We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous location!! Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Channings Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Channings Hotel to your Saves list
Channings Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12-16 S Learmonth Gardens, Edinburgh EH4 1EZ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Newry
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Gorgeous location!! Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2008

I would highly recommend this hotel, views from our room where of leafy quiet suburban street with mature trees, goregous rooms, great restaurant & bar. 10 min walk from city centre... staff exceptionally helpful... would definately stay again!

  • Liked — Location in a quiet leafy suburb within 10 mins from the buzz of city centre.
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    220
    88
    24
    14
See reviews for
62
404
42
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2008

Booked this hotel based on the good reviews on Trip Advisor. Would agree with most of what is been said in terms of cleanliness, nice decor and good food. The bedrooms have been updated with modern soft furnishings which look great. Whilst the bathroom was spotless it could benefit from a makeover as the tiling is pretty old style and the style is basic. As it was a small honeymoon for us we siad to the staff but unfortunately this didnt give us any extra perks! The one thing we did notice that when waiting in reception there was a lovely fire burning but the atmosphere was a bit stiff as people tended to whisper to each other. It could have been softened with some decent background music or something!! Would recommend it but personally would prefer a hotel of a similar standard but less stuffy.

  • Liked — Beautiful and comfortable bedroom
  • Disliked — Stuffy reception atmosphere
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2008

What a bargain...location, a ten minute [brisk] walk or a leisurely thirty minute walk through tree shaded streets, past midevil stone structures and parks, and, finally, boutique and shoppes on Princes Street in the heart of Edinburgh. Also, the hotel is located an easy (16 Pound) cab ride from the EDI airport.

The Channings has only 41 units; so the staff quickly picks up on what its guests prefer. They know you by name and anticipate your every need. There is no Concierge...in fact they all are Concierges; ask anyone, even the chambermaid, where somethng is, when something starts, how to get there...etc. and they will know the answer. The service is super and 24/7; we had a special request at 2 AM one day and the Night Porter came through like a champion.

The room (suite) we had this past trip was HUGE, with vaulted ceilings having hand carved crown moldings. The en suite bathroom had a great old fashion tub with rainshower head for good long, hot showers after a day of trapsing about Edinburgh. [Although one can walk to/from downtown, the 36 Line bus will drop you off within a block of the Channings if walking is not your thing. And a 6 Pound cab ride will get you from the hotel to the Edinburgh Castle and the Royal Mile where one can shop to you drop.]

The grub in the pub at Channings is hot, tasty, ample, and hearty. Like the rest of the hotel, they are amenible to filling special requests...if it's not on the menu, ask for it anyway...chances are they'll get it for you. Fish and chips, and lamb dishes are superb in the pub. And you must try the local McKewen draft beer...a dark beer with a nutty aftertaste. Unlike most dark beers, there is no bitterness in the McKewen brew.

I would not recommend the Channings for wheelchair bound guests. The hotel is about 200 years old and its hallways are both convoluted and narrow. And the one elevator is quite small; so navigating the hotel in a wheelchair would be problematic. Further, the rooms are without individual refrigerators; so if you are taking meds (like insulin) requiring refrigeration, the Channings would not be suitable.

If you've done your homework, you know the exchange rate is about $2 per Pound; so everything in Edinburgh costs about twice as much as a comparable item in the States would cost. At a bit over $200 per night stay at the Channings, including hearty Scotish breakfast, the rate is way below other highly rated hotels in Edinburgh. For the location, service, comfort, and food the Channings has to offer, this boutique hotel is a true bargain.

The Channings is highly recommended; we will certainly be staying there again when we go back to Edinburgh, Scotland.

  • Liked — Location, price, and service
  • Disliked — Rooms kept a bit too cold
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2008

It's a while since I stayed (2months ago during Easter) but I'm compelled to provide a review on this hotel to help others.

1. Bargain I had
I'm a seasoned traveller, but this hotel was something to really remember. It's not Ritz Carlton, but for what you pay, it's a definite 5*. The hotel's website offers various deals, I had this "Sunday Special" which included DINNER AND BREAKFAST for 99GBP on a Easter weekend. This is UK, where everything is expensive. 99GBP will probably get you a decent dinner in London, but here at Channings, I had a superb dinner AND a 5* room for this price. You can't beat that.

2. Location
It's not in the center of town. In fact, you would probably want to take a cab to center of town (8GBP I paid from Waverly Bridge, the main center). Yes you could walk in 15min. So if you are the type who fancy going in and out of the hotel room, this is not for you. But if you were like me, who spent the day in highland tour, and just coming back to the hotel in the evening, it's great. (Just catch a cab and you are there). It's located in a residential suburb. In fact, this hotel looks just like other Victorian style homes nearby.

3. Room
Picture says it all. But what i want to say, is that room has character. It is gorgeous - it's classy and boutique style room. No it's not Westin, so don't expect a boring typical 5* room, but it's got character, as you can see from the picture. It had a huge huge bathroom (bigger than my own bedroom in london) with a nice bathtub. I felt like an aristocrat staying here.

4. Food
The main dining, is absolute must. You may think restuarant at hotel is just an amenity, but this resturant, is something you definitely want to try even if you are not staying at the hotel. The french-british fusion cruisne was one of the best i had. My DINNER deal included 3-course menu for me and my wife. And I swear, for the quality of dinner and portion, I could have easily paid 80GBP if I had it at a restaurant. The bottomline is, food is excellent. Desert was excellend. it's better than some local restaurants I went.

Unfortunately, the dinner was so great that I had high expectation for breakfast. My hopes were shattered when I went for breakfast. Service was slow (possiblly because it's Easter Monday and short of staff), food buffet (continental selection) was poor and seldom replenished, and the dude next to us ordered some egg with smoked salmon, and he complained the egg was ice-cold and didn't eat a single bite!!!

5. Other Amenity
i didn't try the amenity of the hotel, but it has a very nice lounge area to relax.

6. Bottomline
If you want a quiet hide-out, this hotel is your top choice. Do yourself a favor, and eat at hotel restaurant. If you want to tour the city and back to room frequently, try elsewhere.

  • Liked — Value - special deal with dinner
  • Disliked — breakfast was poor quality.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2008

If you're looking for a hotel with warmth, class and great service, Channings Hotel is the place to book!

Staff: We stayed there for 5 nights, and the staff could not have been friendlier. Jennifer at reception is the type of individual all hotels should have! She has lots of recommendations for things to do and see in Edinburgh, and is very professionl and friendly. The bell boy (his name slips my mind - young Scot with dirty blondish hair) was just as friendly, helpful and informative.

I have to say there was another lady at reception (again, name slips my mind - but tall with brown hair) who wasn't as helpful or friendly, but I guess not everyone can be!

Cleanliness: First thing I look for in hotels is cleanliness, and this was not a problem at Channings.

Food: Continental/full Scottish breakfast is great. Fresh pastries, croissants, cheeses, fruit, meats, and juices! Great way to start the day. There is a French man that works in the dining area - really nice guy!

Location: Channings is about a 15-20 minute walk into the city centre (Princes Street, Edinburgh Castle, etc.). It's a nice walk, but we did hail a taxi a couple of times.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2008

This small hotel is nicely settled in a quiet neighborhood outside of all of the hub-bub, yet, within comfortable walking distance to Edinburgh center. The staff is supburb with their graciousness and hospitality. We enjoyed the restuarant downstairs and found the food world class gourmet. We will return.

  • Liked — the staff really made our stay special
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2008

This is a quiet, historic hotel in a peaceful neighborhood in Edinburgh. The sights are just a 10-15 minute walk though and the stroll will take you through some formidable and imposing Victorian architecture, all meant to impress. The hotel itself is staid and hushed but the staff members are all warm, friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean and accommodating: the bed was piled high with bed linens and the view out the window was of the lovely, luminous Edinburgh sunrise and of Fettes, where Tony Blair was schooled. Breakfast is downstairs and is included in their B&B rate. It features a buffet as well as Scottish traditions such as the Scotsman's day's cornerstone: porridge. But not the US type of porridge, rather the Scottish kind, namely, fantastic. Everything about Channing's is dedicated to providing you with a home away from home. It will be your home in Edinburgh. Those who want noise, lights, action? This isn't for you. Free coupons for breakfast? Probably not your kind of hotel. Busloads of tourists? Maybe over at the Sheraton. This is for those who want the quintessential UK experience and a good night's sleep.

  • Liked — It's Scottish-ness.
  • Disliked — The lift is a bit small; the stairs rather steep and narrow.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Channings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channings Hotel

Address: 12-16 S Learmonth Gardens, Edinburgh EH4 1EZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#31 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Channings Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Channings in Edinburgh is an informal, relaxed hotel with a very friendly approach. It occupies five Edwardian townhouses in Stockbridge, one of Edinburgh's most popular 'urban villages'. To suit its location slightly away from the city centre, Channings is a wonderfully quirky property which feels a bit like a Scottish country home, full of charming Victorian paintings, prints, books, furniture and memorabilia that owner Peter Taylor has collected over the years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Channings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Channings Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Channings Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.