We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Bruntsfield

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Bruntsfield to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bruntsfield
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   69 - 74 Bruntsfield Place, Edinburgh EH10 4HH, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“lovely surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Booked this hotel as the hotel in Edinburgh we normally use was booked out. What a lovely surprise! The welcome from the front desk staff was lovely. The room had a view of the garden and was very quiet. Breakfast very nice. We enjoyed our stay so much we have booked to return again for New Year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    304
    48
    14
    2
See reviews for
139
427
45
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We were in Edinburgh for 3 nights and had a most comfortable stay at The Bruntsfield Hotel, the room was large and the bed was very comfortable & the shower ran nice hot water.

Breakfast was great and the restaurant served a good meal to us at around 4pm even though we had missed the lunch hour.
The location is nice and quiet, the lively Grassmarket is about 10mins away on foot & the old town about 5mins by bus… with the bus stop almost outside the hotel, so it was quite easy for us to get to the old town.

The best part about this hotel is the meadows just outside on the opposite side.

The Staff at the front desk particularly a lady named Amanda was very helpful & shared some great information about the city tours etc, and all of them, including the housekeeping ladies…. everyone was so hospitable they all made us feel so welcome.

As I mentioned above the hotel has an old world charm about it, something in the lobby reminded me of a manor in the countryside that i might have read about in some book, yet the rooms had all the modern amenities we needed, including a pant pressing machine.
We had a most comfortable stay here and would like to express our thanks to all the staff that made our stay so comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, England
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I stay here regularly for work. The location is great, a short hop into the heart of the city, in a lovely area with shops cafes parks etc.

The hotel itself is lovely, comfortable beds, quiet lovely rooms. But the best thing about this hotel is the wonderful staff. Without fail you are greeted by smiles and the feeling that you're being welcomed home and that nothing is too much trouble. I can heartily recommend this great hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Myself and family stayed during the tattoo, a short walk to town and an experience walking back after midnight after the show. The hotel is clean, well positioned and a great location next to the university. Rooms were clean, good sized and having adjoining rooms was easy to arrange. All of the staff were polite and well informed of the city and breakfast was really good. Definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel. Rooms are clean and spacious. Reception area has nice seating area. Staff very friendly. Excellent breakfast available. Only drawback is the small car park - approx 25 cars. Metered parking on the street but the traffic wardens are vigilant. This was my third stay and I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oegstgeest, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We visited Edinburgh for four days and were very happy to stay in the Best Western Bruntsfield. Situated opposite Bruntsfield Park it has a perfect location. A lovely 20 minutes walk from the Old Town, just outside the busy parts of the city, but still in a very lively neighborhood. The hotel has good facilities - beds are fine, great showers - not to big, but very good for a city hotel. The atmosphere is somewhat anonymous (don't expect a warm welcome or very personal attention), but we found it pleasantly no nonsense. Nothing to complain about. Breakfast is good, staff is nice and helpful. To our opinion: very good value for money and an excellent choice when visiting Edinburgh.

Room Tip: Has connecting rooms for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Bruntsfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Bruntsfield

Address: 69 - 74 Bruntsfield Place, Edinburgh EH10 4HH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#9 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#22 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Bruntsfield 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional Edinburgh townhouse style hotel with contemporary touches overlooking a park near the city centre and all attractions. High quality and tastefully designed individual bedrooms. Relax in the comfortable lounge and enjoy casual gourmet food in Bisque Brasserie. Free parking and Free internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Bruntsfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Bruntsfield Hotel Edinburgh
Best Western Edinburgh
Edinburgh Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bruntsfield Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Bruntsfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.