We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Minimoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh

Save Saved
You added Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ingliston, Edinburgh EH28 8LX, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Halifax
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Perfect Minimoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

What a wonderful stay we had at Norton House Hotel and spa.
The food in the bar is amazing!! (make sure you have the chorizo and bacon salad...AS A MAIN!)
The hotel was beautiful, the staff friendly and helpful and our room perfect!
We stayed in the Edinburgh Suite for 3 nights, it was so comfy and relaxing!

Ideal way to spend 3 nights without the children!
Nothing was too much hassle - we were really well looked after with champagne waiting in our room on arrival!

We had a couples massave which was lovely! - a really nice treat to spend some quality time relaxing.

The spa is lovely! and when we were there between 13th - 16th December there were only a couple of other people using the spa.

We had lunch at the spa before going back to our room for an afternoon nap which was also very pleasant! the service was a little slow here but to be honest we werent in any major rush to go anywhere or do anything.

Keep your eye on Secret Escape for the deals they post on there! I can't wait to go back!

The only thing I think that could be done to improve our stay was investing in a hot tub for the balcony! with a balcony that size its a shame to waste it!

We have a hot tub at home which we don't get much time to use, so when we were looking for a hotel we were looking for one with a private hottub but fell in love with the Edinburgh Suite here.

Room Tip: The Edinburgh Suite is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a positive review of Norton House Hotel & Spa after your Minimoon in December. I am delighted that you had a wonderful break and that you found the staff friendly, food amazing and the spa and treatments you received lovely. The Edinburgh Suite is a delightful room and is one of the most requested rooms in the hotel. The original plan for the Edinburgh Suite was to have a hot tub on the balcony, but we decided not to go ahead with the idea as this could have created a risk of late night noise to other guests. It is great that you cannot wait to come back and visit us and yes you will see deals on secret escapes, but you can also obtain great offers all year round by contacting us directly. I look forward to welcoming you back to Norton House in the near future.

Kind regards

Chris Monks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    194
    68
    29
    9
See reviews for
110
347
18
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chester
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My partner and i stayed at Norton over the new year as we wanted to see Edinburgh, but also wanted to do our usual hand picked break.

Needless to say, the break was nothing short of stunning. If you read my other Hand Picked reviews, you will hear me talk about the hotels being all about food and service in really really great properties. The same applies at Norton - but with a few twists.

First to the building / rooms themselves - we opted for an upgrade to exec room - and boy was it worth it. Our room (Ratho) was in the newer part of the building. The building itself is simply stunning. The exterior well kept with nice gardens / patios etc. the inside is where the place really comes alive though. From the drawing room, the bar, lounges and restaurant, everything is well appointed with classy furnature and decent decor. It kind of just makes you feel like its a home from home. our room was based over 2 floors - a real surprise to us. As usual with HP, you get a super king bed (even more comfy from home.....) well appointed bathrooms etc etc. In our room though we had a decent sized balcony and upstairs was ansice sitting room and wet room. Its the little extras that make the difference though - so at Norton we were not surprised to see that bottled water and milk come as standard in the fridge in your room. the rooms also have very large flat screen TV's with DVD player and I-Pod / MP3 jack (they even have a selection of DVD's for you to borrow). All in all - the room blew us away - it really made the difference for us being there for 3 days.

So to the food - for us we had two evening meals, one lunch and three breakfasts in the brasserie and one gala dinner in the function room (New years Eve). You can only describe the food as stunning - and i will explain why..... Seldom do you come across a place that offers a menu with such choice that the chef can execute flawlessly. Out of all the meals, i didnt have one single complaint. Everything was cooked and presented as if you are in a michelin starred place. You usually find that a chef can cope very well if the menu only has 4 or 5 selections - but here there were many many more - and thats whats most impressive.... the gala dinner was equally impressive. The main was fillet of beef - now you try cooking that flawlessly for over 100 people - well this chef did just that. Overall - the food was a real star - tasty, reasonably priced, well presented and served by expirienced enthusiastic staff.

And so lastly to the service, as i have you will often read on here things like 'nothing was too much for the staff'........ well i hate to be one of those that uses a cliche - but really - the service from the staff was flawless - from check in through to check out - no problems. the great thing though is that they really did take an interest in what i wanted. For example - at breakfast asking what i had planned for the day - and then offering tips and advice from their own expiriences. Now thats what i call great service.

I will sum up just by saying two things:

1. I wish i lived closer so i could stay more often
2. Thank you to all the staff at Norton - you made our New Year break a very very special expirience.

Room Tip: Those with names - rather than numbers seem to be best. Ratho was fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie_MacKay, General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Wow what a fantastic review. I really am very grateful to you for taking the time to let us know your views after your stay with us at New Year. You are correct in what you say about our company’s philosophy. Whilst we do pride ourselves on our beautiful buildings which were “built for pleasure”, what makes the difference is the staff. I will make sure that the team are made aware of your lovely comments. They will take great encouragement from them. Thank you again for your great review and I hope that we will see you back at Norton House Hotel and Spa in the near future.

Kind regards

R MacKay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We booked a stay at norton house months ahead but unfortunately we experienced very difficult personal circumstances (which I will not go into here) shortly prior to our trip. I advised the staff that we 'weren't ourselves' and they were extremely kind and helpful. They ensured we had everything we needed, they were friendly, polite, sympathetic and discreet. Anna, in particular went out of her way again and again to make us comfortable - I could not find her when we were leaving so please extend my gratitude to her personally. We will be back, hopefully under more cheerful circumstances.

We stayed in Ratho room which was superb for our family of 4 as it had a separate sleeping area for our children, meaning we could talk in the evening and spend time together. The spa is beautiful, as are the grounds but the hotels best asset is its superb staff.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie_MacKay, General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us at Norton House Hotel and Spa. I will ensure, personally, that Anna is made aware of your kind comments. I am delighted that our team were able to help you enjoy yourself and make sure that you were comfortable. Hopefully your next stay with us will indeed be under more cheerful circumstance.

Kind regards

R MacKay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Had the most wonderful spa day here at Norton house. We had a nice relaxing time on New Year's Day, and didn't feel rushed at all. The afternoon tea package is good value nice generous amount of tea and few cakes and sandwiches.

Also had the most unreal back massage off a therapist named Alisa , would really like to thank her as she sorted out a horrible paid at the top of my back/ neck.

This is worth the only !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie_MacKay, General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you very much for posting a lovely review of your Spa Day at Norton House. I am delighted that you had such a great time and I will ensure that Ailsa is made aware of your very kind comments.

Kind regards

R MacKay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here two years ago and were impressed then so we booked to spend 5days here for new year Hogmanay ,we were given room 305 (the furthest point from reception, was it quiet,yes apart from the maids broom cupboard right outside the room so were frequently woken by visits to this. We also liked the helpful driver who would drop us at the park and ride,not any more though so we had to take the bus although this was virtually at the end of drive to the hotel, but it rained a lot and not many buses over the festive period.
Another big plus about the hand picked hotel group is the fine breakfasts,but there has been a considerable drop in the quality of the food,especially the single sausage you get,it's virtually meat free and not nice,the black pudding was far to oily,and eating area needs a revamp I think.
We stay with the hand picked group quite often as we like high standards,Norton house simply needs a tweak to put it back up to scratch.
We ate in the Ushers restaurant and although the food was nice the food was a little cold and very small portions,and with a bottle of wine costing £40.00 and total bill into £ 130.00 it should be something to write home about.the brasserie was our first visit when we arrived on the Friday night and the whole place stank of cooking oil from the fish and chips I presume,fix the ventilation in the kitchens.
Would we stay here again ? Yes.

Room Tip: The rooms looking onto the side car park are very nice,tv in bathroom etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie_MacKay, General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us at Norton House Hotel and Spa over New Year. I note your point regarding the maids’ service cupboard beside your room and I have asked my reservations department to ensure that you are away from this area on your next visit to us. We do still drop guests off at the Park and Ride when we have a member of staff available but unfortunately this is not always the case. The local bus service, however, has improved greatly over the last little while, to the point that there is now a bus stop at the end of our drive. We do have an ongoing programme of investment into the fabric of the building. The Brasserie is an area that we constantly maintain and we will continue to do so. I have checked the ventilation in the kitchen and there does not appear to be an issue. I can only assume that another guest had recently been served with a portion of our, very popular, fish and chips just before your arrival. Our breakfast is a part of our business that we do take very seriously and I will raise your concerns surrounding the sausage and black pudding with my chef. I do appreciate your constructive comments as it is only with points such as these that I can continue to improve the hotel’s standards.

Kind regards

R MacKay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We had booked a night from 24th dec for one night. Had asked for an upgrade and Lynn had kindly offered us the 'kingdom suite' which was lovely and spacious. We had our 3 children with us so the space was perfect. We were charged £50 for this. From the afternoon tea, to dinner and breakfast, the food was consistently at a high standard. Would say the breakfast served was on par with the St Regis at Rome. The spa and swimming pool was great. My children loved it! The staff are a credit to the hand picked hotels group. Thank you pierce, Emma and the gentlemen who brought our room service. Very warm and extremely professional. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Kingdom suite is great, especially with a small family. The dining area was great for small children...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie_MacKay, General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for posting such a lovely review of your short break with your family at Christmas time. I am glad that we were able to upgrade you on this occasion as it is not always possible to do so. I am sure that you children will remember the Kingdom Suite for a long time. I will ensure that Piers and Emma are aware of your review. They will undoubtedly take great encouragement from your kind comments.

Kind regards

R MacKay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We booked at the last minute and received an extremely warm welcome from every member of staff. As our flight arrival meant we missed the first course, we were nonetheless ushered cheerfully into the Hogmanay Dinner and were served chilled champagne and fabulous food, by friendly, attentive staff. Our room was clean and spacious, the bedding soft and luxurious. We couldn't fault the whole experience and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie_MacKay, General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your last minute New Year’s break with us. I was delighted that we were able to squeeze a table into the ballroom for you at such a late stage and I am very happy that you enjoyed yourself so much. Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Norton House for another New Year in the future.

Kind regards

R MacKay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh

Address: Ingliston, Edinburgh EH28 8LX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#19 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#25 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, getaroom.com, Otel, Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norton House Hotel And Spa Edinburgh
Norton Hotel Edinburgh
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.