We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Macdonald Holyrood Hotel

Save Saved
You added Macdonald Holyrood Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   81 Holyrood Road, Edinburgh EH8 8AU, Scotland (Castle / Royal Mile / High St)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 147 hotels in Edinburgh
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

My stay here was good but not fantastic. The rooms are pretty basic considering the price. The food was good and location is fantastic as its not far from the city centre. I visited the spa and had a fantastic time. The therapists and treatments were tremendous. I will definitely come back here but most likely just for the spa!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear MarshallMck,

Thank you for your lovely review of the Macdonald Holyrood Hotel.

I am pleased that you found everything to your liking and that you had a fantastic time in the spa.
I will certainly share your feedback with the team.

We do hope that you will return to visit us very soon!

Kindest regards
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    444
    390
    165
    67
    42
See reviews for
108
533
41
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed here for a few days during the Edinburgh festival. Being a last minute booking we weren't too fussy where we stayed as we were more interested in seeing shows and experiencing the world famous fringe.

Have to say bar the service from the restaurant staff (Connor in particular) our stay was nothing special. The facilities were old and worn out, especially in the rooms and restaurant. if it hadn't been for Connor convincing us too eat in the restaurant we wouldn't have even bothered! But we were glad we did as the food was awesome as was the first rate service. everything from wine recommendations, fringe recommendations and edinburgh must sees, Connor gave us a lot more than we were expecting from your common restaurant supervisor. (It wasn't till the next morning that we realised he was only a team leader!). Breakfast was first rate and the food was beautiful.

Bar was far too expensive and our server (young women with short hair) was questionable to say the least! Working in a bar myself, I wasn't best pleased with the standard of cocktail that my wife was given, think some training is needed! disappointing as were given the same round of drinks before the young woman has started her shift by a certain someone.

As for the spa, nice little gym with a decent sized pool, with a steam and sauna. Handy after one too many the night before.

We really loved the festival and what edinburgh has too offer and with a ideal location the hotel should be better than what it actually is. With staff like Connor and the rest of the breakfast staff it certainly has the quality to make it a 5 star hotel! (Albeit, after a few refurbishments).

would come back solely due to the service!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear PaulyB25,
Thank you for your feedback referring to your stay here at the Macdonald Holyrood Hotel.

Our primary aim here at the Holyrood Hotel is to achieve and exceed our guest’s expectations when it comes to the service delivery and product knowledge. Connor and the team were very pleased that you mentioned them especially.

We do take our customer feedback very seriously as it is vital in helping us maintain our high level of standards, along with addressing training areas as you mentioned with the bar. Our new Bar Manager along with his team are very dedicated and committed to executing excellence, therefore I will ensure this is passed over to him.

Thank you once again for your feedback and I do hope that I have the pleasure in welcoming you back for the Festival next year!

Best wishes
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Hotel just a couple blocks from Holyrood Palace. Hotel in a marginal commercial neighborhood. Our room featured a broken overhead bath light, no air conditioner, non functioning towel warmer, shower door seal hanging loose from bottom of door, broken electrical plug, internet not working, and lumpy mattress. Breakfast buffet marginal with cold food.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear JR,

Thank you for your review of the Macdonald Holyrood Hotel.

I was disappointed that you encountered various maintenance issues when you checked into your room. The Maintenance & Housekeeping Teams regularly check the appliances when inspecting the rooms prior to arrival to ensure everything is in working order.We would however have been happy to relocate you to another room should you have advised Reception of these concerns.

We are renowned across the group for our award winning breakfast and the vast variety that we offer, however this is a matter of opinion to which I welcome your feedback.

I do hope that you will return to us in the very near future and that the maintenance issues will not deter you. Please feel free to contact myself directly and I will be happy to assist you with a reservation.

Thank you once again for you time.

Kind Regards
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed at the Macdonald holyrood for 2 nights in September. The service that we received was exceptional. All staff were friendly and willing to go the extra mile to please. The location was very convenient, only a 1 minute walk to the royal mile and right near the Palace. There is a city sightseeing bus departure point about a 1 minute walk from the hotel in front of Dynamic Earth which is very convenient. Bed was a bit soft and it got quite muggy in the room...the air con wasn't very strong. Had to open a window which could be quite noisy. Breakfast was nice with hot foo made to order instead of sitting in the buffet. Overall a fantastic experience. Would return here in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Butterz1986,

Thank you for such a glowing review of the Macdonald Holyrood hotel. I was so pleased that you had a lovely stay with us.

We pride ourselves in executing exceptional service and food quality across the group. I will certainly share your feedback with the team as they will be most pleased.

I very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Best wishes
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Spent 2 nights here on our Insight Best of Britain tour. Room was nicely decorated and clean. No fridge. Good lobby bar, with exceptional service. Dinner at Steak and Grill Restaurant was average. Buffet breakfast ok, but scrambled eggs were cool both days. Located at east end of the Royal Mile, very near Scottish Parliament building. About eight blocks to National Museum of Scotland.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear jk5853,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review of the Macdonald Holyrood Hotel.

I was sorry to note that you found our food to be average whilst you were dinning with us. It is our dedication across the group in only serving the highest quality food that makes us different from our leading competitors. We have also won various hotel awards with our ‘award winning breakfast’. I will certainly take on board your feedback and will share this with our Head Chef.

Our reputation and your custom is extremely important to us and I would like to thank you once again for your feedback. I do hope you return to us on a future visit to Edinburgh!

Kindest regards
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
464 reviews 464 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
335 helpful votes 335 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This property is located in the heart of city. Its just opposite Dynamic Earth, walking distance from railway station, Parliament house. Supermarket is also very close by to buy water or junk.. When the city shuts at 4/5 in evening you can enjoy restaurants and bars near by.

Staff are friendly. Rooms are small and cozy… we loved the appealing décor. Breakfast is satisfactory. Its an ideal place to stay I must say.

Room Tip: Rooms facing main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Ninns_12,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit your review following your stay at the Macdonald Holyrood Hotel.

I was delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay, particularly the helpfulness of the staff, food and location. Please be assured that I have passed your comments to them, as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We appreciate such a helpful review, and look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Best wishes
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberfeldy, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Room pros: Lovely large room, good size TV, 2 armchairs, fridge, really comfy bed, good hanging space, brilliant bathroom with lovely shower.
Room cons: no drawers for clothes, air con not great so really hot and window only opens a fraction, not enough shower gel or shampoo.
Hotel staff very charming and helpful. Lovely well cooked breakfast - standard £10 per person if you get it at time of booking - otherwise dearer, also served from very early up to 11 am. Good size gym with modern equipment. Good size pool but spoilt as very tired round that area. Ceiling tiles hanging off and showers disgustingly mouldy. If it hadn't been for this we would have rated the hotel very good. Location fine, just opposite Dynamic Earth bus stop just outside but taxis only about £5 to the centre. Do not use the hotel parking if you take the car It is a rip off at £20 per night there are plenty of other cheaper places to park if you check for Edinburgh parking online. Sat and Sun you can also use the street outside (if you can find a space)

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of hotel if staying more than one night otherwise you end up facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear mactel,

Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay here at the Macdonald Holyrood Hotel.
I am glad you found the staff to be helpful and that you enjoyed your breakfast whilst staying with us.

Being a city centre hotel not many hotels have an site car park with valet service. This allows our guests to have their cars safely and securely parked overnight and assessable when needed. The rates that we offer to our guests are very completive and in line with the local NCP car park which is a short walk from the hotel.

The hotel and Health Club are about to under go an exacting phased refurbishment over the coming months to which will give the hotel a fresh new look and feel. We most certainly do ensure that the general day to day maintenance of the hotel and spa is kept up to date with general cleaning etc, I will however investigate this.

Thank you once again for your comments, such feedback is a valuable way for us to monitor our operation and make improvements where necessary. I do hope that I will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Kind Regards
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Macdonald Holyrood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Holyrood Hotel

Address: 81 Holyrood Road, Edinburgh EH8 8AU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Castle / Royal Mile / High St , Old Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#51 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#51 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#54 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Holyrood Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Edinburgh's old town, adjacent to the Scottish Parliament, Macdonald Holyrood Hotel is one of the city's leading hotels which has recently completed a £2.5million investment. Whatever your reason for staying, visiting on business or visiting the fascinating city of Edinburgh, you'll find our bedrooms are some of the most comfortable in town, our Vital Health Club is ideal to unwind in and our brand new Roccas restaurant is stylish and sophisticated, serving the best quality Scottish home comforts with an Italian twist. A meal, afternoon tea or champagne at the bar is certainly not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Macdonald Holyrood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Holyrood Edinburgh
Hotel Macdonald Holyrood
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.