We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room and experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh to your Saves list
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ingliston, Edinburgh EH28 8LX, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely room and experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We had booked a night from 24th dec for one night. Had asked for an upgrade and Lynn had kindly offered us the 'kingdom suite' which was lovely and spacious. We had our 3 children with us so the space was perfect. We were charged £50 for this. From the afternoon tea, to dinner and breakfast, the food was consistently at a high standard. Would say the breakfast served was on par with the St Regis at Rome. The spa and swimming pool was great. My children loved it! The staff are a credit to the hand picked hotels group. Thank you pierce, Emma and the gentlemen who brought our room service. Very warm and extremely professional. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Kingdom suite is great, especially with a small family. The dining area was great for small children...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KaDdeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie_MacKay, General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for posting such a lovely review of your short break with your family at Christmas time. I am glad that we were able to upgrade you on this occasion as it is not always possible to do so. I am sure that you children will remember the Kingdom Suite for a long time. I will ensure that Piers and Emma are aware of your review. They will undoubtedly take great encouragement from your kind comments.

Kind regards

R MacKay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We booked at the last minute and received an extremely warm welcome from every member of staff. As our flight arrival meant we missed the first course, we were nonetheless ushered cheerfully into the Hogmanay Dinner and were served chilled champagne and fabulous food, by friendly, attentive staff. Our room was clean and spacious, the bedding soft and luxurious. We couldn't fault the whole experience and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie_MacKay, General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your last minute New Year’s break with us. I was delighted that we were able to squeeze a table into the ballroom for you at such a late stage and I am very happy that you enjoyed yourself so much. Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Norton House for another New Year in the future.

Kind regards

R MacKay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Just had a three day break over Christmas and thoroughly enjoyed it . Stopped in a executive room in the room in the new part of the hotel only downside to the room was being confronted by a car park when you opened the door just felt it lacked privacy. The room it self was a high standard finish and clean , it had everything you needed from fridge, safe , TV with sports channels , iron , DVD player and TV in the bathroom. The don't disturb sign was a cat which you found in the room which was quite a funny view in the morning on the way for breakfast with all these cats sitting outside the doors .The staff where very helpful and could not do enough for you with the hotel finished in the same high standards as the rooms . The hotel is located near the airport so slight aircraft noise but was not to much to spoil the stay, might get more in the summer. Location is also five minutes from a park and ride in to Edinburgh easiest way to get in to the centre free to park and 1.40 per person adults half price children each way drops you off on princess street the main street.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WiganPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie_MacKay, General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you so much for posting a review of your Christmas visit to our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed yourself so much during your stay with us. It is correct that you room overlooked the car park, as do the majority of our Executive rooms, but we have invested a lot of time and money to ensure that there is plenty of landscaping around the car park. Our “Do not disturb” cat, Maisie, has proved very popular with our guests and a lot of our younger guests like to take one of her brothers or sisters home as a souvenir.

Kind regards

R MacKay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We were upgraded on entry to a fabulous suite called the 'Kingdom Suite' which was the largest room I have ever stayed in...absolutely stunning & supremely comfortable super size bed, panoramic balcony with garden views, wonderful selection of coffees, teas, gobsmackingly gorgeous bathroom with the most luxurious roll top bath I have ever seen complete with fluffy towels and bathrobes and slippers and complimentary glossies. We ordered a celebratory cream tea in the room which was absolutely exquisite and five star standard.

The spa and swimming pool was gorgeous and empty when we stayed - so we felt thoroughly spoilt through and through. This was incredible. 100% five star experience.

Room Tip: Try to get a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fleur2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie_MacKay, General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your visit to Norton House Hotel and Spa. I was delighted to read how much you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

R MacKay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Hubby & I treated ourselves to one night and were bowled over by this lovely hotel! The staff were friendly and charming from the moment we arrived; everything was clean, tidy and organised to a superb standard. The hotel has a lovely atmosphere - calm, luxurious and quiet opulence.All the food was lovely and no detail missed. Thoroughly recommended if you want to feel special, pampered and relaxed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjandherdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
I am very grateful for you taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Norton House Hotel & Spa. It was fantastic to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your stay and that you found all the staff friendly and charming. The hotel does have a lovely atmosphere especially at this time of year and I thank you for recommending it to others. I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not to distant future.

Kind regards

Chris Monks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

lovely hotel wish we could have stayed longer! room was lovely, modern but comfortable, absolutely loved the heated floor in the bathroom!! dinner in the brasserie was fantastic, service was incredible, breakfast was excellent, cant express how impressed I am! Cant wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CocoCooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for posting such a fantastic review of our hotel. It is great to read that you found the service and food in the brasserie incredible and that you enjoyed breakfast and your room so much. The heated floors in our executive bathrooms are excellent especially during cold winter months and I am delighted that you loved them. It is also very pleasing to know that you cannot wait to return, and I do look forward to welcoming you back at that time.

Kind regards

Chris Monks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Was here on Business trip and hotel was excellent, we had a meal served in one of the private function rooms and from starter to sweet it was superb, staff were really friendly.
After meal we went to bar area for drinks where again staff were really friendly and came round asking if everyone was ok.
We had our sales meeting and were served a buffy style lunch which again was fantastic, first day Thai green curry, second day was shepherds pie, along with sandwiches, wraps, etc.
would definitely recommend this for pleasure and for business trips.
Unfortunately I did not have time to visit spa (maybe next time)

Room Tip: We were in the new rooms which were a 5 star
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hambones64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for your review on trip advisor following your recent stay on business, I am delighted that you found the food to be superb and the staff to be friendly. It is also very encouraging to read that you recommend us as both a venue for pleasure and business. I look forward to welcoming you back to Norton House, where next time you may get the chance to use the facilities in our Health Club & Spa.
Kind regards
Chris Monks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 2,106 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#24 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 3,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 stars 1,508 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#7 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 2,829 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh

Address: Ingliston, Edinburgh EH28 8LX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#22 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#25 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Norton House Hotel & Spa, one of the finest country house hotels in Edinburgh and AA Hotel of the Year Scotland 2010. The perfect backdrop to any wedding in Scotland, this romantic venue will make your Scottish Wedding dream come true. Built in 1840, Norton House Hotel & Spa in Edinburgh, Scotland was always intended as a traditional country retreat, removed from the bustle of the city. This four star hotel in Scotland is just a 20-minute drive from Edinburgh city centre and a mere ten minutes away from Edinburgh Airport. Situated in 55 acres of grounds, Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh offers 83 bedrooms, including 36 luxury executive bedrooms, junior suites and the master suite. Norton House Hotel in Scotland offers a fine dining three AA Rosette Restaurant in Edinburgh and the popular contemporary Brasserie in Edinburgh. Norton House Hotel and Spa, four star hotel in Scotland is just a 20-minute drive from Edinburgh city centre and a mere ten minutes away from Edinburgh Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norton House Hotel And Spa Edinburgh
Norton Hotel Edinburgh
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing