We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh to your Saves list
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ingliston, Edinburgh EH28 8LX, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Classic two night break
Ranked #35 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Stayed for one night on cheap deal. Hotel had 2 weddings running but despite this we were given a small suite in the older part of the hotel which was great. Really comfortable, clean and well appointed. Receptionist and housekeeping staff could not do enough for us and made us feel really welcome. Had planned an informal supper in the brasserie but on passing Usher's Restaurant we were encouraged to peruse the menu. It looked really good so we ate there. We had had a big lunch so settled on a main course and pudding only. Both were very well prepared, well presented and really delicious. The wine list ŵas extensive. Both food and wine reasonably priced for this 4 star hotel. We liked the look of the multiple course taster menu which we will try next time (need to be hungry to get through the magnificent choices). Restaurant manager/ head waiter looked after us very well -thank you! Breakfast the next morning was traditional Scottish fare and very good. Despite being very busy, the breakfast team were helpful and speedy. Good spa facilities also with a decent size pool, sauna, stam room and bubble pool. Did not try the gym this time around. A really great stay and we plan to return at the next available opportunity!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie_MacKay, General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Norton House Hotel and Spa on Tripadvisor following your stay with us. I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your break. It was especially pleasing to notice that you really did make full use of our facilities, including our Spa and our 3 Rosette Restaurant, Ushers. Hopefully we will see you back with us in the near future.

Kind regards

R MacKay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    262
    87
    33
    13
See reviews for
138
432
21
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Stayed for 2 days to attend my nephews wedding, outstanding! The hospitality and warmth the staff extend to all is exceptional and genuine. it was a wonderful place to hold a wedding, the staff could not do enough, the management run a tight profesional ship leaving nothing to chance. First class food and accommodation, the breakfast selection was the best Ive ever had, away from home of course. A big thank you to all for making our stay magical

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie_MacKay, General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you very much fro such kind comments following your stay with us at Norton House Hotel and Spa for your nephew's wedding. I was delighted to read what a good time you had and I will ensure that the team here are made aware of your lovely review. I hope we will see you back at Norton House in the future.

Kind regards

R MacKay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We got married at Norton House in June this year and it was an amazing day, excellent food, great staff and a lovely setting. It was perfect. We stayed in the hotel for 3 nights the rooms are beautiful, spacious and comfortable. Overall Norton House is fantastic and we shall definitely be returning.

Room Tip: all rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie_MacKay, General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Dear William.

Thank you very much for posting a review of Norton house Hotel and Spa after your wedding in June. Please accept my, and my team's, congratulations on your wedding. I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed the day itself, and the few days after also. I wish you a very long and happy marriage and look forward to seeing you back at our hotel in the future.

Kind regards

R MacKay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

looking for a night out with style and a t a price that will not break the bank the the norton is the place it is inpressive with the long drive up the drive to the hotel and you are not disapointed when you arrive as it certainly lives up to its advertising the staff are helpfull and attentive great coice in menu and great area to relax will you wit to be seated once at your table you are not disapointed with the food or the service

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie_MacKay, General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a lovely reveiw of your stay with us last year. I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your visit. I do hope we will be able to welcome you back to our hotel again in the future.

Kind regards

R MacKay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

My wife and I have enjoyed our second stay at this fine property and it was even better than our first some 9 years ago or so. The service was impeccable, the ambience just grand old luxury but it was certainly not stuffy! The people made a difference as they do at all fine properties. Thoughtful attention to our needs, including a special diet, great food service and useful, cogent travel advice. We enjoyed the nicely landscaped grounds and a few country walks as well. It served as a great base for exploring the region around Edinburgh and the city itself. But, being outside of the city we were well away from its noise and bustle while still being an easy 15 minute commute to its heart. The restaurant offered an eclectic range of local provisions and their quality was top-notch.

We enjoyed the experience so much, that we asked about other such hotels and we were told that it was one of a set of properties in a business named Handpicked Hotels. Well, after subsequently staying at two more of these properties we can assure readers that their name is well deserved and that a stay at one of these will be comfortable, luxurious, and an experience of English (and Scottish in this case) manor ambience.

When we travel to the UK again we will certainly look for one of these hotels again.

Room Tip: We had a suite overlooking the front lawn - it was spacious and comfortable The property seems to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie_MacKay, General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
I am very grateful to you for taking the time to post a review of Norton House Hotel and Spa following your visit with us in May. I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed the hotel and the service that my staff provided. I will ensure that the team are all aware of your kind comments; they will be very encouraged by them. I was also very happy that you have subsequently visited another couple of our hotels and that you enjoyed them also. Hopefully you will not leave it another 9 years before you come and stay with us for a third time.

Kind regards

R MacKay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Myself and two friends enjoyed a Spa day at Norton House Hotel in June and found it to be a truly luxurious experience!

After having trouble finding a parking space, we arrived at 10am and were met with a friendly receptionist. We took a seat in the lounge where we met with a beauty therapist to go over our welcome pack, she took us on a tour of the facilities and gave us a locker. She was friendly, smiley and polite as were all the staff, who went out of their way to accommodate us adding in treatments as the day went on.

I had a luxury facial which was truly cleansing and relaxing, well worth the money, and although the beauty therapist recommended a number of products for my skin, there was no pressure to buy these. We enjoyed most of the facilities, pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi pool. There is a gym too. There was only a handful of other people using the facilities at the same time as us which was great, as area like the experience shower and steam room are quite small, which can be a bit awkward when crammed in with strangers.

We also enjoyed lunch, the menu had several vegetarian options for my friend. It was served only a few minutes later than we had requested and as it was a nice sunny day we sat outside.

All in all, we had a great day and I would definately return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie_MacKay, General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a reveiw of our Spa after your recent "Spa Day Treat". I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed yourselves and I ensure that the team in the Spa are made aware of your kind comments. I do hope that we will be able to welcome back to Norton House Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

R MacKay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAISLEY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

This was our 5th visit to Norton House and it was just as fantastic as the first!
We stayed in the Balerno suite on 7th July and it was absolutely stunning! It is exactly, if not better than shown on the website!
The staff were superb as always, extremely attentive, friendly and helpful. It still surprises us that the bar staff know your name 30 minutes after your arrival. We have never stayed anywhere else where you receive such a personal service. We were even delivered complimentary champagne as the staff knew it was my birthday! Wish we could remember the name of the Asian man at the bar when we had lunch as he was so polite and mannerly.

The Brasserie lunch was delicious, however if you stay here, you must visit Ushers for dinner. It is by far the best fine dining restaurant we have ever visited. The staff are so knowledgable and can accurately explain everything on the menu, clearly having tried everything themselves prior to service. Both men serving in this restarant were fantastic!

The spa is immaculate and always worth a visit, again the reception staff here are so lovely.

Why this hotel is not 5* is a complete mystery to me. However we have never stayed in the older part of the hotel so can't comment on this.

What made this visit even more special for us, is that we got engaged! If that's not a reason for another visit then I don't know what is.
Thanks for replying to our tweets & making our stay superb!
Leona Brown & Grant Sinclair

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie_MacKay, General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear Leona and Grant.

First of all may I offer you my congratulations on your recent engagement. We are truly honoured, at Norton House Hotel, to be allowed to share in so many of your personal celebrations. Thank you for posting such a lovely review of your most recent stay with us. I will ensure that the team are made aware of you kind comments. I am sure they will be very encouraged to read how often you stay with us and how much you enjoy Norton House. I do hope we will have the pleasure of your company again soon and that you will continue to enjoy our hotel for many years to come.

Kind regards

R MacKay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edinburgh
Marriott Edinburgh
#62 of 146 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 969 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#23 of 146 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 2,969 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#12 of 146 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 1,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#15 of 146 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 832 reviews
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#81 of 146 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh

Address: Ingliston, Edinburgh EH28 8LX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#11 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#20 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#25 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Norton House Hotel & Spa, one of the finest country house hotels in Edinburgh and AA Hotel of the Year Scotland 2010. The perfect backdrop to any wedding in Scotland, this romantic venue will make your Scottish Wedding dream come true. Built in 1840, Norton House Hotel & Spa in Edinburgh, Scotland was always intended as a traditional country retreat, removed from the bustle of the city. This four star hotel in Scotland is just a 20-minute drive from Edinburgh city centre and a mere ten minutes away from Edinburgh Airport. Situated in 55 acres of grounds, Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh offers 83 bedrooms, including 36 luxury executive bedrooms, junior suites and the master suite. Norton House Hotel in Scotland offers a fine dining three AA Rosette Restaurant in Edinburgh and the popular contemporary Brasserie in Edinburgh. Norton House Hotel and Spa, four star hotel in Scotland is just a 20-minute drive from Edinburgh city centre and a mere ten minutes away from Edinburgh Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norton House Hotel And Spa Edinburgh
Norton Hotel Edinburgh
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.