We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We can't wait to book our next stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Macdonald Holyrood Hotel

Save Saved
You added Macdonald Holyrood Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   81 Holyrood Road, Edinburgh EH8 8AU, Scotland (Castle / Royal Mile / High St)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 147 hotels in Edinburgh
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We can't wait to book our next stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We have just come back from a great 3 night stay at this hotel. From the moment we arrived the staff were so friendly (especially the concierge) and helpful and also great with the kids. We had a fabulous family suite on the 2nd floor, loads of space and the kids were delighted they had their own beds! We ate in the restaurant on the first night and we couldn't fault the staff or the food at all. The menu isn't anything too fancy and we were all happy with what we chose. They only thing I would say is the wine and alcohol is really over priced, but think thats what all hotels are like! This hotel is in a great location, lots to see and do and not too far to walk to see the sights of Edinburgh. Can't wait to book again for our return stay.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,133 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    456
    398
    170
    68
    41
See reviews for
113
547
42
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Top Contributor
328 reviews 328 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

You can't fault the location of the Macdonald Holyrood Hotel because it's very close to main attractions in Edinburgh and a good range of restaurants are available in the immediate vicinity. The rooms are OK - a little tired in terms of furniture but OK all the same; I am not a great fan of bathrooms that insist on having the shower in the bath as a walk-in shower is always better. The breakfast offers a mixture of traditional dishes (good Scottish porridge and the fries) plus the normal buffet of pastries, cereals, etc. At STG15.50, it's expensive if you don't book in advance or (even better) make sure that your room rate includes breakfast. A Tesco Express supermarket is just up the road so you can buy stuff there if you prefer. Parking is also expensive and the hotel car park has limited spaces. The STG20 nightly rate can be bettered by the STG14 rate of the car park up the road (away from Holyrood Palace). I also didn't like the STG3 transaction fee charged to people who pay with credit cards. Free Wi-Fi is available in the public areas on the ground floor but you have to pay in the rooms, which is regrettable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights just before easter , it was a 60th birthday celebration. to be quite honest the rooms ,( I say rooms as we asked to change ) we stayed in were very nice but we could not get them warm enough, we changed one room for a slightly warmer room but had to ask for an additional heater , on the first night we went into the restaurant the room was cold and draughty, they closed the blinds which made a difference , however having had to wait for over an hour between courses we started to feel the chill , the meal came it was disappointing but we had waited that long we could not be bothered to send it back and possibly have a further hours wait, when I complained to the management they said they are sorry but we are very busy , there was about 8 diners in the restaurant, the bill came they got it wrong , charged for drinks we did not have . I complained again , the whole restaurant experience was a nightmare , we were told by the manager its not company policy to refund anything or offer a small token for our disappointment .The following morning they did reduce the food bill and only the food bill by 25%.
We have stayed in Macdonald hotels in the past and always have had excellent service , would I go back certainly, not to this particular hotel

Room Tip: The rooms are very good , just be careful in the colder months
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chadderton
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

First visit to Edinburgh, had a great time, 9 of us checked in at the Holyrood & we all had a great time, we arrived early & told we could check in, the car was parked for us & bags taken to room (by Roy) nothing was too much trouble, in fact all the staff are excellent, very nice room & a great bathroom, good breakfast, we had dinner in the hotel on Easter Sunday ...possibly the best roast beef I have ever had! thanks also to Jacub for looking after us & booking the Italian.
we visited the Castle, the Palace, the very 'scary' Dungeon ! we could have done with another week in Edinburgh to do it all....... WE WILL RETURN.
Eric L.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Understated performance, consistency and a friendly staff.
We stayed for two nights early April at this hotel.
The reception is friendly, efficient and human. The staff were accommodating and knowledgeable on all topics including local restaurants and attractions.
The foyer is comforting and muted with the décor of a gentleman’s club. Also appreciated was the perpetual fire in the lobby, especially given the unseasonable weather.
The room (we stayed on the 5th floor) was spacious, clean and gave wonderful views. All the facilities were excellent. A generous bath, high pressure shower, abundant hot water. Top brand bath items, fluffy towels.
The bed was large and the mattress in good condition.
Breakfast, served in the restaurant was a delight. Made to order and fresh local produce used. The buffet bits were generous and well laid out.
Fruit juice cups were normal and not the thimbles now standard in many hotels. The orange juice was squeezed not powdered!.
My breakfast was included in the break so I cannot comment on value for money, however the quality was excellent.
Staff throughout were excellent and approachable.
Location was off the ‘Royal Mile’ which involved a 10 minute walk. However the advantages of a quiet, restful location made up for that.
There is a lousy pizza express round the corner but good restaurants and outstanding pubs within a short walking distance

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed at this hotel Good Friday to Easter Monday, a lovely hotel and staff very friendly.
However if you do stay at this hotel be careful when booking on a Promo Dinner B&B rate, you may be charged the full room rate. This is what happened to us and after a great weekend this put a downer on it, we did complain and they reduced the bill, but I have just checked my credit card balance and it seems we may have been charged twice, will wait and see.

Please also be careful as they do not explain the dinner rate corectly, they advise you have £25.00pp to spend but note this does not include drinks and you will be charged extra for this.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We arrived by train from Peterborough, without any signs of snow as rest of country were experiencing, and walked to the hotel. It was very cold and windy. Receptionist was friendly and noted we asked for "a nice quiet room" when booking. Was given room on 5th floor at the end of a corridor and overlooked the rear of the Scottish Parliament. It was a nice quiet room but we were told if not to our liking we could move - we didn't. Nice touch. Bags were taken to our room for us and heating was on full blast! Large room with generous bath room. Everything clean and tidy with large sliding door wardrobes.
After walking up the Royal Mile which was only a 5 minute walk away (lower end), returned to hotel and found a tea tray in wardrobe, with good selection of hot drinks and 2 small biscuits.
Went to Pizza Express next door for dinner, which was okay but have been to many in that chain that are far bettter!
Bed was comfortable and enjoyed a good night's sleep, UNTIL, at 5.50am, fire alarms went off, so grabbing trousers and coat, we went with everyone who made their way to the outside assembley area, but took about 10 minutes for all guests to exit hotel. Some degree of chaos as no role call taken, everyone waited for news. Member of staff arrived with towels for children. Eventually the all clear was given after about 20/25 minutes so back to our room and we were told it was a problem with the loft. Firemen were seen so not a false alarm.
After sleeping, went down for breakfast (pre-booked) and it was a very good buffet and selection of cooked breakfasts available, with good, prompt friendly service.
Second night slept well followed by another good breakfast although second pot of tea requested never arrived.
Invoice left under our door to check and checkout was fast and efficient. The friendly, elderly gentleman (concierge) took our bags into storage (no charge) while we went out before returning back for our bags to go home. We were told the quickest route back to the side entrance of the station, good, as bags were heavier than when we arrived.
If going to the Royal Yacht Brittannia, bus no. 35 goes to the Ocean Terminal from lower Royal Mile, a Day Pass on all buses costs £3.50, but note - you must have correct change on buses as no change given!!!

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor at far end of corridor back of hotel so nice quiet room(s)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Macdonald Holyrood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Holyrood Hotel

Address: 81 Holyrood Road, Edinburgh EH8 8AU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Castle / Royal Mile / High St , Old Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#51 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#51 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#54 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Holyrood Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Edinburgh's old town, adjacent to the Scottish Parliament, Macdonald Holyrood Hotel is one of the city's leading hotels which has recently completed a £2.5million investment. Whatever your reason for staying, visiting on business or visiting the fascinating city of Edinburgh, you'll find our bedrooms are some of the most comfortable in town, our Vital Health Club is ideal to unwind in and our brand new Roccas restaurant is stylish and sophisticated, serving the best quality Scottish home comforts with an Italian twist. A meal, afternoon tea or champagne at the bar is certainly not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Macdonald Holyrood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Holyrood Edinburgh
Hotel Macdonald Holyrood
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.