We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apex City Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Apex City Hotel to your Saves list
Apex City Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   61 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2HJ, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great deal:Save up to 30%
Ranked #45 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

This was my first visit to Edinburgh and I had no idea about where to stay and after looking at so many reviews decided on the Apex City. It was the right choice as we were right in the middle of the The location is really good as its right in the middle of the Old City. The hotel is comfortable but as the weather was warm the room was a bit stuffy and the corridors and common parts should have air conditioning as it was really hot and airless. The restaurant was good and they staff very accommodating.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Joyce

Thank you for your review of the hotel. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, found my staff to be helpful and the location of the hotel to be perfect for visiting all the great sights Edinburgh has to offer.

I do appreciate you taking the time to leave feedback.

Kind regards

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    584
    140
    49
    11
See reviews for
135
667
47
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haywards Heath
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights, and in most respects were pleased with what it had to offer. Breakfast was good, and dinner was very good value although the dining room does rather lack character. The staff were friendly and helpful.
However, the rooms were very uncomfortably warm, there is no air conditioning, and the windows only open slightly - and with them open it was very noisy throughout the night. Whilst the weather was warmish, it was by no means hot, so this really is a problem area. Fans are provided in the rooms, but they are a poor substitute for air conditioning.
In summary, a nice hotel - in the winter.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Howard

I was sorry to read that you found your bedroom too hot during your stay with us. As you quite correctly mentioned air-conditioning would be very welcome during the summer and is certainly something we are considering installing in the future. I am glad however that you enjoyed all other aspects of your stay with us and hope you will still return the next time you visit Edinburgh.

Kind regards

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We chose the apex because it's "in the shadow of the castle" which it is, unfortunately our room did not have a view, except the car park.

However the location is great, you can walk up to the Royal Mile and the castle, we walked over 30km in the 3 days we stayed in Edinburgh!

The pricing is good and the staff are fantastic, very helpful and if you book tours through the hotel there are up to 20% discounts.

The only problems we thought the hotel had were that the rooms are very hot in the evening, there is a small fan in the room, but it's not very powerful. The water pressure in the shower is terrible and the pillows far too soft. The biggest issue for me is there is access to a pool and gym in their sister hotel 100m away, which is fine and access was very simple, the gym was just a let down. 2 treadmills, a rowing machine an elliptical, a bike and a really difficult to use weights machine without instructions, incredibly small space and no free weights, but that's just me, I'm sure it would be fine for others. You don't need cardio machines in Edinburgh with all the hills! I didn't try the pool.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am glad you found our location perfect for visiting all the great attractions Edinburgh has to offer. I am sorry you did not get a room with a view of the Castle. If you stay with us again in the future please let us know your preference and we will do our very best to accommodate. I have also noted your comments regarding the gym at our sister hotel and will make a point of passing your feedback to the General Manager so he can review their offering.

I do appreciate you taking the time to post a review and hope you will return in the future.

Kind regards

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We got our room but I immediately noticed a large hunk of hair wrapped up in the drain, Gross! In addition to the hair there was stain on the curtains and a hole in the carpet between the beds. We went to front desk to complain. The front desk decided to give us a new room but that room was still occupied. Needless to say I didn't enjoy walking in on someone and getting yelled at. We went back downstairs again (having to take the stairs because you could hardly fit two people in the elevators) and were assigned another room. We walking in and the bedding configuration was wrong. Fortunately we were going out and maid service was able to switch the bedding while we were out. Our last room was the nicest and looked as if it were one of the more recent renovated rooms. Curtains were still dirty but it was already sixth trip on the stairs and figured it was the best available.

When looking at the photos online, the actual rooms are more run down/tired looking. The photos also make the rooms look more spacious. If you stay spend the money to upgrade your room.

Breakfast service was okay. Not a large selection and a very narrow room. Narrow room means when it is busy you are constantly bumping into people.

The good things I can say is that there is a great view of Edinburgh Castle from the lobby areas. The location was perfect. Easy walking to the Royal Mile and beyond.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Sarah

Thank you for leaving feedback following your stay with us in May. Your review is very concerning to me and I would like to establish which room you stayed in as I am unaware of a room with a hole in the carpet between the beds. I am also disappointed that you had other issues during your stay and would appreciate the opportunity to respond to these issues to your satisfaction. If you have a spare moment please drop me an e-mail advising which room you stayed in and I will get in touch.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

We found our stay here comfortable although hot overnight with no air conditioning and very slim window opening. I felt the breakfast offer was basic & the scrambled eggs watery & not tasty.
The room was large & bathroom well designed with separate shower that we loved ( no soap holder though).
We would stay again but breakfast round the corner at Hula

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I was pleased to read that you found your room comfortable and “would stay here again". I have, however, noted your comment regarding breakfast and am sorry that you were a little disappointed with the quality of the scrambled eggs. From your review I am unsure if you let your waiter know as it is our policy to immediately arrange a replacement as we are always keen for guests to enjoy the food we serve. Hopefully if you stay with us again you will give breakfast in the hotel another try.

Kind regards

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haywards heath
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Overall we considered this a good hotel and enjoyed our stay. All the staff were good and the location is perfect. The food at both breakfast and dinner was good, well served and value for money. The wifi was free and fast.
Rooms are a good size clean and well maintained.
The big drawback is that there is no air conditioning, and we spent two very hot restless nights as a result. The windows open only a very small amount.
In conclusion we highly recommend this hotel for a stay outside the summer months.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear David

Thank you for posting a positive review of the hotel following your recent stay with us. I am glad you found our location, my staff and the food in our restaurant to be to a good standard. My apologies however that you found the room too hot. Unfortunately we do not have air-conditioning and this can, on particularly humid days, mean the rooms can get quite warm. Thankfully Edinburgh is not known for its great weather and the heat only becomes an issue on certain days during the year. I am sorry you were too hot on this occasion.

I do appreciate you leaving a review and hope you will return again soon.

Kind regards

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

My colleague and I stayed here for 6 nights during a business trip, having stayed here previously in 2007. I can highly recommend the hotel - plenty of places to eat close by, and close to Princes Street for shoppers.
Superior double room very clean and comfortable, although there is no air con (only heating) and the room was very warm (unexpectedly mild weather for Edinburgh in June).
Restaurant deals excellent value for money - two course evening meal from set menu £14.95.
Staff extremely helpful and courteous, especially Vinnie, Aaron and Karolina.
Will be back.....

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Kathryn

It was very nice of you to leave such positive feedback following your recent stay, and to take the time to single out 3-members of my team that you felt offered particularly high levels of service. I will make a point of passing your praise on personally as I know they will all be pleased by your comments.

Thank you again for posting a review and I am glad that you "will be back".

Kind regards

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apex City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex City Hotel

Address: 61 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2HJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#31 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Edinburgh’s Old Town, this contemporary hotel has 119 stylish rooms. Designed for comfort, rooms include HD widescreen LCD TV, large desk, free Wi-Fi and local calls, ground coffee and selected teas, luxury toiletries, iron and ironing board. Facilities include Agua Bar and Restaurant, event space for up to 80 delegates, use of leisure facilities a few doors away at Apex International including pool, tropicarium and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Apex City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex City Edinburgh
Hotel Apex City
Apex City Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apex City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.