We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would stay at this hotel again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Allison House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Allison House Hotel to your Saves list
Allison House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   17 Mayfield Gardens, Edinburgh EH9 2AX, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #142 of 440 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Torquay, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“I would stay at this hotel again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

One of the best breakfast selections I’ve seen in a long time. In fact, the selection available would put many more expensive hotels to shame. The hotel is situated a short bus ride from the centre of the city on a main road. There is a bus stop just outside and you can buy a bus pass for the day from the hotel which gives you unlimited bus travel on local buses. The buses go every few minutes into the centre of town. The hotel was clean and spacious. Our room was very nice and came with complementary whisky and brandy to try.
Just up the road from the hotel is a nice selection of restaurants and pubs if you don’t want to venture into town for an evening meal.
I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    35
    9
    5
    4
See reviews for
11
48
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

We stayed for two nights at the end of the Edinburgh Fringe. I was really impressed. The hotel is very conveniently situated- you can walk in 25 mins from the city centre- it's just a straight line. There are also about 8 buses that stop really close by too.

Our room was clean with everything that you would expect, plus a complimentary whisky, which is a nice touch. The matresses perhaps were in need of upgrading since we both had quite sore backs, but this was a minor issue in the wider context of the hotel. Breakfast was better than I have seen in various 4 star hotels(!) and the staff were friendly too. A happy stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paoli, Indiana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

We just spent 4 nights at the Allison House. Everything was wonderful. The room was spacious and comfortable with a view of the back garden. The breakfast was great. Just be careful when you order the full Scottish breakfast...we couldn't eat it all! Breakfast is served by Richard who is just a delight and very helpful with tips for your stay. Added benefits are the bus stop right outside the door and you can purchase day passes from the hotel. The Royal Mile is minutes away by bus and there are restaurants and pubs within walking distance. We absolutely would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

Really enjoyed our visit to Edinburgh made all the better by The Allison House - very comfortable, very clean & well appointed/presented the owners very welcoming & a lovely touch are the wee decanters of whisky & sherry in the room on arrival.
Breakfast fantastic with a great choice & a great range of fresh fruits/pastries/juices everything you
would want. Breakfast staff great he's like having your own local guide looking after you.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

This is a fantastic choice for staying in a fantastic city - we stayed for 4 nights in this cute B&B. The owner could not have been more welcoming & friendly & Richard who looks after the guests each morning was very helpful & knowledgeable about the city & what to see & do.
Breakfast is Great well worthy of the places 4* rating (should be a higher rating) a fabulous choice every day.
Good location 20 minutes walk from the city centre but with a fast bus service passing the front door it's easy to get around - buy a Day Ticket from the hotel it's the easiest way.
All together a VERY enjoyable stay I'm sure there are other B&B's in the area but none as good as this.
Will definitely return!!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

This is a fantastic choice for staying in a fantastic city - we stayed for 4 nights in this cute B&B. The owner could not have been more welcoming & friendly & Richard who looks after the guests each morning was very helpful & knowledgeable about the city & what to see & do.
Breakfast is Great well worthy of the places 4* rating (should be a higher rating) a fabulous choice every day.
Good location 20 minutes walk from the city centre but with a fast bus service passing the front door it's easy to get around - buy a Day Ticket from the hotel it's the easiest way.
All together a VERY enjoyable stay I'm sure there are other B&B's in the area but none as good as this.
Will definitely return!!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

A great little guest house, very clean and tidy. Nice rooms, simple and comfortable. Great service, breakfast perfectly cooked and lots of it!! When they say fresh fruit they mean it! The staff are attentive and very friendly.
I would be more than happy to recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxed break, staying within walking distance from the city centre.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Allison House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allison House Hotel

Address: 17 Mayfield Gardens, Edinburgh EH9 2AX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 440 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Allison House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Allison House is a small budget priced Georgian building situated on the South side of Edinburgh in a predominantly residential area, where we are just a short bus ride away from all major tourist attractions. Due to our central location all our guests can take advantage of that most valuable commodity in Edinburgh, free off street parking! For guests travelling on business or pleasure we provide a comfortable haven for you to work and relax in, our recently refurbished bedrooms all have a private shower room, TV, telephone,free wireless internet access, trouser press, hair dryer, ironing facility, complimentary tea and coffee as well as a drink from our complimentary decanters of Whisky and Sherry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Allison House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allison House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Allison House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.