We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Macdonald Holyrood Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Macdonald Holyrood Hotel to your Saves list
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   81 Holyrood Road, Edinburgh EH8 8AU, Scotland (Old Town)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very nice room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed at this hotel at the weekend, room was lovely except it was very hot as air con wasn't working well. Views from the room were nice as was the little balcony outside. Room service and breakfast were nice and freshly made just a shame that I can get the same food at every MacDonald hotel when it should be local food being used.

Would stay again if we were going to that area again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for submitting your review of your experience following your stay at the Macdonald Holyrood Hotel. I enjoyed reading your review and appreciate the helpful details.

We apologies for the lack of air conditioning within the hotel during your stay, this is something that we are currently reviewing with the groups property director. I do hope it did not cause too much inconvenience toward you both.

The company prides itself in the quality and produce of the food we offer across the group, much of it is sourced in and around Scotland so I am glad you enjoyed your breakfast and room service. We are blessed in the location of the hotel with some exceptional views over Arthur seat and the Palace of Holyrood.

I do hope you return to us on a future visit to Edinburgh and thank you once again for your feedback.

Warmest regards
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    675
    566
    232
    84
    51
See reviews for
162
789
64
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

If it wasn't for the staff, I'd have been totally dis-satisfied with what is being charged for a 4 star hotel.

We stayed for three nights, check in was friendly and efficient. We were allocated room 603 (we had upgraded to this floor with central bookings). As soon as we walked in the heat hit us, and the air con wasn't working. We reported it to reception, it was clear they knew about the problem, which it appeared affected some or all of the 6th floor rooms. Jacob the concierge was very friendly and went to try to make it better while we had dinner. But really this was just opening windows and we slept badly as there was noise from the adjacent bar so we had to shut the windows and then it was too hot. The next day we asked to be moved to another room. This was handled very efficiently and Jacob and the head housekeeper worked with us to ensure we were happy. This room was on the other side of the hotel but the air con was still ineffective, but lack of direct sun meant it was much cooler.

It was my partner's birthday during our visit, and she is 6 months pregnant. We were given a present from the head housekeeper by the breakfast staff that morning, with a card of apology for the first nights bad sleep and for the new baby. We were both very touched by this, the breakfast staff member said she had decorated this herself and brought it in. How amazing is that? She was offered a celebratory glass of bubbly but they understood she declined due to her pregnancy. After breakfast Jacob and the other older Scottish concierge sang happy birthday to her! We found all the staff so friendly here, so we overlooked some of the shortcomings, which will seem petty to list, but here they are: 1. Shower in 603 went suddenly cold then back to hot regularly, Shower in 613 was permanently boiling hot (forgot to report these we must confess but didn't want to be constantly complaining) 2. Toast forgotten and had to be asked for again two mornings out of three. 3. Door broken by entrance and had to be sealed off 4. Breakfast seemed to get smaller each day - 2 rashers of bacon on first day, one on last, full mushroom on first day, half on last.... 5. Upstairs floor 6 rooms lacked the 'wow' factor to us, nice enough but not worth paying £40 a night extra for. We expected something really special when paying £40 a night to upgrade. true you get champagne and canapés in the library between 6-6.30 included, which was a nice touch.

Pool is nice and gym seems well equipped. Apparently ladies gym untidy (several abandoned flip flops on floor etc) for the duration of one of our visits. Just attention to detail again really. The showers need upgrading and re-tiling but they acknowledge this and apparently it is due this year.

Basically this hotel has wonderful staff, and we felt that if the refurb is thorough then they should have the tools to do their job. Would we return? I think we would, but it would probably be in a normal room to be honest. Hopefully the refurb will bring the place up to standard - hopefully new aircon will be included! Thanks again to the staff for their friendliness and hospitality - you guys stopped this being an 'average' rating, with a refurbed hotel it would be excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Macdonald Windsor Hotel following your recent stay.

I was delighted to note that the staff looked after you and your wife so well in particular Jacob from Concierge and Laurie our Head Housekeeper.. May I say many congratulations to you both on your future arrival.

I am disappointed that you had an uncomfortable night’s sleep due to the air conditioning, this is something that we are reviewing at the moment with the groups property manager. The hotel is about to undergo a full refurbishment of the ground floor along with 2 floors of bedrooms which will give the hotel a fresh new look to which we are all very excited about. I apologise for your initial disappointment.

Thank you once again for your comments, such is very valuable to us in order for us to monitor our operation and make improvements where necessary. I do fully sympathise with you and understand your frustrations regarding your stay with us, however I hope that with that you will afford us the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the very near future.


Kindest regards
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Another lovely stay at the Holyrood Hotel. The staff are welcoming, friendly and helpful and good to see Jacob the concierge again. He organised a table at Kismot restaurant (rated no.1 on Tripadvisor) and a taxi to take us there.Lovely rooms ,a great atmosphere and we enjoy the location.Looking forward to our return on the 2nd June-that's how much we like it!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 6th floor are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for submitting your review of your experience following your stay at the Macdonald Holyrood Hotel. I enjoyed reading your review and appreciate the helpful details.

It is lovely to receive feedback of this nature and that the team looked after you especially Jacob from the Concierge department. We are always encouraged by comments such as yours. I look forward to welcoming you back in June!

Best wishes
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Stayed here with my wife on valentines night very good service very clean staff seem ti really care lovely breakfast and served well good quality food and the concierge was very good.i highly reccomend this hotel to anyone very good for couples especially if they want to use the spa/swimming pool which is very good also the town centre is very close so i would say about 15 min walk

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel following your visit in February. We hope you had a lovely Valentines break. I was really pleased to learn that the team looked after you both so well and you enjoyed your room, breakfast and our location.

Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon or for Valentines day 2014!

Warmest regards
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

My third stay at the Macdonald Holyrood Hotel and I would not stay anywhere else when in Edinburgh. Food is excellent, service is friendly and could not be more helpful. Lovely room with immaculate white sheets and very comfortable. Had been on a small group tour for six days staying at some very interesting placed, it was just so good to back here and experience some luxury.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit such a lovely review following your stay at the Macdonald Holyrood Hotel.

I was pleased to note that you enjoy your overall visit. We appreciate such a helpful review.I will be delighted to share your feedback with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.

Thank you for your continual custom and I with the team look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kindest regards
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Had a great weekend staying at the MacDonald Holyrood. The Concierge service is exceptional - nothing was too much trouble, they knew we wanted umbrellas, taxis before we did and took care of all our luggage! Nice pool, sauna and steam room (grumpy spa receptionist).

This is the 2nd time I've stayed here (first time with a baby) and I wouldn't stay anywhere else. We didn't have breakfast this time - they were excellent places along the Royal Mile.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit such a lovely review following your stay at the Macdonald Holyrood Hotel.

I was pleased to note that you enjoy your visit, in particular the service from the Concierge Team. We appreciate such a helpful review.I will be delighted to share your feedback with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.

Thank you for your continual custom and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Best wishes
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights for our 10th wedding anniversary. The hotel staff looked after us really well from the minute we arrived. We were upgraded to a gorgeous room & had champagne each evening in the Library. We felt so spoiled :o) We ate in the restaurant on our first night and the food was excellent. We had a wonderful time overall & would highly recommend this hotel to couples or families.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Macdonald Holyrood Hotel following your recent stay. I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed your 10th Wedding Anniversary with us and that the team here spoiled you. They will be so pleased to receive this feedback along with the kitchen team, they take great pride in the quality of food that we offer.

It was a real pleasure to hear of your experience and I really appreciate you taking the time to share your view of the hotel. We look forward to coming back next year for your 11th Wedding Anniversary.

Warmest regards
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Macdonald Holyrood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Holyrood Hotel

Address: 81 Holyrood Road, Edinburgh EH8 8AU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#42 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#50 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#55 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Holyrood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Edinburgh's old town, adjacent to the Scottish Parliament, Macdonald Holyrood Hotel is one of the city's leading hotels which has recently completed a £2.5million investment. Whatever your reason for staying, visiting on business or visiting the fascinating city of Edinburgh, you'll find our bedrooms are some of the most comfortable in town, our Vital Health Club is ideal to unwind in and our brand new Roccas restaurant is stylish and sophisticated, serving the best quality Scottish home comforts with an Italian twist. A meal, afternoon tea or champagne at the bar is certainly not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Macdonald Holyrood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Holyrood Edinburgh
Hotel Macdonald Holyrood
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.