We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Edinburgh Festival” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Waverley Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Old Waverley Hotel to your Saves list
The Old Waverley Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   43 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2BY, Scotland (New Town)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #107 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Edinburgh Festival”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We have stayed at The Old Waverley before. We choose it mainly for it's position on Princess Street. The breakfast was very good and the staff were helpful, although most of them didn't speak English very well, so it was sometimes hard to understand them. Our room was comfortable but noisy, overall we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    471
    253
    92
    100
See reviews for
195
501
111
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Genova
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Very convenient for airport bus and rail station. Literally five minutes from the Castle and Royal Mile. Access to hotel from street to first floor (second for Americans) by stairs only; not easy if travelling with heavy bags. Carpeting rather tatty and worn. Our room, at the front of the building, had a good view of Princes Street Gardens and up to the Castle. And music: there was a bagpiping busker on the corner of Waverley Bridge from morning to evening. The old floor slopes gently from the window towards the bathroom. Otherwise quite comfortable, except for the wash-basin in the bathroom, set too high. Only one lift from reception to six floors of rooms; absolutely insufficient. Acceptable buffet-style breakfast, although black pudding on the dry side. Staff very courteous and helpful.

Room Tip: Only the rooms at the front have views of the Gardens and Castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I booked the Old Waverley hotel because it is so close to the train station. A few problems. There is a fairly high staircase when you come in the front door from the street to the reception.[app. 25 stairs -no elevator]. When you get up about 8 stairs, dragging your suitcases there is a buzzer which will get someone to help with you bags. Their website says only that is is not handicapped accessible. It is more than that. Then you cannot check into 3 pm - they will not check to see if any rooms happen to be ready, not will they do the paper work to save time later- both for them and for the client. So at 3 pm the reception area is very crowded.
Bedroom OK. Breakfast OK. I orderd a chicken caesar salad for dinner that night. It was the worst I have ever had. I pulled out about 1/3 of a cup of anchovies that were the size of my little finger . Oil only on the wilted lettuce. No sign of lemon or vingar-- an oily fishy mess. I brought it to the attention of the waiter and showed him the pile of anchovies but he just shrugged . I was charged full price for the unedible salad. Needless to say I didn't eat there again. Dinning room almost empty - I guess I should have taken that as a clue to the quality of food.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Having booked an Amazon deal with Cranstons restaurant online in advance, we were a little surprised to being seemingly unexpected! When we arrived we told to sit down and there we sat for around 10/15 minutes before I finally approached another member of staff who then did ensure someone came to take an order. Afternoon tea came as the choice of one sandwich filling and two other items chosen from scones or cakes. The scones were warm although a little heavy but with a choice of jams and sufficient cream for two. Cakes sounded good but were less inspiring when tasted - I had the carrot cake which was a little dry and made me wish I had had my alternate choice of a chocolate brownie cake - who knows whether this would have been an improvement. The tea itself was served as a teabag in the cup with a teapot full,of hot water. however the waiter did bring another smaller pot of hot water on request. The restaurant was in the process of 'setting up for diner" at 3pm so it was suggested we would stay in the smaller reception room, which was quite pleasant. The deal I had booked ensured a £2/person discount and at less than £14 - this was an acceptable deal. However if you want a special afternoon tea experience, this is probably not the place to go. Most of the staff appear to be mildly disinterested at best, although our actual waiter (?David) was an improvement and more pleasant. You can teach them the job but not the courtesy it would seem for many of the staff here. The saying - you get what you pay for- is certainly true here. Acceptable but no great shakes !

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
As much as we welcome all guest feedback - this review seems rather muddled. We have never sold any product, least of all Afternoon Tea, through Amazon, we never serve Afternoon Tea in Cranston's - always in The Abbotsford Room, we do not set up for dinner during the day - this is done after breakfast with the exception of any tables that are used for lunch and we do not have a waiter called David. That said, I encourage all potential customers to experience for themselves our Afternoon Tea, a product and service of which we are all very proud
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Daughter and I took our first visit to Edinburgh and chose this hotel based on its proximity to the train station. It was even closer than I thought from looking at the map! Got out of the train station and walked maybe 3-4 minutes to the hotel. It is located above a department store and yes, as other people have mentioned, it has about 20 steps 5 or so at a time) to go up until you get to the check-in desk. We didn't have much problem but many people might. Check in was quick and our room was at the end of a hall on the 4th floor. Bathroom was nice - updated- towel warmer , small granite sink - but was small. Room had a closet with ironing board and plenty of hangers. The bed was a double and comfortable. Sheets and bedding were very clean. Flat screen tv worked well. There was a small desk that was useful for one of us to have to put our makeup on as the bathroom was a bit small for both of us. The room was nicely decorated with reds and yellows and was quiet at night. The one thing I didn't like so much was that the window wouldn't shut completely. Keep in mind this hotel is old - my mother-in-law's house originally had windows like this and her house was 90 years old. But it shut as much as it could and there were heavy curtains that closed in front of it and I heard no noise nor felt cold air. Our reservation came with breakfast - which we tried the first morning - I do not recommend breakfast. It was awful. The scrambled eggs tasted odd and we were not impressed with offerings. No big deal as we found a Pret a Manger nearby! The hotel is close to shopping and many pubs. We also found a Sainsbury a couple block down the road away from the old town. We would probably try this hotel again if we ever travel to Edinburgh again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
A charming review and my thanks for the special words regarding our location and bedrooms. I am sorry to read that breakfast was not up to scratch on this occasion and have addressed this with the Chef who would also like to apologize.
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holsworthy, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We chose the Old Waverley because of its central location, this being our first visit to Edinburgh, and in this respect the hotel met our requirements. Throughout our visit to this hotel, staff were first class - friendly and very helpful.

The room had an old world charm to it, albeit a little shabby (but chic!) and rather on the small side. Bathroom was fine. Lack of air conditioning was not a problem, even though it was August.

On the negative side, the bed was awful. Turning over in the night was accompanied by the sound of the springs rearranging themselves!! We were also surprised to learn there was a charge (£5 a day) to use the internet connection. Even the Airbus link to the airport provided free internet access.... We only used the restaurant for breakfast and share some of the the other guests' negative views. A tin opener must be essential for kitchen staff - tinned fruit and other tinned components of the breakfast were evident. Nevertheless we never left the table hungry and my wife enjoyed the coffee

Room Tip: If you want air conditioning, make sure you ask at the time of booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Many thanks for your kind words about the hotel and its staff. I am surprised to hear you did not find the bed extremely comfortable as all our beds have been recently replaced. Please let me know which room you were in so we can investigate - unfortunately you appear to have left the hotel without bringing it to our attention.
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedale
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed at the Old Waverley Hotel when we visited Edinburgh for the Fringe. It is within easy walking distance of most of the Fringe venues and Edinburgh Waverley train station. Clean, comfortable and very efficient. My 5th floor room was compact and had AC which was not used, The double bed seemed small but we are used to a King Size. We arrived before the check in time and the receptionist immediately offered to place our bag in their left luggage room. We were also allowed to leave our bag all of the next day before our late train home. Excellent breakfast. All of the staff were friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
The Fringe is my very favourite part of the year - when the city just comes alive! My thanks, then, for choosing the Old Waverley for such a special time and for leaving such a fabulous review. See you next August?
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Waverley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Waverley Hotel

Address: 43 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2BY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Waverley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modernized hotel in building dating from 1848; overlooking Princes Gardens and the Scott Monument; with views of Edinburgh Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your The Old Waverley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Waverley Hotel
Old Waverley Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hotel Waverley
Edinburgh Hotel Old Waverly
Waverley Hotel Edinburgh
The Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Waverley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.