We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, shame about the noisy teenagers and families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile to your Saves list
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Hunter Square | Off Royal Mile, Edinburgh EH1 1QW, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
ADVANCE SAVER - 15% OFF
Ranked #91 of 145 Hotels in Edinburgh
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent location, shame about the noisy teenagers and families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The location of the hotel is fantastic, situation in Old Town it is great for tourists to get around the main attractions as well as close to many places to eat.

The room was spotless! I have never been in a hotel with a bathroom as clean as the Ibis in Edinburgh.

Only down side to the hotel is that there seemed to be a school trip at the time of our stay so until 11.30pm doors were constantly banging and teenagers were running up and down the hall, this then started again from about 6.30am in the morning.

If you drink at the hotel bar, as we did a couple of times prior to going out to eat, the drinks are limited with no bitter or ale on tap, but service is good.

We'd definitely stay again because of the excellent location and the amazing cleaning staff at the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerIbis, General Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and will look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. We have taken note of your comments and also apologise that we were not able to meet all your expectations on this occasion.
Kind regards
Joanne Green
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    545
    205
    45
    25
See reviews for
162
499
98
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The Ibis in Edinburgh is slightly upmarket of a Travelodge and about par with a Premier Inn. The hotel, and rooms, was warm, clean and modern and the staff were very efficient and friendly. The rooms are rather smaller than a Premier Inn but they do have a flat screen TV with access to movies and the internet, albeit for a fee. The main attraction of this hotel is its location. It is situated slap bang in the middle of the Royal Mile in Edinburgh's historic old town. Brilliant. Large, very comfy beds and biscuit provided with your tea and coffee in the room. For a short stay in Edinburgh on a budget you couldn't do much better.

Room Tip: Try for a room away from the front as it will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerIbis, General Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay here with us at Ibis Edinburgh and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Joanne Green
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed there for 3 nights on a mini-holiday trip. Although it was very cold in Edinburgh the city is so beautiful and an amazing atmosphere! The hotel has the best location we could ask for! Just off the Royal Mile, with great cafes, restaurants, attractions and monuments "next door"! The hotel itself is very modern and clean, the room nice and warm and a comfy bed! The staff is absolutely friendly and welcoming! The breakfast was very good too. I would definitely recommend it and I'll stay there again next time in Edinburgh!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerIbis, General Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Nicole,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your kind comments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Joanne Green
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights on a business trip. It was excellent, exceeded my expectations for a budget hotel. Spotlessly clean, comfy bed, friendly staff etc. Breakfast was good too.
I would definitely recommend!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerIbis, General Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Kind regards,
Joanne Green
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Going to Edinburgh means pleasure. Beautiful city and a fantastic atmosphere. Although it was very cold, the trip was fantastic. And part of that was the Ibis-hotel in the centre of the city. Direct to the Royal mile. The room was clean, the bathroom and the shower were absolute good, the bed was great and the breakfast was worth every penny. And most of all, a very kindly staff. It was a pleasure staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerIbis, General Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind review about your recent stay here with us at Ibis Edinburgh. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Kind regards,
Joanne Green
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The hotel is only a ten minute walk from Waverley Station and is just off the Royal Mile heading up to the castle. Be warned though it is uphill ALL the way. It is in a great location really and would be perfect especially for the festival. Plenty of bars and shops all near and Grassmarket is maybe just a ten minute walk away too. The hotel itself is ok too. Bar area not great though. Rooms - bare necessities but clean and comfortable enough. They are building another Ibis very nearby so I imagine this one is on the way out. Could perhaps be better as a boutique hotel and there is definite potential for improvement. I would say if you get a reasonable budget price the go for it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerIbis, General Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Ibis Edinburgh. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments regarding the bar area. I do hope we will be able to welcome you back in the future and can confirm this Hotel will remain.
Kind regards,
Joanne Green
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The hotel is located just 6 minutes walk from waverly station. But I was a bit disappointed with the room. The room was quite small and the heater was very disappointing. I was expecting Ibis to have a air conditioner of some sort.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerIbis, General Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback regarding your recent stay here at Ibis Edinburgh. I am really sorry to hear that your stay was not up to expectations.
Our rooms are all fitted with air cooling not air conditioning.
I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards
Joanne Green
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile

Address: 6 Hunter Square | Off Royal Mile, Edinburgh EH1 1QW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile hotel is located in the old town,just off the Royal Mile, Princess Street and its numerous restaurants are all within walking distance. 5 min from Waverley railway station and 12 km from the airport, the hotel has 99 rooms, including 6 adapted for disabled guests. It has a bar serving snacks 24/24 and Wifi Internet access for guests on a business trip. Public parking is 10 min on foot from the hotel, with reductions for clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Accor Edinburgh Centre
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.