We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Bruntsfield

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Bruntsfield to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bruntsfield
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   69 - 74 Bruntsfield Place, Edinburgh EH10 4HH, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The staff could not have been more helpful with planning a trip we had to make out of the city and rang around to check the best taxi prices. They were very forgiving when I burnt the toast, even when there was a sign that clearly warned not to put that kind of bread in the toaster - DOH!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    305
    48
    14
    2
See reviews for
139
429
45
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We spent just one night at Best Western Bruntsfield in early June 2013 during a weekend trip to Edinburgh and were delighted with our choice. Our first impression was how friendly and helpful the reception staff were. Our room was was spacious with a very comfortable bed and although west-facing, a side-window at the right gave us a view north to the River Forth. The bathroom was large and well appointed. Breakfast was good. The hotel is a grand traditional Edinburgh building that has been cleverly renovated to retain its Edwardian charm but with all the contemporary conveniences. If you enjoy walking round the city, it is ideal. Set back from the main road and looks out over Bruntsfield Links, which connect with The Meadows and we enjoyed a pleasant walk into central Edinburgh via the University area. Locally, there are lots of interesting shops and an excellent choice of cafes and restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klamath Falls Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We showed up in the lobby and we met Ms. Personality. Aga was informative about Edinburgh and even taught us yanks how to say it correctly. Chris the day person was from the same cut of cloth and furthered our exploring of Roslyn Chapel (not Roswell which is in AZ) and Edinburgh. The included breakfast was traditional if you wanted....I had the traditional and Berncie had the more U.S. as she just couldn't get her mind wrapped around haggis, blood sasuage and other.. I had seconds. In the bar for night caps we met fun servers and the patrons were like your best friends at the end of the conversation. If I had one complaint it was the up and down way to find your room but that also added to the charm knowing you were in an old building that maintained its character.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in the Edinburgh Bruntsfield Best Western Plus the first week of June, 2013. My dear wife and I last stayed in the hotel almost ten years ago. Of that visit we have pleasant memories, and of this latest visit we were impressed as well with the accommodations, the staff, the restaurant, and other amenities. The Bruntsfield staff members who served us were helpful, friendly, and professional.

Our room, 102, was spacious, clean, and comfortable. The wi-fi is dependable and relatively fast. The restaurant is a plus, and serves a memorable full Scottish breakfast.

The hotel is across the street from the historic Edinburgh Meadows park and golf courses. It is within a half block of Lothian Bus stops, and the hotel is within walking distance of Princess Street and the Royal Mile--although the walks are long ones, perhaps 20 to 30 minutes or so.

The Brunsfield is, of course, a bit more expensive than many bed and breakfast establishments. We’ve had good experiences too with an Edinburgh B&B, but for the difference in costs, the increased services provided by the Bruntsfield make it a competitive option. For some travelers, the increased services might be a consideration as one makes a decision about lodging during a visit to one of Europe’s most beautiful cities.

Room Tip: Room 102 is spacious, bright, and overlooks Edinburgh's historic Meadows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Just spent 2 nights in the Bruntsfield Hotel and it was wonderful. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Could not fault the dinner and breakfast. Nice walk down town only approx 15 mins. Best of all was the bed! Most comfortable bed we have ever slept in. Loved the large room, bathroom and bath. Would definately come back. We loved Edinburgh.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, England
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I work in Edinburgh regularly and always choose to stay at The Bruntsfield.

It's not the closest hotel to my office but it's certainly the best!

The staff are what make this hotel special. I am always welcomed warmly without fail and was even when they didn't know me as a regular guest. Reception staff do their upmost to make my stay 'just right'. Any small issue I have had has been sorted out with a smile, efficiency and great care. The guys in the restaurant are wonderful and always make breakfast a pleasure which is not always the case when travelling as a solo female. Every member of staff you pass smiles and wishes you a good day.

The hotel itself is full of character, not a soulless, bland new build. Location is great and as well as a nice in house restaurant there are an array of great bars and restaurants with a couple of minutes walk (Montpeliers being my favourite!). It's a great neighbourhood with great shops, coffee shops and a park opposite.It costs next to nothing to get a cab into the City Centre but I believe its also on a main bus route.

The rooms are comfortable and well equipped. Reservations always book me into one of my two favourites and I always get a great nights sleep. They are spotless and have everything you need - tea/coffee/shortbread, tv with lots of channels, comfy bed. Room service is great - anything off the main menu until 9 and all at the same cost - no overpriced, small room service menu here. Breakfast here is great - huge choice and all cooked fresh to order.

Yes the car park is small but many city centre hotels don't have any and I have never had a problem getting parked. You can also park free on the road after 6.30pm until the following morning.

I'm a little surprised to see some reviews complaining about paying £85-90 a night. I think it's great value for money, especially in a capital city. I love staying here and choose to stay generally 3-4 nights a month.

Great hotel made greater by a great staff!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Had a free night here courtesy of Best Western group but would have paid. Nice building and lovely area. Me and partner had a nice walk into town that night and were closer than we thought. The staff were really friendly and room was spacious and clean.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Bruntsfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Bruntsfield

Address: 69 - 74 Bruntsfield Place, Edinburgh EH10 4HH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#9 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#22 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Bruntsfield 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional Edinburgh townhouse style hotel with contemporary touches overlooking a park near the city centre and all attractions. High quality and tastefully designed individual bedrooms. Relax in the comfortable lounge and enjoy casual gourmet food in Bisque Brasserie. Free parking and Free internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Bruntsfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Bruntsfield Hotel Edinburgh
Best Western Edinburgh
Edinburgh Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bruntsfield Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Bruntsfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.