We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay... Just a standard guest house.. Breakfast basic but clean. Room basic and bit noisy with open window but ok I guess..” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ben Doran

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ben Doran to your Saves list
Ben Doran
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   11 Mayfield Gardens, Edinburgh EH9 2AX, Scotland (South Side)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #265 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Okay... Just a standard guest house.. Breakfast basic but clean. Room basic and bit noisy with open window but ok I guess..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Overall not 4 star.. And location is 25
Min walk min to centre... Ok place but for the price I think I'd look around if I ever returned

Breakfast was very basic, but ok however I was expecting a full English or choice of eggs.. Only left out scrambled.....

Over all it's a basic guest house.. Does the job but ain't anything special

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    40
    30
    17
    19
See reviews for
12
68
10
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bridgwater
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This 'guest house' is ideally situated. Far enough away from the city centre to be quieter but near enough that you could walk if you wanted to, although there are numerous buses at all times passing the door.
There is limited parking but when we knew we were taking the car the next day we informed the staff & they assured us that they would have the keys to the car blocking ours so no problem.
Our room was a decent size with a large comfortable bed & ensuite shower room. All very clean & tidy. Breakfast was a typical buffet style, nothing special but edible.
The staff were very pleasent & polite. We enjoyed our stay although they should stop calling themselves a hotel, this is a guest house.

Room Tip: Room 11 has the ensuite but is at the very top of the house & there is no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benalla, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Access to off-street parking. Convenient access to city centre and public transport. Friendly staff who took pride in good quality service. The room was clean and well appointed, but maybe a little small. Good choice of breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had a comfortable stay here, the ensuite shower room was clean and very cosy! Parking was on the road, there are only a couple of spaces in front of the hotel but as it was the weekend we could park on the main road. Breakfast was good and the staff very friendly. A good BandB for an overnight in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed here on 29th September 2012. I had booked this thinking I was booking and paying for a 4 start hotel as it is advertised as such. I had been pleasantly surprised with a full £100 discount on booking so only paid £125 for the night and was looking forward to a bit of 4 start luxury.

We had been assured of a courtyard/city view, king sized bed and full en suite facilities.

On arrival we drove straight past the place as we were looking for a hotel. This place is a B&B. On parking in the tiny car park and entering, the undeservedly snooty landlady took my bank card and disappeared into a back room with it saying she was going to make a copy. I wasn't keen on this and told her I would settle the bill then and there but she insisted on taking my card out of my sight for several minutes. I will be keeping a very close eye on my account for the next few weeks..

We were then taken to our "room with a view". It was in the basement. There was only one window which was below ground level and showed only the basement steps. The king sized bed was a double, The furniture was cheap, the 12 inch TV didn't work, the whole place was in need of a duster, the bathroom was tiny and poorly maintained. The shower was so small you could hardly pick up the pump activated cheap shower gel from the floor (there were no shelves) the bed was quite amazingly uncomfortable and the duvet was the size of a postage stamp.

The next day we were treated to a foul breakfast of cheap bacon, cheap sausage, vile and soggy black pudding and some ancient scrambled eggs which resembled anthracite.

In no sphere of reality is this place worth £125 a night let alone the "full price" of £225 nor is it even a 4 star B&B let alone a hotel!!

I would never recommend this place and feel like I have been robbed of my money by some pretty shoddy false advertising. Avoid. Avoid. Avoid.

Room Tip: How to choose a good room? Book somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

We arrive mid afternoon, parked the car in the tiny car park at the front of the hotel. Booking in was simple and the staff were very friendly and went through the check in process very quickly and with the minimum of fuss. On arrival I could not help but notice the music that was playing. We were shown to our room by a member of the staff and again this was simple and straight to the point. The room was pleasant enough and clean, we were lucky that we had booked an executive room which meant we had an on suit which was a bit dated but functional, apart from the wc toilet which took several flushes if you catch my drift... The breakfast was buffet style laid out in the corner of the dinning room, the selection was basic, scrambled egg, sausage, bacon, beans etc with a choice of grape fruit or prunes with yogurt coffee and toast. The staff were friendly and attentive.
I have just give this review a average rating, it would have been higher but for the the Eurovision type music blasting out from the private area. Not to everyone's taste I'm afraid once was enough.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

When we arrived we parked the car in front of the Ben Dornan Guest House. There were 2 other cars already parked but when we went out later the three cars were blocked in by three more cards parking directly behind them. There is no way Guest House would know whose car belonged to who so just as well we did not need to move the car in a hurry. The only good point I can say about the Ben Dornan was the room was clean. It is badly in need of a refurbishment as the rooms are dated and the stair carpet badly worn. When we arrived, the girl did not make us feel very welcome,she just asked our name and then said "Credit Card". My partner handed her his card even though we had pre-paid through Booking.com. She then went through to another room and when my partner went to see what she was doing he saw her logging the card details into a book. We were really concered about this that anyone could look at the book and see people's credit card details. My partner has sine cancelled that card. We went down to breakfast in the morning well within the breakfast time but all the hot dishes were empty apart from overcooked hard bacon which I couldn't even cut with a knife and a small amount of pale tasteless scrambled egg, Both the bacon and egg were luke warm so after a few moments on my plate became stone cold. We were not offered brown toast but just given white. Both the woman and man who could possibly have been the owners, did check the dishes and saw they were empty but they were never replenished. We paid £113 for the room which was not cheap and to experience a substandard breakfast was extremely disappointing. I wish I had read the previous reviews that this is Guest House should not be advertised as a 4* establishment but more 2*. I hope the owners read these reviews and take the comments onboard.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ben Doran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben Doran

Address: 11 Mayfield Gardens, Edinburgh EH9 2AX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > South Side
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #265 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ben Doran 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ben Doran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ben Doran Hotel Edinburgh
Ben Doran Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ben Doran, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.