. We used the facilities which were second to none. Excellent pool, sauna and steamroom, as well as a great hydrotherapy pool. We ate in the brasserie which was very good, as was breakfast. The staff were all lovely and the service was great. Can't wait to go back

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

We got married at Norton House last October and returned for our 1st wedding anniversary. We stayed in one of the junior suites in the new part of the hotel, which is amazing. It's duplex suite with bed & bathroom downstairs with further bathroom and seating area upstairs! The tilevision TV in the bathroom is great novelty too!
We used pool which is lovely with fancy jacuzzi pool. As we don't have kids I do appreciate that kids swimming time is limited as it means that pool area is calm & quiet, especially since it's a spa hotel.
We ate in Brasserie which was lovely tho quite expensive for wine, over £6 per glass.
Only problem we had was that we made our dinner reservation with reservation dept but they hadn't passed it on to restaurant. Not a problem though as hotel were able to accomodate us.
We have really lovely stay and really didn't want to leave!! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

Stayed at this hotel in September for a long weekend. Paid a little extra to eat in Ushers Restaurant on the Saturday night very nice food brilliant service pricey wine!! Ate in the Brasserie following evening was also excellent great choice from menu well presented food and good to eat. The pool/gym is great at this venue, have stayed at the Woodhall/Spa and the pool there much smaller. Jacuzzi, steam room and sauna all great.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh

Address: Ingliston, Edinburgh EH28 8LX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#18 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#25 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norton House Hotel And Spa Edinburgh
Norton Hotel Edinburgh
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.