We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Edinburgh Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Bruntsfield

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Bruntsfield to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bruntsfield
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   69 - 74 Bruntsfield Place, Edinburgh EH10 4HH, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Driffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Edinburgh Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Stayed on business, really impressed with this hotel. Well located, didn't have a problem with the parking, there was always a space available.

Professional friendly staff, reception process was welcoming and efficient. Room was great and very clean. Breakfast was very good and so were the staff serving it.

The hotel was quiet and peaceful throughout my stay and I had a good nights sleep all week.
It's well situated for easy access into Central Edinburgh, my colleague and I left the car at the hotel and just walked into the city every night. It always seemed to take a big longer to walk back though.

Highly recommended it will always be my first choice when staying in Edingburgh.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garryfield, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bruntsfield, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Bernie P. Thank you for your review following your recent stay. I am pleased you enjoyed your visit and that you found all the staff helpful.We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Edinburgh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    304
    48
    14
    2
See reviews for
139
427
45
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Started a programme of study at the local Napier University and needed accommodation that wasn't too far away but was also in a lively part of Edinburgh as I will be on my own a lot - I felt instantly at ease with a really warm welcome from the reception staff, the room was very comfortable and spacious, great bed and good bathroom and facilities - the Restaurant was lovely and the staff were great when looking for a discreet table for dining alone - food and service was excellent, and to top it off breakfast was lovely with lots of staff serving. Location excellent for all amenities! I am delighted with this hotel and look forward to my subsequent stays!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garryfield, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bruntsfield, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear rhonderro. Thank you for your review following your recent stay. I am pleased you found all aspects of the hotel good and I look forward to welcoming you back at a later date.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

All I can say FANTASTIC!!! There were 14 of us from Bristol for my husbands birthday, the hotel was absolutely spotless, the staff were so helpful. The facilities were very good, breakfast however had a little blip one morning but was sorted. Lounge and bar very pleasant staff yet again very nice. Very good location of hotel close to shops, Edinburgh castle only a short walk away but a bus stop very close if you needed it. Definitely thinking of going back again next year.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the park are light and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garryfield, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bruntsfield, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear tina t
Thank you for your review following your recent stay. I am pleased all 14 of you enjoyed yourselves and that you found staff helpfull. Happy 50th
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Good, pleasant faultless service. Good location. Good breakfast, dinner average but good value. Very pleasant relaxing environment. Outstanding service from Grant the cocktail master in the bar. We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garryfield, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bruntsfield, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Mike and Margaret. Thank you for your review following your recent stay. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. Grant will be pleased with your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Have stayed here before hence the reason for staying again. Booked this hotel as it was only a 5minute taxi journey to the Playhouse Theatre. Went to see The Lion King. I was driving to the hotel and parking is very limited on the actual grounds of the hotel. But as it was after 6.30pm we arrived, parking was free on the opposite side of the road and did not charge on a Sunday. Very easy check in at reception and rooms are well sign posted. We had a Queen sized bed, which was very comfy and felt that you sank in it when you lay in bed! Went to the theatre and had a meal opposite it and hired another taxi back, (£10 to and £10 back…isn). Returning to the hotel at roughly 11.30PM was no bother. Entered the rooms and had a very good nights sleep. Breakfast was lovely although the staff didn't look to happy to be working. Plenty of choice on the continental and cooked breakfast menu. On return to the room we then showered. This is its downfall. The water pressure was poor, the bath looked very tired as the silicon seal around the bathroom was coming away and was poorly, as it looked like a top up. The temperature was fluctuating up and down constantly. This is my only complaint as the previous visit, the bathroom was excellent. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and request a room either at the front or back of the hotel. If you get a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garryfield, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bruntsfield, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear fadders. Thank you for your review following your recent stay. I am pleased overall you enjoyed your stay. I have noted your comments about shower pressure and have instructed our maintainence engineer to check boiler and hot water pressure on a regular basis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed a four night stay here. At check in we were greeted very warmly and efficiently and immediately given useful info` about getting around,directions, buses etc.An excellent start.
Our room was on the first floor overlooking the park and was very nice; spacious, light, airy and with very adequate storage facilities. (the net curtain could do with being attended to as it did not cover the window....a minor point that caused us no problem).
En-suite was light, warm and very user friendly. Again a very minor "niggle" was the lack of power from the shower and it being at a fixed height made it difficult not to wet your hair when showering.
Toiletries were supplied daily.
The bed was extremely comfortable and everything was spotlessly clean.
Even with the window open at night we were not disturbed by noise and the hotel seemed to be well sound-proofed.
Breakfast ; excellent choice and service and cooked items cooked freshly to order. Lovely coffee from the machine too! A special mention should be made of Jean/Joan? the breakfast waitress.....she was a lovely lady who greeted us so cheerfully each morning and always wished us an enjoyable day.....thank you for serving us so well.
The shortbread biscuits in a jar at reception were delicious and rounded off each day nicely, with tea/coffee in our room!
Having parking at the hotel was a real bonus. Buses stop right outside and are frequent so the car had a good holiday too.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.
We ate at the Bisque Brasserie once and I have reviewed this separately.

Room Tip: Room 114 was at the front overlooking the park and was extremely comfortable, light, spacious etc. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garryfield, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bruntsfield, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear PY M
Thank you for your review following your recent stay. I am pleased you enjoyed your four night stay
and have passed on your kind comments to Jean. I look foward to welcoming you back at a later date.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Bruntsfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Bruntsfield

Address: 69 - 74 Bruntsfield Place, Edinburgh EH10 4HH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#9 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#22 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Bruntsfield 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional Edinburgh townhouse style hotel with contemporary touches overlooking a park near the city centre and all attractions. High quality and tastefully designed individual bedrooms. Relax in the comfortable lounge and enjoy casual gourmet food in Bisque Brasserie. Free parking and Free internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Bruntsfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Bruntsfield Hotel Edinburgh
Best Western Edinburgh
Edinburgh Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bruntsfield Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Bruntsfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.