We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cozy hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Channings Hotel

Save Saved
You added Channings Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Channings Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12-16 S Learmonth Gardens, Edinburgh EH4 1EZ, Scotland (Stockbridge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 147 hotels in Edinburgh
Ontario
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very cozy hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We loved our room at the Channings Hotel. Our room was large, with high ceilings, but felt so cozy. The breakfast was great with plenty of selection, including a large continental buffet and hot food choices. The concierge was extremely friendly and gave us lots of great tips and a good recommendation for dinner. The only downfall is that it was a bit of a walk to get to the city center (especially when it's raining).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    366
    186
    75
    22
    12
See reviews for
58
330
39
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This is a good hotel, with the potential to be a great hotel. Excellent friendly staff who seem to go out of their way to help visitors, especially those from abroad, which is a credit to the hotel and the city. Rooms very clean and spacious; 'common areas' on the ground-floor well-appointed and relaxing. Excellent breakfast with plenty of choice. The bar is a disaster: worn and uncomfortable chairs; sticky tables; only bitter beers on offer are fizzy and flavourless; almost £2 for a small bowl of crisps; and bar-food poor value for money (too salty and too expensive). The poor bar food is particularly surprising as the food in the restaurant is good, well-cooked and presented.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darnestown
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Using Trip Advisor, we chose Channings for our two days in Edinburgh before hiking in the Isle of Skye. Upon arrival from the airport, we found ourselves in a residential area close to the center of the city and were welcomed as if we were family. Scott took our bags up to the third floor where he introduced us to the James Caird room, named after the small boat Ernest Shackleton used for his incredible journey in Antarctica a hundred years ago. Being Shackleton aficionados, we were surprised and delighted to find Channings was composed of five row houses including Shackleton's residence when he was in the Scottish Geographical Society. We had effectively three rooms, a bedroom, a sitting room and a large bathroom, all decorated with magnificent photos by Frank Hurley from Shackleton's Antarctic exploration. After we had settled in, Scott gave us a quick review of the city and what we might wish to do. On our one full day there, the weather was beautiful and we walked to the Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh (see our review). Breakfast and dinner were served in the hotel's basement eating area (we used the Bar) where we had delightful experiences (see our review!). The room was clean, quiet and with the openable dormer windows, we were able to keep it cool even with the heat outside. When I needed to print and scan a document, Jamie could do that easily and happily. We were encouraged to peruse Shackleton's library there and borrow a book for the night. When we left, we felt that this was a wonderful welcome to Edinburgh, given the quality and quiet of the room, the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, and the enjoyable experience in the hotel's delightful Bar eating area.

Room Tip: The named rooms on the third floor seemed to be generously large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I was looking forward to my stay in Edinburgh, but i found Channings a little disappointing. The room was clean and the bathroom adaquate but just lacked that little something.
I found the bed very hard and our double had two single duvets.
Breakfast in the conservatory was good, and the staff were polite and helpful.
There is on street parking, its free between 5:30pm and 8:00am.
I found Channings to be adaquate, but as I have said it lacks that something special

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, TN
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Channings for the last three days of our Scotland vacation, and it turned out to be a great choice. The staff was so welcoming there, and it was the perfect place to relax after busy days of sightseeing. Scott K. in particular was very helpful and friendly, and I am so grateful for all his assistance.
We stayed in a Junior Suite and found it to be spacious and comfortable. The bath was large with nice tile, with a shower in the large bathtub. The separate sitting room had a large bay window with a nice view. There were tea supplies in the sitting room that were promptly replenished every time we used them.
Two minor criticisms about the room: The showerhead in the bathtub was finicky and not up to the standard of the rest of the room. Also, it would have been nice to have had an inside lock on the room door. We had a maid enter our room one morning before breakfast when we forgot to leave the "Do Not Disturb" sign on our door.
As for the food, the breakfast was always good, and the evening meals we had there were also quite tasty. Service was sometimes slow, but we've found this to be the case all over Scotland. I suspect there is just a different standard, but it can be a little frustrating if you're trying to meet a schedule.
I liked the quiet location. It was nice to be out of the craziness of Princes Street, especially with the current noisy road construction going on in that area. When we needed to get to the city centre, we either walked (15 minutes with some uphill sections) or hopped the #41 or #36 bus at the nearby stop on Queensferry Road.
Overall a wonderful place to stay, and a great value also. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Room 40 is a Junior Suite and was spacious and very comfortable. However, it is up two flights of st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

Not our honey moon but it was great to be allocated room 1. It was beautifully appointed with a bath worthy of a 5 star suite. Very quiet although we were up early for the Edinburgh Half Marathon. The staff were so helpful with nothing too much trouble. Would recommend this hotel for individuals and couples. It is a good ten minute walk into the city centre but not a problem.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Breakfast was included and was good. It's quite a walk to the castle and the Royal Mile. We ended up taking a bus once and a taxi once (when it was raining) to get back and forth. You can only park for free in front of the hotel from 5:30 p.m. to 8:30 a.m. Scott at the front desk was super sweet and helpful! Room was nice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Channings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channings Hotel

Address: 12-16 S Learmonth Gardens, Edinburgh EH4 1EZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Stockbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#34 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Channings Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Channings in Edinburgh is an informal, relaxed hotel with a very friendly approach. It occupies five Edwardian townhouses in Stockbridge, one of Edinburgh's most popular 'urban villages'. To suit its location slightly away from the city centre, Channings is a wonderfully quirky property which feels a bit like a Scottish country home, full of charming Victorian paintings, prints, books, furniture and memorabilia that owner Peter Taylor has collected over the years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Channings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Channings Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Channings Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.