We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Old Waverley hotel Edinburgh” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Waverley Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Old Waverley Hotel to your Saves list
The Old Waverley Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   43 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2BY, Scotland (New Town)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #107 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Palanga, Lithuania
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The Old Waverley hotel Edinburgh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

This building is in the excellent place of Victorian Edinburgh. It is the first hotel in Edinburgh(1848). Three stars hotel is comfortable, clean, good Scotish breakfast. Very polite and kind staff.
You will see wonderful landscape of Edinburgh and Magnificant statue -chapel for greatest Scotish writer Walter Scott

Room Tip: If you want to see Edinburgh choose rooms to Princess street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    469
    252
    92
    100
See reviews for
194
500
111
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

My daughter and I stayed for 3 nights in June, 2012. The hotel is older, but was comfortable, even though the carpeting throughout was worn and in need of replacement. The location for us was great, as it was within easy walking distance of the Edinburgh Waverley Train Station. Getting up into the hotel is a bit difficult as there are many stairs to climb which is sort of difficult with heavy luggage but we did manage. There is a porter service call button, but we waited over 10 minutes and no one showed up so we decided to bite the bullet and haul the luggage up ourselves. The room was a little on the smaller side - which was fine as all we did was sleep there, and it was clean and comfortable. There was no closet in our room, only a clothing/storage rack beside the bed. There was a large flat screen tv in our room which was great. The bathroom was also clean, but could use some more storage space. I was a little put off by the extra charge for internet. For goodness sake if you have it available, then offer it to your guests! I would stay here again, but if you are looking for a lot of amenities, you may want to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penrith
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

very clean and comfortable hotel,good location for all attractions from the shops to the night life...room has every thing you could want for your stay from big bed to big bath/shower with loads hot water etc...tv,coffee/tea biscuits..the only downside was the curtains near the bed didnt meet when shut so we got lights shining through......staff very friendly on reception and at breakfast,which was also v good

Room Tip: good view from 114 and bar area over princess street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Another gracious review of The Old Waverley. I would like to thank this reviewer for their kind comments; I am delighted to hear how satisfied they were with the in-room facilities and the friendliness of our team. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We stayed here during June 2012 in the middle of the construction in front of the hotel on Prince Street. I had a great GPS Nav system in my car to direct me to the hotel, but no one told us there were street closures and diversions and therefore no way to get to the front of the hotel to drop of our luggage. Finally find a spot to park, walk 3 blocks to hotel to check in, no one available to help with luggage. You need to pull your luggage up 2 1/2 flight of stairs just to get to the lobby then to the elevator. it would have been nice to have advanced notice of the issues with street closures and parking. They did offer a 10% discount on parking in a car park about a 10 minute walk but they failed to tell me to get the car park 'button' vailidated at the front desk before paying in order to get the discount.
This place charges 5 pounds a day for Wi-Fi...reallly.!!!! Every place else its free....other then these issues, its a good place in a Great location, close to everything

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, unfortunately the works on Princes Street have lead to a small amount of unavoidable disruption which has been out of our control, although we are delighted to advise guests that Princes Street is now open for busses and taxis once again. I am glad to hear that once you got parked up you were able to enjoy our excellent location in the heart of a wonderful city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

This hotel is positioned across the road from the central station and across from the central park which makes it a fantastic location from which to walk out from. We had a triple room which suited our needs perfectly, nice big windows and a view out to the castle to boot. The room was nice and quiet but a little warm and opening the window would make it a little too noisy. Only negative is accessibility if arriving by car. There are major roadworks in front of the hotel at the moment but even if there weren't it wouldn't change the double yellow lines and incredibly busy streets surrounding the hotel. Stopping to drop people and luggage is not possible. Parking is a good half mile from the hotel in a parking building so a bit of a hike with luggage and the discount the hotel supplied didn't seem to make much of a dent in the 24 pounds (!!!) for the overnight parking. I would definitely not recommend this hotel to people looking for parking. I would prefer that hotels not suggest they have parking if they are just going to refer you to a parking building down the road. It is misleading.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Thank you for your review. Pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay in one of our rooms overlooking Princes Street gardens and the castle. Our fantastic city center location does make parking a little difficult as I am sure you will understand, however I am pleased our team were able to assist you with finding overnight parking.

We look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit to Edinburgh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Old Waverley is the typical British mid range hotel. Good services, nice room, bar / restaurant with a great view on the Old Town. Is is 5 minutes walk from the train station and right in the middle of everything. Edinburgh is not big but within 15 minutes walk from Old Waverley you have shops (dull Prices Street, lovely New Town, touristy Royal Mile), restaurants and cafes and pubs (Rose Street), the Scottish National Gallery, Princes Street Gardens, public transport and the main tourist information office.
My room was a decent size, clean, well appointed and comfortable. Service was overall good and the only disappointment was breakfast - slightly messy set up, limited choice and very average quality (it is cheap though).
Old Waverley is ideal to visit the city at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review The Old Waverley. I am delighted that our friendly staff consistently get mentioned as I consider them to be a great asset to the hotel. As you mention we occupy an enviable location right on Edinburgh’s famous Princes Street with all the city’s landmarks just a short walk away, making the hotel an ideal base. I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in May, 2012. We chose it for it's central location and it looked comfortable from pictures on the website. It is not fancy, but it is comfortable and very clean. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful and the breakfast was very good. We had a room on the top floor during a heat wave, so the room was quite warm, but the front desk gave us a fan which helped. The street noise disapeared when we closed the window at night and the room had mostly cooled by then.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you were able to take advantage of our excellent position on Princes Street. Due to the age of our historic hotel the rooms can heat up quite quickly when we have unusually hot weather but I am pleased to hear our front desk team were able to offer a fan to cool the room.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Old Waverley in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Waverley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Waverley Hotel

Address: 43 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2BY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Waverley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modernized hotel in building dating from 1848; overlooking Princes Gardens and the Scott Monument; with views of Edinburgh Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Old Waverley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Waverley Hotel
Old Waverley Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hotel Waverley
Edinburgh Hotel Old Waverly
Waverley Hotel Edinburgh
The Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Waverley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.