We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did what it says on the tin....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Allison House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Allison House Hotel to your Saves list
Allison House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   17 Mayfield Gardens, Edinburgh EH9 2AX, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #143 of 440 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Wiltshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Did what it says on the tin....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I stayed two nights here when visiting for a reunion. Perfectly adequate establishment, bedroom etc clean and comfortable, but overall, not particularly exceptional, apart from a rather good breakfast. The Continental version had loads of fresh fruit, croissants and rolls which were an excellent substitute for a cooked meal, although that was available too, and fairly good. Didn't feel it was a 'home from home' though, although the owners, on the two brief occasions that I saw them, were pleasant and helpful. I'm sorry to sound picky, but I have stayed in some wonderful B&Bs with that little bit extra something, and for far less money too, so this was average in comparison.

Room Tip: You are going to have to climb a fairly steep set of stairs for nearly all the accommodation and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    35
    9
    5
    4
See reviews for
11
48
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights while we explored Edinburgh. The room wasn't the best but we couldn't complain. It was a little bit old-fashioned. The breakfast was excellent. Before engish breakfast there was a choice of fruits, croissants, hot buns and cereals. You must be carefull with your bill because we were asked to pay 270 pound instead of 170. But after all it ended well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Great stay here. Staff friendly, absolutely fantastic breakfast. Ten minutes on the bus to city centre and busses every couple of minutes. Room ok size (small twin on the top floor). Reasonable value for money in line with hotels of a similar nature in similar locations.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

we stayed for 3 nights over a busy weekend. The room was very strange, musty furniture and ver old fashioned. The shower clogged up on our last day and almost overflowed. It also went cold regularly and the door was broken. The room wasn't hoovered while we were there. The owner was nowhere to been seen on arrival and took a phonecall to locate. The breakfast pastries were very dry and not fresh. It was also fairly far out of the centre for the price and takes about 30minutes walk to reach the royal mile.

The redeeming features were plenty of fresh fruit at breakfast and some gluten free options. More dairy free options would have been nice. We were expecting much more for our money and may as well have gone to a chain hotel for cheaper. We were looking for a personal touch and did not receive it. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stopped here for a few days while we explored Edinburgh. We were late arriving but it was not a problem. It was bitterly cold outside, but they had put on an electric heater in the room to boost the radiator. The complimentary whisky helped to warm us up. Good breakfast and friendly staff. They were happy to provide day bus passes for us and put it on the bill. The location is superb. The bus stops are right outside and the buses run every few minutes and take ten mins into Edinburgh. There is an excellent Indain and an acceptable Italian within ten mins walk.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Really nice rooms, helpful staff recommended an excellent Indian restaurant just across the road for our evening meal and printed our ticket for the zoo, extra touches such as complimentary whisky and sherry made it special, breakfast delicious. Regulr buses into city centre. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed in the small double on the top floor which was adequate but could do with some work! Some of the furnishings just seemed a bit cheap and slightly unnecessary; it seems to have a lot squeezed into it. I realise it’s the small double but the space could be utilised better to make it feel less so. The sink is in the bedroom as the shower and toilet are in a separate 'box' and the water pressure was really poor. Breakfast was good; there is a large continental selection such as cereals, cereals bars, fruit, pastries etc. For the cooked breakfast you can select four items and eggs cooked how you like them. The location suited our needs and it was an easy walk into the centre, or around £7 for a taxi when wearing heels! If we stayed again we would definitely rather book one of the standard rooms which looked much nicer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Allison House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allison House Hotel

Address: 17 Mayfield Gardens, Edinburgh EH9 2AX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 440 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Allison House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Allison House is a small budget priced Georgian building situated on the South side of Edinburgh in a predominantly residential area, where we are just a short bus ride away from all major tourist attractions. Due to our central location all our guests can take advantage of that most valuable commodity in Edinburgh, free off street parking! For guests travelling on business or pleasure we provide a comfortable haven for you to work and relax in, our recently refurbished bedrooms all have a private shower room, TV, telephone,free wireless internet access, trouser press, hair dryer, ironing facility, complimentary tea and coffee as well as a drink from our complimentary decanters of Whisky and Sherry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Allison House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allison House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Allison House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.