We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apex Haymarket Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Apex Haymarket Hotel to your Saves list
Apex Haymarket Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   90 Haymarket Terrace, Edinburgh EH12 5LQ, Scotland (Formerly Apex European Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Pay Advance - Get 15% OFF
Ranked #61 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great value and location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Could not fault the hotel or staff. Excellent value for money, comfortable quiet room with a nice sized bed. Clean and modern. On-site parking also a bonus. Good location for city centre, about 10min walk to Princes' Street. Would definitely stay again next time we are in Edinburgh.

We were attending a wedding at lunch time and I had previously emailed the hotel to ask if an early check in was possible. They promptly replied back saying they would do what they could to have the room ready.

We arrived early (before 12pm) and after being warmly greeted by the receptionist were told that our room was ready. This allowed us to change and prepare for the wedding. The receptionist also ordered a taxi for us allowing us to promptly depart.

If you could pass on our thanks to all staff at Apex European for making it a pleasant and easy stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    231
    81
    40
    16
See reviews for
44
242
43
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for an anniversary trip to Edinburgh in December and were extremely pleased with it. We paid £50 a night for this hotel and got a decent sized room, a lovely bathroom and a huge TV! The bed was huge and there was still plenty of space to move around the room and loads of storage so you weren't tripping over suitcases all the time (which can happen in a lot of hotels!)

The hotel was fairly warm however if you left the window open during the day it was ok at night. The room was lovely and clean and cleaned every morning as well which is always nice!

It took about 15 minutes to walk to Princes Street and didn't take long to get to the castle and old town at all- We got a Taxi to George Street one evening and it only cost £6 so really not far! Great location in that respect especially for the price.

One thing I would be careful of is the Car Park- it only has about 8 spaces in it, we were lucky enough to get a space but I would not rely on this as a definite place to park- there is a travel lodge up the road though that charges £7 for 24 hours which is a bargain!

Also do not eat in the restaurant- we had a 50% off voucher which is the only reason we ate there but the food was below average and very over priced- I wasn't happy with paying for it and we received a 50% discount!!

Overall a great hotel, good location and excellent value! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed at the Apex in Edinburgh on the weekend of 8th Dec 2012, Read tripadvisor reviews beforehand. Yes the room was hot but we made sure the window was open, no noise etc. The room was very clean and the bed was king size. But I have to say that the staff were excellent and the breakfast was one of the best I have had especially in a city. Nothing was too much trouble. For a 3 star hotel this has 4 star service. Booked early you get a very good rate and we even got £10 vouchers per couple to spend in the bar. Excellent weekend.

Room Tip: All room are the same there is no upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Last Christmas we stayed at the Apex, Waterloo Place which is an excellent, though expensive hotel. When I got an offer of a room at this hotel for £59 I decided to try it. The rooms were nice and well appointed and ours were very clean. Location is OK being near to Haymarket station. The staff were very helpful and we had a nice stay. I'll probably go back to Waterloo Place next year, but you get what you pay for and it's considerably more expensive.

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We enjoyed our stay. The location was very good. Train station across the street. Nice restaurants and pubs nearby. Helpful staff who recommended the restaurants. Computer and printer in lobby and staff will help to print out your boarding tickets, etc. Street construction for a new central trolley was not appealing but really did not affect us. We easily walked to the castle and downtown from here. Very clean room, comfortable bed, modern bathroom, nice teas and cookies daily in our room, and the best breakfast we've ever had that came included in the price of our room. We've recommended the Apex to our friends and family.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickyRigby, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Apex European Hotel and providing such valuable feedback following your stay.
I was delighted to see that you had an enjoyable stay with us and have already recommended the hotel to your friends and family.
I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.
Kind Regards
Vicky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Had a fantastic experience here. Location was a little out of the way but a nice hotel with fantastic service. Room was ideal with everything I needed. Restaurant downstairs does great food and provides room service. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort William, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Booked this hotel for a 3 night stay at the end of November / begining of December. It was easy to find after getting off the train at Haymarket, and only about 20 minutes walk from Princes Street. The buses to and from Princes Street run very regularly, only costing £1.40. Easy to get to the zoo as well. We received a £10 voucher for booking directly and used it for a drink in the bar, was a really relaxed bar and very enjoyable.
The rooms are nicely decorated, bathrooms very nice. Cleanliness of the room was fairly good apart from one or two wee cobwebs. Provided with tea facilities, iron and, for a change, a really good hairdrier. Huge TV, and very comfy beds.
Overall I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apex Haymarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Haymarket Hotel

Address: 90 Haymarket Terrace, Edinburgh EH12 5LQ, Scotland (Formerly Apex European Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apex Haymarket Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, friendly hotel situated at the west end of city center; minutes to the main shopping streets and entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Apex Haymarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex European Edinburgh
Hotel Apex European
Apex Haymarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apex Haymarket Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.