We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kingsway Guest House

Save Saved
You added Kingsway Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kingsway Guest House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   5 East Mayfield, Edinburgh EH9 1SD, Scotland (South Side)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 441 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We spent three nights recently and enjoyed the location, our lovely room with all the modern amenities, and the breakfast choices. Our hosts and their staff were very helpful with dinner suggestions and reservations. We definitely recommend Kingsway Guest House.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    220
    38
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
57
129
13
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Our recent stay at the Kingsway Guest House was very enjoyable. As others have stated, Lizzie and Gary are excellent hosts and make their guests feel quite welcome. Our room was very comfortable, clean and well-maintained. Our daughter loved the breakfasts (which she enjoyed more than aywhere else we ate in Edinburgh). It is easy to get from the house to the city center by bus. We have stayed in several different B&Bs in Edinburgh in the past, but the Kingsway is now our favorite and the one we will return to.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The title says it all! Gary and Lizzie are superb hosts, welcoming, friendly, and extremely knowledgeable of the local area. Don't be shy about tapping them up for suggestions on days out or things to do - they're not short of an idea or two - but the guide they provide should give you plenty of ideas.

The beds are so very comfortable and the breakfast provided is superb, setting you up for the day. The B&B itself is very well kept, a testimony to the time and effort put in by the proprietors. The location is quiet and, coupled with those comfy beds, you're ensured a good night's sleep. Although a little out of the way, the Kingsway is less than a minute from all the major buses that run into town and, if you want to work off that delicious brekkie, you're only a 20 minute walk onto the Royal Mile.

I truly cannot rate this B&B highly enough - we've been there twice now, and twice we've been very impressed. A first rate place to stay in a first rate city.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We spent two nights at Kingsway Guest House during our driving tour of Scotland and this was our favourite B&B of the trip! We were made to feel very welcome by the hosts Lizzie and Garry. They offered good advice to help us make the most of our time in Edinburgh.

Our room was very comfortable (excellent mattress) and warm, nicely decorated and cleaned for us every day. The en-suite was compact but modern with everything we needed. Breakfast was tasty and fresh, and we liked the alternative of the daily specials which was a welcome break from the standard fare on our tour.

The location suited us as it was only 20 minutes walk to the main sites but in a quiet neighbourhood – it was nice to get away from the bustle of the touristy centre. A major plus was being able to leave the car in their private car park for our whole stay and not worry about parking charges.

We enjoyed two of their recommended restaurants (Cafe Cassis was amazing and Salisbury Arms) plus a couple of nice pubs with music, all within walking distance of the B&B in the evening. Definitely recommend as a great base to visit Edinburgh and we would stay again if we return, which is the plan.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We finished a road trip to Scotland with a 2 night stay at Kingsway which is located near to the city centre and all of the attractions. The house is just beautiful and we received a very warm welcome from Lizzie and Gary. The moment you walk through the door you are made to feel at home. The location of Kingsway is great, very close to some excellent pubs and restaurants. Our hosts gave us a local map with all of the best places to stop for food and drink. Our room was very clean and comfortable. Everything the weary traveller needs is right there for you. The room had a great bathroom en-suite, comfortable bed and a peaceful nights sleep was not a problem. Breakfast at Kingsway was wonderfully prepared and set us up for a day in the city. There are plently of bus routes into Edinburgh which are a short walk from the guest house. If you are looking for a guest house in the city then look no further than Kingsway. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: There is plenty of free parking at the rear of Kingsway to leave your car and go off and explore Edn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Lizzie & Gary were excellent hosts--very helpful and friendly buy not intrusive. They have taken the time to put together a small guide of their top 10 must sees, list of neighborhood restaurants and pubs, highlighting their top three, and bus routes & recommendations throughout the city (I was able to carry their handy little guide in my purse). They were spot on for our taste. We went to their top three restaurants: great food, great value. All short walk from home. I visited with my three, big, college-age sons. Rented the "family room" and had plenty of room for 4 adults to move about, in spite of four suitcases. Not huge by American standards, but quite ample for a European B&B. En suite shower was new, clean, stocked and ample. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious. Hosts have thought of everything to make guests at home. e.g. vegetarian option for haggis and sausage, etc. Free wifi was nice, although with 3 computers/iPhones going in our room at any given time, we found internet to come and go a bit. Location was a bit out of downtown hustle, but very walkable for active family. For two day stay we never once boarded a bus, although they are conveniently accessed ~400 meters from front door. We managed to see all the sights on foot -- from top of Arthur's Seat to Castle, Old Town and New Town. Walked to Kingsway from train station with luggage (~30 min) and took cab to airport (35 min. cab ride from door= £20). Would return in a heartbeat. Absolute perfect choice for us!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

We spent a wonderful week-end at Kingsway Guesthouse. The neighborhood is great with a charming pub (reverie) and plenty of restaurants.
The rooms are well decorated and the breakfast daily special is excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kingsway Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsway Guest House

Address: 5 East Mayfield, Edinburgh EH9 1SD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > South Side
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 441 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingsway Guest House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingsway Guest House is a popular AA four star gold rated guest house offering the warmest of Scottish hospitality just one mile from Edinburgh's famous Royal Mile. Our stylish guest rooms are all recently refurbished and our freshly cooked Scottish breakfasts with daily specials have won an AA breakfast award in 2014. Rooms offer comfortable beds with individually pocket sprung mattresses, fluffy towels, TV/DVD, internet radio, tea and coffee making facilities and hairdryer. All have en-suite shower rooms, apart from our one standard room which has private facilities next to the room, not shared. We offer our guests information to help enjoy their visit to Edinburgh, complementary high speed wifi and also use of our private off street car park. There is an excellent selection of cafes, restaurants and pubs within 5 - 10 minutes walk of the guest house. You can find more details and useful information about Edinburgh's sights and events on the KingswayGuestHouse FB page and also follow us on twitter KingswayEdin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Budget Places and Priceline so you can book your Kingsway Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsway Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Kingsway Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingsway Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.