We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, relaxing weekend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh to your Saves list
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ingliston, Edinburgh EH28 8LX, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Scotland
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Fantastic, relaxing weekend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stayed here on a dinner, bed and breakfast rate which was expensive but the hotel is worth it. From the first entrance we were made to feel welcome and valued. The room was a decent size, very clean and fresh with a large comfy bed, small sofa, mini bar and tray containing coffee, tea, biscuits and hot chocolate, dressing gowns and lovely toiletries. You also get your own cuddly cat on the end of the bed instead of a 'Do not disturb' sign - a nice touch!

Dinner at the brasserie was very tasty especially the home-made ice cream. Breakfast was also great, continental buffet and a menu of hot options to choose from.

The spa, which you get access to as a guest, was great too. A decent sized pool, nice big Jacuzzi style pool, experience shower, steam room and sauna. Comfy loungers round the pool for sitting and reading to relax. No availability for treatments though, so if you want one book in advance.

In conclusion, although expensive, you get what you pay for and more with this hotel. Great for a special occasion or a treat!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to post a review following your recent visit to Norton House Hotel & Spa. It is great that you had a fantastic, relaxing weekend and that you felt valued by our team. I am delighted that you liked your room and that you enjoyed breakfast and dinner in the brasserie. I am pleased that you enjoyed the facilities in the Health club. Our spa is very popular especially at weekends and I would always recommend booking treatments in advance to avoid disappointment. Thank you again for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Kind regards
Chris Monks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    234
    80
    31
    12
See reviews for
127
396
21
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Garelochhead, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stayed here on new years eve although I had been to the hotel previously for an event. Lovely hotel and although we didn't have any treatments the swimming pool, sauna etc in the spa were brilliant. Staff were very friendly. The hotel is pricey but you pay for quality.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you for posting a review following your stay on New Years Eve. It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed the facilities in the club and that you found all the staff friendly. I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Norton House Hotel & Spa.
Kind regards
Chris Monks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

As a birthday treat, my husband booked us into the Norton House Hotel for one night, DBB. Our room was upgraded and well worth it. The whole experience was just right for a birthday treat. The room was tastefully decorated and designed for the comfort of the guests.
We couldn't find one thing that was negative about our stay. The only problem was we didn't want to leave after only one night. Maybe next year?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that your whole experience was just right for your birthday treat. It would be great to welcome you back on your next birthday and maybe next time you can stay for two nights.
Kind regards
Chris Monks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

It just keeps getting better and better. I stayed here for two nights on business following a recommendation from a friend. On arrival a concierge takes you to your room. The rooms are huge, beautifully decorated, with wonderfully comfortable beds and fantastic showers

The spa is wonderful! I never tried the treatments but the pool, sauna and steam room were great

The restaurant is very nice also with lovely food and a great atmosphere.

All round a fantastic hotel for business or pleasure

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your trip on business. I am delighted you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and I trust we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind regards
Chris Monks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The purpose of my visit was two fold. To enjoy a 4 night relaxed stay but more importantly to propose to my partner. The staff at Norton House could not have been more helpful.
I spoke with the reservations manager and she was very helpful and really made me feel I had chosen the right place(which is her job but she was right). The staff on reception were extremely helpful and totally understand the importance of customer service. They were all eager to know what my partner said and were genuinely pleased for us!!
The spa was a great place to go and relaxed. The staff are extremely friendly and we could not have asked for more again.
One thing that stood out for me was my last minute request for non alcoholic champagne. I spoke to a gentleman who may have been a senior manager to make my request and his answer was "if I don't have it here I will certainly go out and buy it for you sir" This in my opinion is what sets an average hotel apart from the more superior and service orientated.
I am a Senior manager in a Luxury hotel myself so completely understand the importance of service. Norton House have it spot on. Thank you to ALL the staff for a wonderful experience and hopefully see you for our Anniversary celebrations. Rahim

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
I very much appreciate you posting a review following your four night stay at Norton House. I am pleased that you had a wonderful experience and that all your plans for the proposal went so well. With that in mind please let me congratulate you and your partner on your engagement. The team were all delighted with your announcement and they were all genuinely excited to hear the happy news and play a part in the memorable occasion. I was the gentleman to whom you requested the non alcoholic champagne from and I too take great pleasure that I played a part in your special day. I do hope you return to celebrate your anniversary and thank you again for your feedback
Kind regards
Chris Monks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borders
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We visited norton on a Sunday night deal which included a three course dinner, B and B, complimentary afternoon tea and full use of facilities. This was great value for money, very very relaxing and the spa is fabulous. Very quiet which was just what we were looking for, room was lovely and staff were lovely.

Room Tip: Upgrade if available, we got an executive room for only fifteen pounds extra, well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for providing feedback following your stay at Norton House Hotel & Spa. I am delighted that you had a relaxing time and that you found the staff lovely. It is great that you took advantage of our Sunday night offer and found it great value for money. I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Chris Monks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erskine, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We booked for one night with dinner and a spa treament. The hotel is lovely and staff were great, couldn't fault any of them for helpfulness and great service. We had an executive room in the new wing adn it was lovely, well decorated and spotless.
The spa was the best I had been to, I was looked after from start to finish and loved the atmosphere, decoration and overall feel of the spa, would go back.
The dinner was well cooked, all 3 courses we each had, bit pricey but again so worth it. My only critisism would be the prices in bar, £13.90 for a large glass of average white wine is way too much..A bottle at dinner was £40!
I didnt think the breakfast was up to much, in fact pretty disappointing considering the beautiful meal we had at dinner.

Room Tip: Ask for the new extension, rooms are lovely and upgrade to Executive if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for posting feedback following your stay at Norton House Hotel & Spa.
I am delighted you found the executive room lovely and your comments regarding the service from our team are very much appreciated. Our wine selection is researched extensively and the prices do vary. Wines by the glass range from £4.00 for a 125ml glass and £8.00 for a 250ml, however if a better quality wine is selected then prices will rise accordingly. It is great that you had a beautiful meal at dinner but disappointing to read that you did not enjoy breakfast. Please accept my apology that breakfast did not meet your expectations. Negative feedback regarding breakfast is rare however I will discuss your experience with the Food & Beverage Manager to review with the team. It is fantastic that you loved our Spa and that you would return in the future. Thank you again for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
Kind regards
Chris Monks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh

Address: Ingliston, Edinburgh EH28 8LX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#11 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#22 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#25 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Norton House Hotel & Spa, one of the finest country house hotels in Edinburgh and AA Hotel of the Year Scotland 2010. The perfect backdrop to any wedding in Scotland, this romantic venue will make your Scottish Wedding dream come true. Built in 1840, Norton House Hotel & Spa in Edinburgh, Scotland was always intended as a traditional country retreat, removed from the bustle of the city. This four star hotel in Scotland is just a 20-minute drive from Edinburgh city centre and a mere ten minutes away from Edinburgh Airport. Situated in 55 acres of grounds, Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh offers 83 bedrooms, including 36 luxury executive bedrooms, junior suites and the master suite. Norton House Hotel in Scotland offers a fine dining three AA Rosette Restaurant in Edinburgh and the popular contemporary Brasserie in Edinburgh. Norton House Hotel and Spa, four star hotel in Scotland is just a 20-minute drive from Edinburgh city centre and a mere ten minutes away from Edinburgh Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norton House Hotel And Spa Edinburgh
Norton Hotel Edinburgh
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.