We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Character Hotel Well Situated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dunstane House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Dunstane House Hotel to your Saves list
Dunstane House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 West Coates | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH12 5JQ, Scotland (West End)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #11 of 145 Hotels in Edinburgh
Stabler12
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A Character Hotel Well Situated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We selected Dunstane House from reviews on Trip Advisor, and we were not disappointed. We wanted somewhere within walking distance of the City, and this was just under a mile out. It was an easy walk in, and the bust stop was right outside the hotel (literally).

It really was a character hotel, in a lovely old stone building. Not a good pick if you have trouble with stairs or are disabled (there was no lift), but otherwise good. The rooms were very individual (though could have used a touch up in places) and quite spacious compared to other hotels I have stayed at. It was always clean, and the staff were really helpful at all times during our visit.

The food in the restaurant (for dinner & breakfast) was good quality, and we enjoyed eating here.

There is just about enough parking between this and the sister hotel over the road, and we managed to find a space at all times during our stay.

The price was reasonable given the quality of the hotel, and I would not hesitate to stay here again

Room Tip: All the rooms are good here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DunstaneManager, Manager at Dunstane House Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Hello

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on here for other future guests! Just a follow up from a few of your points, we are undergoing another refurbishment at the moment so 6 more of our bedrooms are being re-done. That is 9 rooms now in 12 months so we are going at a good rate! Hopefully you will find the rooms fresher next time you visit!

With regards to lift, we cannot put one in unfortuntely due to building regulations but we are aware of the luggage problem and we always offer help with bags on arrival and departure, hopefully avoiding the lift issue!

I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay, please feel free to contact me directly should you wish to stay again and I can organise you a new room to try!

Thanks

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    117
    22
    11
    11
See reviews for
45
249
16
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We had a super stay in this hotel. From the minute we went in we were made to feel very welcome. The staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were very clean with lovely molton brown toiletries in the bathroom. We had a large double delux room that was very spacious and beautifully furnished. The hotel has a modern theme throughout but still has the wonderful original features such as beautiful cornicing and fireplaces. The food was great. We also particularly liked the Orcadian theme with the lovely old pictures on the wall and produce. We will definately be back!

Room Tip: Spash out and go for a double delux room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DunstaneManager, Manager at Dunstane House Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Hi there

Thank you for your lovely comments on your stay and I see you are booked in again with us very soon! That is excellent news. Hope you enjoy your next stay as much.

Best Wishes

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We booked the Dunstane House Hotel for a night in Edinburgh on a driving tour of Scotland. The staff could not have been more helpful or pleasant. We received a complimentary upgrade to a spacious room with a four poster canopy bed. Loved the Molton Brown toiletries in the bathroom. We didn't eat at the restaurant, but we did have whiskies at the bar, and the barman was quite knowledgeable! The hotel is located close to the city center with a bus stop right outside the door. There is also free parking, which was a huge plus for us. We will definitely book here on our next trip to Scotland!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DunstaneManager, Manager at Dunstane House Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Hi there

Thanks so much for leaving your comments here for other readers. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I really hope you think of us again on your next trip to Scotland! Perhaps you can sample the restaurant next time. Just get in touch with us directly for our latest deals and special offers.

Thanks again

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights whilst my husband was on business. I won't go into huge detail but the location was good, about a 15 min. walk to Princes St. The service was excellent, Our room was extremely comfortable (room 20) downstairs. Very very clean and the room was warm, freshly decorated with a good size bathroom. We ate both nights in the hotel and enjoyed our meals very much. If I had any complaint it would be that the bar area wasn't big enough to linger in after the meal. Great breakfast. We would stay again if in Edinburgh and we are both very difficult to please and rarely stay in the same place twice. Would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DunstaneManager, Manager at Dunstane House Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments about the hotel, I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Apologies you didnt find anywhere to sit after dinner in the bar. We recently had a refurbishment and converted a couple of our front rooms into deluxe rooms (one of which you stayed in!) as they just sat empty for 99% of the year.

We thought this was a much better way to get use out of the building so people can see its lovely features.

Hope this explains matters for you

Thanks again and hope to see you soon

Samantha Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at this lovely property. First class, great breakfast, extremely comfortable quarters. The room was very cold and we could not get it warmed up, but other than that, everything was great. The location was probably a 15 minute walk to the "action", which was just fine with us as it gave us some good exercise every day and we enjoyed the walk. Free parking was a bonus!

Room Tip: We chose the upgraded King room and did not regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downham Market, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I chose this hotel due to the reviews on Tripadvisor and I was not disappointed. We were a group of 6 adults and we stayed three nights. The rooms were wonderful - although not sure about the mirror above the bed in our room! The staff could not have been more helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Booking taxis, recommending an excellent Indian restaurant, telling us the best places to visit. We ate in the restaurant on the first night and it was fantastic. Lovely local food. The only improvements would be for a larger bar area for guests to sit in during the evening and in the morning the restaurant was a little cold. But neither of these things would put me off booking again. Such a great location, airport bus stops right outside the hotel as do all the buses into the city centre - just remember to have the exact money as the drivers do not give change.

Room Tip: We had the three large delux rooms. Booked direct with the hotel for a much better deal. Our room wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DunstaneManager, Manager at Dunstane House Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Hello

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and I hope your friends didnt get the 'best' room this time by accident like they always do! I hope all your rooms were to the same standard for you!

I have turned the heating up in the restuarnt for you for next time!

Thanks

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This hotel is a gem. The old external style has been well renovated inside but still keeps the original feel. The breakfast is fantastic, freshly made and excellent quality. The ladies at front desk are most helpful.

The only let down is the distance from the Royal Mile 30 minute walk, however if you want peace and quiet and the nicer restaurants in town, the area is convenient.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DunstaneManager, Manager at Dunstane House Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you very much for your lovely comments. We do try and Dunstane to be as helpful as possible and while unfortunately we cannot change our location we can certainly do our best to serve and guide you as best we can!

Hope to welcome you again soon!

Thanks

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dunstane House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunstane House Hotel

Address: 4 West Coates | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH12 5JQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunstane House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunstane House dates all the way back to 1852 to a design of William Playfair, one of Edinburgh's most famous architects. Now a boutique hotel privately-owned and managed by Derek and Shirley Mowat, each of the sixteen bedrooms offers a fresh take on country house charm. You can look forward to restful nights in four-poster beds with subtle accents of current style. Or stretch out king-size and enjoy all the period details and in-room features. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dunstane House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunstane Hotel Edinburgh
Dunstane House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunstane House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.