We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will not forget it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Channings Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Channings Hotel to your Saves list
Channings Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12-16 S Learmonth Gardens, Edinburgh EH4 1EZ, Scotland (Stockbridge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
New Jersey
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“We will not forget it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2007

There can never be enough words of gratitude and admiration for the exemplary service and attention of the Team at the Channings Hotel. They went so far and above the service we found in any other accommodation (even those with five stars) ands made our stay in Edinburgh a time to remember for a lifetime.
Especially we thank for all the help planning a disabled ascent to the Tattoo - which went so very successfully!
The warm attention of the wait staff in the restaurant as well as the Food, outstanding.
A thousand million thanks and continued success to what we regard as a six star, royal treatment establishment.

  • Liked — The view, the whole feel about the place
  • Disliked — That we had to leave
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    202
    83
    23
    15
See reviews for
59
365
41
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MI
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2007

Overall, very nice hotel. The rooms were a little small and seemed a bit outdated. Wonderful beds! A bit out of the city center. The staff was very helpful!

  • Stayed August 2007
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2007

Have just returned from an overnight stay at Channings, and after the reviews were a bit disappointed regarding our stay.

The room was ok. Smaller than we had thought , but quite bright in decoration and it overlooked the front of the hotel. The best part was the bathroom which housed a narrow but deep bath , which was coupled with Molton Brown toiletries.

Check in was quick and easy and had an American receptionist , who was really friendly and nice, we were then taken to our room by a young man who had just finished Fettes College, and again he was helpful and chatty.

We had a lunch in the back terrace, in the sun, but the other gardens are actually very non descript and there were no seats, and hilly. A special mention went to the 2 bar tenders who were great company, an asset to Channings. Thereafter , things went down hill.

We were staying for the ocassion of visiting the Military Tattoo, and were dressed suitably. Smart but casual. On arriving at the restaurant, we were shown to a table, round the back , and out of sight, by a surly looking maitre de, who made no effort to be helpful, unsmiling and rather condensending.The staff in the restaurant were completely pretentious, and we got the feeling we were hounered to be allowed to eat at the establishment. . We tried making small talk , to no avail. I know this is a 4 star hotel, but the restaurant staff would have you think its 5 star deluxe ( in fact we have stayed in these previously ). The food does NOT represent value for money, it was ok , but nothing to write home about,and the wine was £7.95 a glass. We did not have a bottle as only one of us was drinking.

After arriving back in the hotel at night, you would expect the duty staff to ask if you had a pleasant night out in Edinbugh, (they let you in after a certain time) but the door was opened and no atmosphere , no banter, just a good night.

After reading the reviews , we had ordered room service for breakfast, and were sorely dis-appointed. Full breakfast , poorly presented, just warm , and lukewarm tea.

Looking out the window , we saw 2 managers and another member of staff smoking. I realise that they need to smoke outside, but my own company policy is you do it away from your doorway, but given this is a 4 star, you would expect better .

I feel the restaurant staff completely ruined our stay. And given they are in the hospitality business, i would advise the management to address this. There is a difference between affording privacy and being aloof and impersonal.

All in al we would not return to this hotel. Its a 4 star pretending to be a five star deluxe.

  • Liked — Molton Brown toiletries and some of the staff
  • Disliked — Pretentious restaurant and restaurant staff
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2007

As part of a a romantic getaway, I booked a superior room with jacuzzi for the night. Sarah at reception was most helpful and arranged everything for us. Room 12 was at the back of the hotel, downstairs and had it's own private entrance to the restaurant. The bed was huge and inviting, the chairs were comfortable, the bathroom was huge with nice Molton Brown toiletries, and the shower was big enough for two as was the jacuzzi. The only slight niggle was that the room could have done with a lick of paint as it was quite grubby round the light switches, etc. We ate in the Hotel restaurant, fantastic and imaginative food, well presented in a calm, relaxed manner. I can recommend the Valrohna hot chocolate fondant with chilli ice cream! We elected to have breakfast in the room and everything was perfect from the food arriving on time to it being piping hot, fresh and delicious. On the whole I found the staff to be very friendly and willing to help in any way they could, a real asset to the hotel. I would recommend staying here if you want your stay to be a bit special.

  • Liked — The Staff
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2007

Stayed in a superior room recently for one night break away from children. Room was nice, though a wee bit smaller than I had expected. Bed was a weird size - lovely and wide but quite short; taller people (over 6 foot) might want to ask about this. Bathroom was lovely and big, though the shower was a bit weak probably because water pressure was not enough for the size of the shower head. Staff were very friendly. Had lovely dessert from room service from the restaurant. Breakfast was disappointing; my husband's coffee was undrinkable. We made an effort to get down early as had seen on other posts that food runs out quickly and I wish we'd just relaxed in our room or maybe ordered room service.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2007

I have stayed in both a refurbished room and a non-refurbished room at the Channings. It is a handsome and excellently-run hotel, with lovely food and a great bar. Its a great base from which to enjoy a stay in Edinburgh.

The key issue to bear in mind is that if you are looking for a premium experience, for a special weekend away etc, then make sure you get a refurbished room,

If you can get one of these rooms - you'll have an amazing time (hence the 5*).

If you can't - go elsewhere or at least be clear that you won't be getting a roll top bath etc.

To my mind, the website doesn't clearly differentiate in its pricing structure or descriptions betwen refurbished and non-refurbished, so you'd be well advised to book over the phone.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2007

Great hotel - nice rooms and very quiet - our room was next to the bar downstairs but we didnt hear a peep of noise.

Only thing to say is have breakfast in your room as opposed to going to the dining room. we turned up at 9.30 to a very tired buffet and our cooked breakfast looked pretty tired as well.

Next day we had room service at the same time and the breakfast was fantastic. really set us up for 1 day at the Rugby Sevens at Murrayfield.

Would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — no noise
  • Disliked — breakfast buffet
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Channings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channings Hotel

Address: 12-16 S Learmonth Gardens, Edinburgh EH4 1EZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Stockbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Channings Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Channings in Edinburgh is an informal, relaxed hotel with a very friendly approach. It occupies five Edwardian townhouses in Stockbridge, one of Edinburgh's most popular 'urban villages'. To suit its location slightly away from the city centre, Channings is a wonderfully quirky property which feels a bit like a Scottish country home, full of charming Victorian paintings, prints, books, furniture and memorabilia that owner Peter Taylor has collected over the years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Channings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Channings Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Channings Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.