We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good night sleep” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Bruntsfield

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Bruntsfield to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bruntsfield
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   69 - 74 Bruntsfield Place, Edinburgh EH10 4HH, Scotland (West End)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #18 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Horsham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good night sleep”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Over the last few years I have stayed in several hotels in Edinburgh in relation to Business Trips, and the Best Western at Brunstfield Place has always provided me with a good sized, and clean room and offers an excellent cooked breakfast in the morning. And for those who like a good night’s sleep the beds and pillows are very comfortable.
Definitely recommend as a good place to stay

Room Tip: The rooms higher up tend to be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell_Imrie, Managing Director at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bruntsfield, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear NickandLindsey

Thank you for your positive review following your recent stay with us. The comfort of our beds and the quality of our breakfast are the two areas which we take most care of as we understand how important these two issues are to our guests. I'll certainly make sure that your positive comments are passed to those who are directly involved in these areas. Thank you for your continued business.

Your sincerely

Russell Imrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    271
    48
    13
    1
See reviews for
128
374
39
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ballymena, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My wife and I have been going to and staying at the Best Western Bruntsfield for 20 years. We have seen it develope into a very comfortable and well priced Hotel over those years. There are still staff there we met on our first stay, and we always receive a warm welcome.

We always stay in one of the "old house" rooms, and one thing we enjoy is the quirkiness and style of these rooms, which were completely refurbished a few years ago.

Our latest trip was last weekend, and we ate in the Bisque Restaurant on Sunday evening. I enjoyed one of the best Rib Eye steaks I have ever had.

The Hotel is not in the centre of Edinburgh, but opposite the Bruntsfield Links, giving the hotel a very open aspect at the front. Princess Street is only a brisk ten minutes walk away.

Many thanks to the staff at the hotel for another very friendly and enjoyable week end.

Brian Beggs Northern Ireland

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell_Imrie, Managing Director at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bruntsfield, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear brian b

Thank you for much for your kind comments following your most recent stay with us. It was a pleasure to welcome you back and we are very grateful for your continued business after so many years. I'll certainly make sure that your comments are passed on to all the familiar faces that know you. Thank you for your business and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely

Russell Imrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights (2 adults & 2 kids aged 9 & 12) in two connecting rooms, a queen room for the adults and twin room for the kids. The rooms were spacious and the beds very comfortable. The wifi was not working that well in our room unfortunately. The breakfast was excellent having a choice of both cold & hot food. We had dinner in their restaurant two nights and that was very good. The staff were very helpful with bus information etc. They had a great laundry option where they would send off a whole bag of washing for a very reasonable price and it would come back in the evening washed, dried and folded. The location was good. The bus was very handy to catch into the city centre and on a couple of occasions we walked all the way back to the B&B - very pleasant walk. Would stay here again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was booked for me by the company I was visiting so it wasn't my choice, however scanning through the recent reviews, it would be a hotel I'd choose. Staff were all friendly, room was large and clean, a little cold the first night but down to me not turning the heating up from the very low setting it was on when I arrived. Breakfast was a real disappointment, I'd like to think a hotel of this standard would serve local produce, and use reasonable quality ingredients. The menu made it all sound so good, but what a let down. I had the fried breakfast the first morning, left half of it as did the guest on the table next to me, the second morning I opted for porridge, which was marginally better. I felt breakfast was put together with the budget of a 2 star. I would stay again, but without the breakfast.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell_Imrie, Managing Director at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bruntsfield, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear jbeton

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Your comments are greatly appreciated. I was very disappointed to read that the quality of your breakfast did not meet your expectations. We pride ourselves in serving a high quality, locally sourced breakfast, which is regularly complimented by our guests. Your comments have resulted in a full review as any variation in breakfast quyality is not acceptable to me. Thank you for your feedback, please accept my apologies and I assure you that your breakfast at any future stay will be of the standard and quality you shoulod expect.

Yours sincerely
Russell Imrie
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverurie, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Great rooms which are large and modern. Superb breakfast. Very central for all of Edinburgh. You would struggle to get another hotel of this quality centrally. Stay here on both business and leisure and we love it.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I have stayed at best western hotels every time I have gone away for the last 18 month and have always been happy with every aspect of the hotels. The staff are ALWAYS lovely and very helpful and this stay was all I hoped it would be, VERY CLEAN GREAT CHOICE FOR BREAKFAST AND THE RESTAURANT SERVED LOVELY MEALS AT REASONABLE PRICES. Great location for town centre with a bus service just outside so no need for the car and it was only 5minutes on the bus.I dont even look for other hotels now I am very happy with best western group so dont feel the need to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I start by saying that I had no problem with the hotel itself(apart from the fact that the rooms where a little warm). Fine amenities, clean, good location and well stocked. The problem for me during my stay was the front of house staff. On my check in, the lady at the desk was quite abrupt and seemed more interested in getting me to put my signature on a form than actually welcoming me to the hotel. Then through out my 3 night stay at the hotel, each time I would return to the hotel and the reception was maned I would be given a very rude stare of disapproval from the staff. I know I am probably not the sort of person they tend to get staying at their establishment (I had been camping for a week and hadn't shaved, and was in mostly my walking gear, so was a little scruffy) but does this really warrant disapproving stares each time I pass through the reception. Surely, by the end of the first night, they must have known I was a guest and not some random person wondering in off the street. In all this made me feel very uncomfortable. Needless to say, the next time I am in Edinburgh I will find myself a hostel where I might find a little more of a friendly welcome, and helpful staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell_Imrie, Managing Director at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bruntsfield, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Tikitoura,

Thank you for your feedback following your stay with us. The comments concerning a poor staff attitude from some of our reception team are certainly not the standards we normally achieve (as you will see from many other reviews). It is particularly dissapointing that we have not provided our normal standard of service to you.

Our General Manager, Garry Field, has personally revisited our staff training programme to stress the importance of a warm, friendly yet professional welcome at all times to all our guests from all our staff members. It would never be our intention to make guests feel uncomfortable during their stay and it is clear that we have let ourselves down on this occasion. Thank you for your feedback and please accept my apologies.

Your sincerely,

Russell Imrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Bruntsfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Bruntsfield

Address: 69 - 74 Bruntsfield Place, Edinburgh EH10 4HH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#9 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#14 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#22 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Bruntsfield 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional Edinburgh townhouse style hotel with contemporary touches overlooking a park near the city centre and all attractions. High quality and tastefully designed individual bedrooms. Relax in the comfortable lounge and enjoy casual gourmet food in Bisque Brasserie. Free parking and Free internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Bruntsfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Bruntsfield Hotel Edinburgh
Best Western Edinburgh
Edinburgh Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bruntsfield Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Bruntsfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.