We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Channings Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Channings Hotel to your Saves list
Channings Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12-16 S Learmonth Gardens, Edinburgh EH4 1EZ, Scotland (Stockbridge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Lovely room, huge (and very comfortable bed), big bathroom and really clean. Left one morning for breakfast and by the time we came back, the room was tidied and bed was made. Very close to everything and in a nice part of town. Lots of choice at breakfast and drinks wise at the bar.
Only two small things which would have made our stay perfect. One, being the shower in our room (48). This was a little slow to get going and not very powerful. A couple of times the water went cold but soon went hot again. The other thing was breakfast. Our first morning, this was faultless, with attentive staff and quick service. The Sunday morning however was quite slow and the hot breakfast not as well cooked. Appreciate it was very busy, but one of us had to send the eggs back for being very underdone. The tomatoes were also burnt and these were not re-cooked when the plate was taken away for the eggs to be cooked more. Staff had no problem dealing with this.
These were only two very small issues, and was only disappointed with breakfast on morning two because it was so perfect the morning before.
Neither of these would ever put us off staying here again. It really was a lovely hotel we would very much look forward to staying in and recommending to others in the future. Thank you for a lovely time and amazing nights' sleep!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    199
    83
    23
    14
See reviews for
59
363
40
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

I Stayed here with my girlfriend for Hogmany 2012. 15 mins walk to princess st. Nice and clean hotel. Really friendly staff who even whipped me up some stew when I staggered in at 2am after the new year hogmany. Good selection of whisky too. Highly recommended . There is also some free street parking about half a mile away down the road for those who are driving.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-upon-Tyne, England
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed at Channings over Christmas. Our room was spacious and had a tremendous view over Learmonth Gardens, the north of the city and beyond. Breakfast was taken in the basement conservatory and consisted of a fine selection of hot and cold dishes. There were several communal areas to sit and relax and a open coal effect gas fire in the reception area made for a very welcoming atmosphere. We will stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Let me preface with this: I travel A LOT. Mostly for work, but some personal. I've stayed at many hotels around the world, of every caliber. I can say with 100% honesty that the my stay at Channings will be remembered forever.

Our trip was booked last minute, one month before departing to celebrate New Years in Edinburgh. We chose Channings based upon Trip Advisor reviews. The property looked quaint, the location quiet and lovely, and the reviews really sold us on our selection. All this being said, nothing could have prepared me for just how beautiful a stay it truly would be.

My confidence that we'd made the right choice in terms of accommodations was solidified weeks before our arrival. I had emailed our hotel to make sure the room had two beds (as I was rooming with a friend), within hours I had an email confirmation, followed by a phone call and offers to help us plan our trip. Our concierge, Scott, truly loves his city and poured that love and attention into helping us with our plans... or actually making our plans for us. Everything was turn-key and easy. He made sure to tell us the best places to stand to watch events like the Torchlight Procession and the Fireworks, the best places to shop, the best restaurants for any cuisine you can imagine, the must see attractions and tours, etc. so that we got the most out of our short, 5 day trip. He took the time to ask questions, get to know the types of things we'd be interested in doing and surprised us daily with additions to our itinerary which, all together, made this literally the trip of a lifetime.

Scott wasn't the only member of the staff who made our trip memorable, everyone at Channings was warm, welcoming and lovely. On our last night (NYE) we arrived back at Channings well after midnight, tired and hungry but still reeling from the excitement of the night. The kitchen was closed but Kevin, the night concierge, graciously appeared with a sandwich to tie us over til morning. The best part was... he cut off the crust. C'mon now! I LOVE THIS HOTEL and I will certainly return.

Thank you Channings! I hope you all know how special you are!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The incomparable staff at Channings made my recent holiday in Edinburgh absolutely magical. Channings is located in a quiet, beautiful neighborhood with very easy access to all that Edinburgh has to offer- shopping, sights, pubs and fun. Situated on a gorgeous street in a lovely set of townhouses, Channings is incredibly charming and its employees felt like old friends. Willing to go the extra mile for us, they made sure we had bookings in the best restaurants and tickets for the best events. A clean, comfortable setting, Channings really made our stay perfect. I'd give anything to be sitting in front of the fire at Channings enjoying a glass of prosecco right now!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back have a lovely garden view. I asked for a room facing the street and was not d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Well worth a visit, all staff polite and attentive.we stayed in the endurance suite. The additional cost to stay in the suite was well worth it just for the bathroom alone. Beautiful roll top bath and power shower.
Breakfast was buffet plus full english and supplements for fish dishes.
Dined in the restaurant , menu limited however food well presented and tasted good.
Overall an excellant stay and would love to return.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Just back from a 3 night stay at Channings and would definitely recommend this hotel! We stayed in one of the themed superior rooms, with an amazing bathroom and rooftop views over Edinburgh. The staff were the friendliest I've ever encountered, helpful with every request. The breakfast was fab with lots to choose from, definitely worth paying extra for if it is not included in your room rate. We did eat in the bar on our first night though and the food was fairly average. The hotel is a short walk from Edinburgh centre, around 10-15 minutes leisurely walk, but we were aware of this and it wasn't a problem.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Channings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channings Hotel

Address: 12-16 S Learmonth Gardens, Edinburgh EH4 1EZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Stockbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Channings Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Channings in Edinburgh is an informal, relaxed hotel with a very friendly approach. It occupies five Edwardian townhouses in Stockbridge, one of Edinburgh's most popular 'urban villages'. To suit its location slightly away from the city centre, Channings is a wonderfully quirky property which feels a bit like a Scottish country home, full of charming Victorian paintings, prints, books, furniture and memorabilia that owner Peter Taylor has collected over the years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Channings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Channings Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Channings Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.