We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two Days leishure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ballantrae Albany Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ballantrae Albany Hotel to your Saves list
Ballantrae Albany Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39 - 47 Albany Street, Edinburgh EH1 3QY, Scotland (Broughton & Calton)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free drink offer
Ranked #129 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Adelboden, Switzerland
1 review
“Two Days leishure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2009

Hotel wasa great old Victorioan House remodeled as Hotel with all the modern comfort. Staff was great and helpful always a smile on the face and expectionally helpful. Also the attached restaurannt Haldanes is a great point 1.st for Breakfast and then also for Dinner wit great Scottish specialities.

Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    134
    110
    76
    75
See reviews for
44
227
42
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2009

me and my gorgeous girlfriend arrived mid nov at the albany ballantrae and was taken aback by the grandeure with what faces u as u enter.
Apart from the uniqeness an cleanliness of the hotel the location is as good as it gets from a city hotel, tucked away in a eloquent side street 5 mins away from the centre of the beautifull city.
the customer service is also as good as iv ever seen, will definatly go back, keep up the good work chaps......bravo!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2009

Loved this hotel, cosy, central, customer service was very good. would definately stay there again ;D

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2009

I stayed at the hotel for 2 nights and during this stay I had no hot water! I had travelled with 3 other couples and they endured the same problem. Promises were made that this would be rectified and I doubt it has been as I write this now. We were made to walk through the hotel to the other side to use showering facilies with our clothes in hand and lose our dignity having to walk aroud with wet hair. Promises were made to allow us to move rooms but this did not happen. Promises were also made that we would be able to speak to the hotel manager - apparently no-one was on duty through the weekend. We were promised a manager would be on site sunday morning as we departed but surprise suprise this did not happen. I have just spoken to the manager to get this issue resolved after waiting for 5 days!! The owner will not speak with guests which I find disgusting. I must warn people not to give their pin number to reception on arrival members of our party had monies taken from thier accounts when they were promised non would be taken until management had spoken with us - this is a criminal offence and is hand!
I have grave concerns that if there were no hot water in the hotel in places what about health and safety as legionella is a risk!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2009

We had booked this hotel for a special birthday celebration. On arrival on friday 13th our first problem was that there was no key to the room and in the end we had to have the master key and were told one could not be cut until Monday.
Our next hiccup was that the television did not work so we fetched maintenance and it was later that we learned that you had to switch on the picture lights before you could switch on the television and leave them on.
The heating and water failed at 3pm but as we were going out to see a show we were reassured that it would all be working when we returned. This proved not to be the case at all. We had travelled up from York that morning we were wet as it was raining heavily and all we could do was go to bed wet cold and dirty.
The heating was still not working on saturday morning and still no hot water. We were told at 7.30.that the engineer would be here at 8pm and it would be working shortly afterwards.
We were offered a single room in the other part of the hotel in which to shower this involved trooping with towels and wet hair through the hotel, My husband had already boiled a kettle to have a shave.
On returning to the hotel at 3pm on the Saturday we still had no hot water and no heating and the room was freezing, Who goes to a hotel to sit in their fleece jacket?
The heating eventually came on whilst we were out on Saturday evening.
However out of the 2 radiators in the room only 1 worked so it was still cold. The heated towel rail in the bathroom did not work either.
On checking out we voiced our complaints to the Revenues manager who was on the desk but he said he was not in authority to offer and refunds etc although he agreed with our comments.He said he would speak to the proprietor and he would contact us by e mail either later that day or the following day. WE ARE STILL WAITING IF YOU ARE OUT THERE AND READ THIS.
Surely a 4 star hotel should have someone who can deal with problems as they arise and where was the owner of the hotel?
All in all a birthday weekend ruined, thank you.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2009

We stayed the same time as the group from Yorkshire and our experience couldn't have been any different. The room was lovely, the staff were extremely helpful and the public rooms both beautiful and comfortable. The only off-putting thing about the hotel was on coming down to go out for dinner on Saturday night there were a number of very loud northerners using very bad language which was not exactly what we expected.
I can definately recommend this hotel and the restaurant, Haldanes.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffs
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2009

my wife and i had never been to edinburgh before so didnt have much knowlege of hotels in the area, only of what was on show on the internet as this really can be like pulling at straws how ever this hotel was just like winning the lottery pure luxury at an a very affordable price. there are no lifts but help is always at hand as all the staff are very polite and helpful at all times and the city centre is just a stones throw away and what a stunning city it is to a weekend is nowhere near long enough to enjoy all it has to offer hence the reason we have booked for a longer stay next year . what a wonderful place.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ballantrae Albany Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballantrae Albany Hotel

Address: 39 - 47 Albany Street, Edinburgh EH1 3QY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#60 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballantrae Albany Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the The Ballantrae Albany Hotel a wonderful Grade A listed Georgian town house building and one of Edinburgh's best boutique hotel's. The Hotel is located in the heart of the lively city of Edinburgh, just a short walk from the best attractions of the city. The hotel has a total of 42 en-suite rooms all fitted with modern amenities to meet your needs including Satellite TV and tea/coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Ballantrae Albany Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballantrae Albany Edinburgh
Hotel Ballantrae Albany
Albany Hotel Edinburgh
Ballantrae Albany Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballantrae Albany Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.