We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 days of Edinburgh” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh to your Saves list
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ingliston, Edinburgh EH28 8LX, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Classic two night break
Ranked #36 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“5 days of Edinburgh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here two years ago and were impressed then so we booked to spend 5days here for new year Hogmanay ,we were given room 305 (the furthest point from reception, was it quiet,yes apart from the maids broom cupboard right outside the room so were frequently woken by visits to this. We also liked the helpful driver who would drop us at the park and ride,not any more though so we had to take the bus although this was virtually at the end of drive to the hotel, but it rained a lot and not many buses over the festive period.
Another big plus about the hand picked hotel group is the fine breakfasts,but there has been a considerable drop in the quality of the food,especially the single sausage you get,it's virtually meat free and not nice,the black pudding was far to oily,and eating area needs a revamp I think.
We stay with the hand picked group quite often as we like high standards,Norton house simply needs a tweak to put it back up to scratch.
We ate in the Ushers restaurant and although the food was nice the food was a little cold and very small portions,and with a bottle of wine costing £40.00 and total bill into £ 130.00 it should be something to write home about.the brasserie was our first visit when we arrived on the Friday night and the whole place stank of cooking oil from the fish and chips I presume,fix the ventilation in the kitchens.
Would we stay here again ? Yes.

Room Tip: The rooms looking onto the side car park are very nice,tv in bathroom etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie_MacKay, General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us at Norton House Hotel and Spa over New Year. I note your point regarding the maids’ service cupboard beside your room and I have asked my reservations department to ensure that you are away from this area on your next visit to us. We do still drop guests off at the Park and Ride when we have a member of staff available but unfortunately this is not always the case. The local bus service, however, has improved greatly over the last little while, to the point that there is now a bus stop at the end of our drive. We do have an ongoing programme of investment into the fabric of the building. The Brasserie is an area that we constantly maintain and we will continue to do so. I have checked the ventilation in the kitchen and there does not appear to be an issue. I can only assume that another guest had recently been served with a portion of our, very popular, fish and chips just before your arrival. Our breakfast is a part of our business that we do take very seriously and I will raise your concerns surrounding the sausage and black pudding with my chef. I do appreciate your constructive comments as it is only with points such as these that I can continue to improve the hotel’s standards.

Kind regards

R MacKay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    521
    262
    87
    33
    13
See reviews for
138
430
21
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We had booked a night from 24th dec for one night. Had asked for an upgrade and Lynn had kindly offered us the 'kingdom suite' which was lovely and spacious. We had our 3 children with us so the space was perfect. We were charged £50 for this. From the afternoon tea, to dinner and breakfast, the food was consistently at a high standard. Would say the breakfast served was on par with the St Regis at Rome. The spa and swimming pool was great. My children loved it! The staff are a credit to the hand picked hotels group. Thank you pierce, Emma and the gentlemen who brought our room service. Very warm and extremely professional. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Kingdom suite is great, especially with a small family. The dining area was great for small children...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie_MacKay, General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for posting such a lovely review of your short break with your family at Christmas time. I am glad that we were able to upgrade you on this occasion as it is not always possible to do so. I am sure that you children will remember the Kingdom Suite for a long time. I will ensure that Piers and Emma are aware of your review. They will undoubtedly take great encouragement from your kind comments.

Kind regards

R MacKay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We booked at the last minute and received an extremely warm welcome from every member of staff. As our flight arrival meant we missed the first course, we were nonetheless ushered cheerfully into the Hogmanay Dinner and were served chilled champagne and fabulous food, by friendly, attentive staff. Our room was clean and spacious, the bedding soft and luxurious. We couldn't fault the whole experience and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie_MacKay, General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your last minute New Year’s break with us. I was delighted that we were able to squeeze a table into the ballroom for you at such a late stage and I am very happy that you enjoyed yourself so much. Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Norton House for another New Year in the future.

Kind regards

R MacKay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Just had a three day break over Christmas and thoroughly enjoyed it . Stopped in a executive room in the room in the new part of the hotel only downside to the room was being confronted by a car park when you opened the door just felt it lacked privacy. The room it self was a high standard finish and clean , it had everything you needed from fridge, safe , TV with sports channels , iron , DVD player and TV in the bathroom. The don't disturb sign was a cat which you found in the room which was quite a funny view in the morning on the way for breakfast with all these cats sitting outside the doors .The staff where very helpful and could not do enough for you with the hotel finished in the same high standards as the rooms . The hotel is located near the airport so slight aircraft noise but was not to much to spoil the stay, might get more in the summer. Location is also five minutes from a park and ride in to Edinburgh easiest way to get in to the centre free to park and 1.40 per person adults half price children each way drops you off on princess street the main street.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie_MacKay, General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you so much for posting a review of your Christmas visit to our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed yourself so much during your stay with us. It is correct that you room overlooked the car park, as do the majority of our Executive rooms, but we have invested a lot of time and money to ensure that there is plenty of landscaping around the car park. Our “Do not disturb” cat, Maisie, has proved very popular with our guests and a lot of our younger guests like to take one of her brothers or sisters home as a souvenir.

Kind regards

R MacKay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We were upgraded on entry to a fabulous suite called the 'Kingdom Suite' which was the largest room I have ever stayed in...absolutely stunning & supremely comfortable super size bed, panoramic balcony with garden views, wonderful selection of coffees, teas, gobsmackingly gorgeous bathroom with the most luxurious roll top bath I have ever seen complete with fluffy towels and bathrobes and slippers and complimentary glossies. We ordered a celebratory cream tea in the room which was absolutely exquisite and five star standard.

The spa and swimming pool was gorgeous and empty when we stayed - so we felt thoroughly spoilt through and through. This was incredible. 100% five star experience.

Room Tip: Try to get a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie_MacKay, General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your visit to Norton House Hotel and Spa. I was delighted to read how much you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

R MacKay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Hubby & I treated ourselves to one night and were bowled over by this lovely hotel! The staff were friendly and charming from the moment we arrived; everything was clean, tidy and organised to a superb standard. The hotel has a lovely atmosphere - calm, luxurious and quiet opulence.All the food was lovely and no detail missed. Thoroughly recommended if you want to feel special, pampered and relaxed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
I am very grateful for you taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Norton House Hotel & Spa. It was fantastic to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your stay and that you found all the staff friendly and charming. The hotel does have a lovely atmosphere especially at this time of year and I thank you for recommending it to others. I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not to distant future.

Kind regards

Chris Monks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
Level Contributor
104 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

lovely hotel wish we could have stayed longer! room was lovely, modern but comfortable, absolutely loved the heated floor in the bathroom!! dinner in the brasserie was fantastic, service was incredible, breakfast was excellent, cant express how impressed I am! Cant wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for posting such a fantastic review of our hotel. It is great to read that you found the service and food in the brasserie incredible and that you enjoyed breakfast and your room so much. The heated floors in our executive bathrooms are excellent especially during cold winter months and I am delighted that you loved them. It is also very pleasing to know that you cannot wait to return, and I do look forward to welcoming you back at that time.

Kind regards

Chris Monks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edinburgh
Marriott Edinburgh
#62 of 146 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 968 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#23 of 146 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 2,963 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#15 of 146 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#12 of 146 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 1,816 reviews
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#79 of 146 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh

Address: Ingliston, Edinburgh EH28 8LX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#11 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#25 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Norton House Hotel & Spa, one of the finest country house hotels in Edinburgh and AA Hotel of the Year Scotland 2010. The perfect backdrop to any wedding in Scotland, this romantic venue will make your Scottish Wedding dream come true. Built in 1840, Norton House Hotel & Spa in Edinburgh, Scotland was always intended as a traditional country retreat, removed from the bustle of the city. This four star hotel in Scotland is just a 20-minute drive from Edinburgh city centre and a mere ten minutes away from Edinburgh Airport. Situated in 55 acres of grounds, Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh offers 83 bedrooms, including 36 luxury executive bedrooms, junior suites and the master suite. Norton House Hotel in Scotland offers a fine dining three AA Rosette Restaurant in Edinburgh and the popular contemporary Brasserie in Edinburgh. Norton House Hotel and Spa, four star hotel in Scotland is just a 20-minute drive from Edinburgh city centre and a mere ten minutes away from Edinburgh Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norton House Hotel And Spa Edinburgh
Norton Hotel Edinburgh
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.