We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HARD TO FIND FAULT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Bruntsfield

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Bruntsfield to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bruntsfield
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   69 - 74 Bruntsfield Place, Edinburgh EH10 4HH, Scotland (West End)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #17 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
INVERGORDON
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“HARD TO FIND FAULT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We have been using the Bruntsfield on and off for at least 15 years. We visit Edinburgh on avergage twice a month for a couple of nights and over the years have sampled many of the hotels in the city, some very good, some not so good but we always get drawn back to the Bruntsfield as our favourite.
It is a million miles away from the souless chain hotels and is a hotel of real character in a beautiful building in an excellent location. The rooms are excellent whichever grade you book and the breakfasts are high quality with a fine choice whether Continental or the full Scottish cooked version. The staff are without exception always efficient,friendly and polite, there are a few who have been there for a considerable time and that continuity adds something to the experience.
I have seldom used the restaurant as we tend to eat out but it is normally quite busy at weekends which is a good sign. On a couple of occasions have had light snacks in the bar and they were very good. The bar area itself is nice and bright despite being in the basement of the building and is decked out in contemporary decor. It is well stocked with a good selection of beers (very important) and wines/spirits and a cocktail menu so something to suit everybody. Bar staff tend to be on the young side but always an experienced memeber of staff around to keep the wheels oiled and moving smoothly.
All in all this is an excellent hotel and very difficult to find fault with. I will stay elsewhere from time to time but I will stay here much more often than anywhere else in the city. General excellence on all fronts and good value.

Room Tip: Whatever grade you choose will be good quality, front facing do have some early morning traffic nosi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell_Imrie, Managing Director at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bruntsfield, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear mackenzie478

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I'm delighted that you chose to stay with us again and that you were comfortable and well looked after by our team members. I will certainly make sure that your kind comments are passed on to everyone who looked after you so well. Thank you and we all look forward to welcoming you back to the Bruntsfield Hotel.

Yours sincerely

Russell Imrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    271
    48
    13
    1
See reviews for
128
376
40
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Have just returned from 4 nights at Best Western Plus Bruntsfield, had a very comfortable stay. Everything about the Hotel was very very good. Room was very comfortable and plenty of space. Staff were friendly, nothing was too much trouble. Hotel was within walking distance of City centre, plenty of places to eat. Also ate at the hotel, meal was excellent. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights over the hogmanay new years festival. The location was great for us. Aprox. 20 minute stroll to the castle which you could walk past shops and restaurants or through 'The Medows' a pleasant scenic walk. It was also round the corner from the oldest pub in Edinburgh. Fantastic place, great atmosphere e.t.c.

The staff were very friendly. It was nice to see staff happy, we had a good chat and a laugh with a few of them.

The room was nice. Super king size bed which was very, very comfortable. The rest of the room was your basic typical hotel room; Tv, some sky channels, tea/coffee making facilities, safe, trouser press, hairdryer, only disadvantage for us was no fridge, but it isn't a big deal.

The food and drinks were delicious, good cocktails and plenty of choice at breakfast time.

Overall the hotel made the stay extra special! I would recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The room was nice and clean and to good standard. Bed very soft and comfortable. Plenty of car parking space when we went (21st to 23rd December 2012) which was free (always handy particularly with fairly central location). Only 20 mins walk to princes street and plenty of buses available. Staff were lovely particularly in helping me on day of leaving when I got food poisoning. Were very understanding and kind. Food is good (said my girlfriend (I didn't eat there)). Would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Well positioned hotel; out of town but right next to bus stop with easy bus route and you can walk from here if you like walking. We walked to the Castle and then on into the town.
Very nice clean room, modern decor and we had a view of the park.
Nice bar area where we had a tasty meal. Very good collection of single malt whiskeys which were relatively cheap (£3.60) and the staff were knowledgeable and helpful in discussing and selecting different brands.
Breakfast was excellent; large choice, beautifully cooked, included porridge and great selection of cooked items including haggis.
Good base for exploring the city...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Lovely hotel well maintained, with friendly staff. Modern, welcoming bar area attached to the hotel. Breakfast nicely presented and served very efficiently. Bedroom was clean and warm with usual facilities pertinent to the Best Western brand. I would say a good walk to the centre of Edinburgh but not more than 30 minutes. Would thoroughly recommend for a short break.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Great from moment of booking to leaving, staff very helpful. We had a four poster room as it was my (biggish!) birthday. Lovely room with original coving, extremely high ceilings and windows with peaceful view, great big bathroom with separate bath and shower. Very clean hotel, lovely comfortable beds. 15-20 minute stroll through park into centre of Edinburgh so great location and felt safe walking back at night. Breakfast was lovely, didn't eat there at night but looked good. Parking limited but we didn't have a problem getting a space on a Friday afternoon. On arriving home we discovered we had left some clothing in a drawer and they kindly posted them back to us. We will definitely stay here again and are planning to return next year as we didn't get to do everything we wanted to!

Room Tip: Four poster room lovely and worth that little bit extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Bruntsfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Bruntsfield

Address: 69 - 74 Bruntsfield Place, Edinburgh EH10 4HH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#9 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#22 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Bruntsfield 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional Edinburgh townhouse style hotel with contemporary touches overlooking a park near the city centre and all attractions. High quality and tastefully designed individual bedrooms. Relax in the comfortable lounge and enjoy casual gourmet food in Bisque Brasserie. Free parking and Free internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Bruntsfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Bruntsfield Hotel Edinburgh
Best Western Edinburgh
Edinburgh Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bruntsfield Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Bruntsfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.