We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Parliament House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Parliament House Hotel to your Saves list
Parliament House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Calton Hill, Edinburgh EH1 3BJ, Scotland (Broughton & Calton)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great location and great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

A lovely friendly hotel. Reception staff very welcoming and helpful. Rooms clean and comfortable although quite hot. A great location for a weekend in Edinburgh. Breakfast very tasty and plenty of choice

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    333
    100
    20
    11
See reviews for
69
334
40
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

While this hotel was a lovely hotel I don't think it is up to the £250 per night room tarif advertised at reception. The good things- location- food and quirkiness of building. Bistro staff were especially welcoming and congrats to the chef who made the best homemade burger I've ever tasted!!! Breakfast was also very tasty! The bed was big and clean and comfy but the room was incredibly wArm which I found was coming from the mini fridge. Opened the windows but had to wedge something in to keep it open. Also had I paid the full price I would've expected some shortbread or biscuits along with our tea/coffee facilities. Lovely lobby which you can enjoy a drink but no bar as such. All in all a good nights stay for what we paid but if the hotel do continue to charge full rate it needs little touches like shortbread in rooms, a proper bar and more on site facilities.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Had a weekend break in Edinburgh. The location of this hotel was ideal for touring the City as it was close to Waverley Station, the tour buses and city tourist spots. The bedroom was clean comfortable and quiet. Good sized bathroom with good range of toiletries however the bath towels could be bigger.

Breakfast was good with a wide selection of food. I tried the haggis for breakfast !!!. Very nice coffee.

Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Turn right out of the hotel to avoid the very steep hill. Ask for a quiet room, no veiw but no traf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

GOOD
Location is great -- very close to Royal Mile & Princess Street -- on a cobbled street with steep climb from left hand side

Very cosy wee hotel - friendly but not overly excited staff. Interesting that they could williingly serve alchol at 1:30 am but couldn't get me a coffee :)

I would definetly stay here again

NOT SO GOOD
Breakfast at £12.50 per person is expensive -- was not included in my roo rate -- yet other couples i met ad it included at extrta £7.50 ----------- i offered £7.50 for each of our party but was refused --------- Go out there are some wonderful places to eat

dont let this put you off -- its a wonderful, clean, cosy wee hotel

Room Tip: we stayed in room on 4th floor (402) -- wonderful view -- lovely quiet room ------------ but light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wehl
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Arrived on the Monday and left on the Thursday. The hotel is very centrally located, it is easy to get to all the major attractions from here. It is also close to Waverly Station, if you wish to arrive by train. Slight downside was that is on a very steep street, which makes for a difficult climb if you are coming back from a long day of sightseeing. The hotel can however be approached from the top side quite easily to remedy that problem, it is best to ask for a map at reception (which was readily given) and check your access routes. The staff were friendly and helpful. Especially the friendly staff at the bistro stood out, going out of their way to help you. You can order the continental breakfast or the full Scottish breakfast (so you can order things off the menu). Orders arrive quickly and toast is added if needed. The room was pretty large with classic decoration. Housekeeping was done swiftly, although there were some minor points (a tap was left running, since the water does not go away unless helped it left quite a bit of water in the basin by the end of the day when I came back from sightseeing). The elevator looks pretty outdated, so I used the stairs to the second floor. Other rooms can be a bit far through various corridors, so that could be a bit difficult, if you are carrying a lot of luggage. Overall it is a good hotel with a friendly staff. It is well recommended for a stay in Edinburgh.

Room Tip: Some rooms are further away from the elevator, it is best to check where you are going to be, if tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Spent one night here at the end of September on business.

This hotel is tucked away in a cobbled lane but very close to the Royal Mile.

The best bit of my stay here was the divine breakfast, it was cooked to order and delicious. The scrambled eggs were the best I'd ever had.

I asked for a double on check in but I had been assigned a twin and there was no chance of this being changed.

I jumped out of my skin when walking into the room as there was a Greyfriars Bobby toy dog sat on the chair and for a split second I thought it was real!

The room was clean and a reasonable size, there'd been a recent refurbishment.

On returning from dinner we opted for a nightcap. This was provided by waiter service and the bar was cleverly tucked away in a corner of the not large reception area. Drinks were reasonably priced.

Staff were polite and helpful. I would return here, it was reasonably priced at £85 per night inc breakfast. A pleasant change from the usual chain hotels.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed here on our wedding night 22nd February. I had changed by this point and the staff i'm sure had no idea so we slipped in quietly after a busy and tiring day and night. It was cold in February but the room was lovely and warm and welcoming. Staff were friendly and though our stay was short, it was just what we needed to chill and wind down. Also only a 5min walk to the train station.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Parliament House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parliament House Hotel

Address: 15 Calton Hill, Edinburgh EH1 3BJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#50 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#52 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Parliament House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian town house in city center; guest rooms have been tastefully furnished in keeping with the character of the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Parliament House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parliament Hotel Edinburgh
Parliament House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parliament House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.