We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing spa, nice rooms but a little quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh

Save Saved
You added Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ingliston, Edinburgh EH28 8LX, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 147 hotels in Edinburgh
Scotland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Amazing spa, nice rooms but a little quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Had a spa day and spent a night for valentines. The room was modern and fairly big. The room was clean and had good amenities. We had the valentines set meal and the food and restaurant surroundings were nice and reasonably priced. The service for drinks was fairly slow and the bar area was quite small and quiet, no music and we went to the room fairly early as not much to hang around for. The staff were all friendly and helpful.

The best thing about this hotel was the spa. It was very luxurious and had great amenities. The staff were all lovely and made me feel really special. The treatments were great and very relaxing.

If you want a quiet and relaxing weekend in nice surroundings this is perfect.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
I really do appreciate the time you have taken to feedback your comments following your recent stay to celebrate Valentines at our hotel. It is pleasing to read that you found your room to be modern, clean and spacious and that you enjoyed your meal in the restaurant and your treatments in the spa. I note your comments regarding bar service and will discuss this with our Food & Beverage team. Background music is always playing in the bar and brasserie so please let me apologise that it was not audible in the bar on this occasion. I am delighted that you found all the staff friendly and helpful and that our team in the Spa made you feel really special. Thank you again for your constructive review and I look forward to welcoming you back to Norton House in the near future.
Kind regards
Chris Monks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    367
    168
    59
    28
    9
See reviews for
102
303
18
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We booked this for our first anniversary. Arrived at the hotel and given a warm welcome by the girls on the desk. The girls directed us to our room but the directions led us to the bottom floor....word of warning this place is a maze....the modern end of the hotel is connected via various lifts and stairs.....very confusing if you are in one of the rooms at the bottom! Eventually we got to our room...very clean and bright. Tv in the bathroom but bath very small didn't really see the point?! We also had a balcony...nice in summer to sit out but unfortunately it was February! After dropping off our bags we headed down to the spa, book treatments in advance as they book up very quickly! Spa was beautiful, recently refurbished. The food and service in the restaurant was our highlight.....as it was valentines we could pick between 2 menus, both gorgeous and something to suit everyone. One more thing to remember....the hotel Isn't far from Edinburgh airport, depending on what room you are in you might hear airlines in the middle of the night...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor following your recent visit to Norton House Hotel & Spa. I was delighted to read that your room was clean and bright and that you found our Spa beautiful. The executive room that you stayed in does have a television in the bathroom and a balcony to which we get lots of positive feedback, however I do take on board that it was not summer and therefore the balcony was not utilised. It was great that the food and service in the restaurant were the highlight of your stay and I appreciate your comments that there was something for everyone on the menus. Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind regards

Chris Monks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I spent a lot of time reading reviews to find a beautiful hotel(that was affordable but still special) for our annual weekend away from the three little monkeys at home! To be honest, I went with norton house and spa because it seemed nice enough and I booked through secret escapes for a great price! I am so glad I did!! And I will choose it again!! The hotel has easy access to Edinburgh, but you still feel remote and away from the hustle and bustle of the city! We were charmed by the staff and the beautiful foyer. My husband was cheeky and asked for an upgraded room and we were offered the kingdom suit for a very reasonable price. The room was a fabulous size, with a huge roll top bath and a tv...along with a good size shower! We had a large wrap around porch with beautiful views! I did get a look at one of the classic rooms, which we originally booked, and it was very nice aswell and not too small. The room and hotel are very nicely decorated, however, the furniture and walls have seen better days...nothing I would complain about but you won't feel like everything is brand new. Again, the staff is so lovely and accommodating. We were given a late check out aswell since we arrived late Friday night and there was no one in our room for Sunday night. The food was delicious! I loved the goats cheese mouse salad!! And the breakfast that was included was perfect...I have never had a better hot chocolate! The pool and spa were a wonderful treat, too. A bit busy Sunday, but we really enjoyed it Saturday night after a long day out in Edinburgh and before dinner!! We would like to go back and bring the kids with us next time!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Norton House. I am delighted that you had a lovely weekend, and that you found the staff Wonderful and the food delicious. The kingdom suite is a fantastic room and has become a popular choice for guests when upgrades are available. As part of our ongoing refurbishment programme there are plans to replace carpets and re upholster furniture in our lounges later in the year. I am pleased that you would like to come back and visit us and it is great that you plan to bring the children next time. I look forward to welcoming you back to Norton House in the near future.
Kind regards
Chris Monks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This hotel made our recent weekend trip to Edinburgh memorable. Situated in its own grounds just outside the city, this is a quality hotel, modern and spacious. The staff were very welcoming on arrival and throughout our visit were always friendly and eager to please. The room was larger than expected, and fitted out to a high standard. Breakfast would suit most tastes and provided a great start to each day. The hotel is situated close to the park and ride which we found an easy way to get into Edinburgh and avoid he traffic issues with the tram development works. We will certainly use this hotel again for future visits to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay. I was pleased to read that the team made you feel welcome on arrival and that they were friendly and eager to please throughout your stay, the team work really hard to ensure that our guests are looked after and they will be delighted when they read your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Norton House Hotel and Spa when you visit Edinburgh again.
Kind regards

Chris Monks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boldon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We have just returned from a fabulous weekend at the Norton House Hotel and Spa, Edinburgh. The room was excellent, loved the TV in the bath and the fluffy cat that you put outside if you don't want to be disturbed. The spa & pool area was wonderful and not too busy, the facial was superb if a little pricey. We ate in the restaurant on the first evening and the food was absolutely fantastic - something special. The only things that we could think of to make it better would be having some real ales available at the bar - the lager and beer choice was not extensive. Also the gluten free bread was not great but these are minor points. All in all a great place to stay for a special break.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and I am delighted that you had a great weekend. I was pleased to read that you found the room excellent and that you enjoyed your time in the Pool, Spa and Restaurant and that you found the food to be fantastic. I have passed your comments to the chef regarding the Gluten free bread and take on board your comments regarding beer offerings, I do appreciate your constructive comments; it is only with points such as these that I can continue to improve the hotel’s standards. I look forward to welcoming you back to Norton House in the near future


Kind regards
Chris Monks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

choose this hotel due to wanting a spa break and when we look at the price for a room we were surpised that it was affordable! the spa area was very well mantained and tidy! the staff there were fanastic and so helpfull! really enjoyed the use of spa gown and free slippers!
When we check-in we were offered an upgraade for an reduced price but as we were only staying one night we didnt see the point! The room was very modern and couldnt fault anything in the room!
We had a deal that included dinner and breakfast, like most fancy hotel we were expecting small portions but we were surpised and full to get a three-course dinner that we struggle to eat all! Portions were very large and would recommend having dinner at the restaurant!
Bed was soo comfortable and massive!

STAFF - were unbelieveably helpfull! from the bar staff in the spa, reception and bar/restaurant staff couldn't have done anything more to ensure that we were enjoying our break! The hotel was very tidy and clean and plates/glasses were cleared up quickly!

can't wait to go back in a few months!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you for posting such a positive review following your stay at Norton House. I am delighted that you had such a great time and that you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel. Your comments regarding the team are much appreciated and we all look forward to welcoming you back in a couple of months.
Kind regards
Chris Monks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed one night on Feb 2. Excellent classic room, if a little too warm. Staff very helpful and pleasant. We were disappointed eating in Brasserie 2. It was too big, slightly soulless, lighting too bright and not very romantic! And it was cold! (The bar area was much warmer). The food though was excellent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you for posting a review following your stay at our hotel, I was pleased that you liked your room and that you found the staff to be helpful and pleasant, however I take on board your comments regarding the brassiere and I apologise that the temperature was not to your satisfaction. Thank you again for your constructive feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to Norton House in the near future.
Kind regards
Chris Monks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh

Also Known As:
Norton House Hotel And Spa Edinburgh
Norton Hotel Edinburgh
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh Scotland
Address: Ingliston, Edinburgh EH28 8LX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#11 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Otel, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.