We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“interior design hostel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ballantrae Albany Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ballantrae Albany Hotel to your Saves list
Ballantrae Albany Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39 - 47 Albany Street, Edinburgh EH1 3QY, Scotland (Broughton & Calton)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free drink offer
Ranked #129 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
luxembourg
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“interior design hostel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

The pics on the website seduced me, I should have made the effort to look up the photos on tripadvisor. The room is ok and I really like the extravagant design but most of the furniture is partly broken, scratched, stained or dusty. It needs some tlc and a good clean overall and another serviceteam in general. The hotel's just a five minute walk away from Princes street. I'd book it again just based on its location.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    134
    110
    76
    75
See reviews for
44
227
42
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We stayed here just for one night after seeing Van Morrison at the Playhouse & got a reasonable deal at Laterooms. The position of the hotel is superb, on a quiet street in a very nice Georgian terrace pretty close to Waverly, the Omni & the Playhouse plus lots of good pubs & restaraunts.

The staff are excellent. Charming young lady at reception who shows you to your room & pleasant breakfast staff. We were in room 302 overlooking Alabany Street & the room was fine. The only noticeable thing was that the dusting wasn't done very well - only half way up the blinds & the sloping top of the wardrobe. I know it sounds a bit picky but the way the sun was shining through the huge & very clean windows it was hard to miss. The bed was vert comfortable & the bathroom perfectly adequate - shower only.

The breakfast was first class, the full Scottish monty with a very good continental buffet. Civilised breakfast times too - 8:30 until 10:30am I think on Sunday with an 11:00am checkout.

The hotel is happy for you to leave your bags at your own risk in the Reception area whilst you have a wander around the town for as long as you like.

Overall a very pleasant stay & we'd stay here again without hesitation. For a boutique hotel in this area at less than £100 I think it's very good vaue indeed.

Room Tip: I'd probably choose a room facing the quiet street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

The reviews of this hotel are quite mixed and I can understand why.
We stayed here for 2 nights last weekend (23rd & 24th March) on a visit to our son.
Located in Edinburgh new town, it is ideally situated away from the noise and bustle of Princes Street and The Royal Mile yet within easy walking distance of everything.
We had an executive double and I have to say the room was cavernous, as was the bathroom. True, some of the decor is not to my liking and parts of the hotel appear quite shabby - notably some of the corridors between the interlinking parts since the hotel consists of 2 houses that have been knocked into one. There are no lifts, but this doesn't bother us as much as it does some, we were on the 3rd floor and coped easily, and we are not youngsters.
The staff can only be described as perfect - we were warmly welcomed, easily checked in and shown to our room. All information regarding breakfast times etc was given on arrival and when we informed them we would be leaving before breakfast on Sunday, which starts at 08:30 we were told no problem and were able to book an early breakfast (no hot food) at 07:30 plus a wake up call for 06:30. Breakfast on the Saturday morning was an excellent full Scottish with the only minor issue being undercooked poached eggs - please give them an extra 2 minutes to ensure the egg white is properly cooked.
Would I stay here again - yes.
Overall I see this as work in progress and if they are prepared to invest some money in the 'shabby' decor then this will be an excellent hotel.

Room Tip: Most complaints about this hotel relate to the rooms so my advice is pay a little extra for an execu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

I stayed in the Albany in a double room (room 411) in March 2012. My room was at the very top and back of the hotel (view not amazing!), which meant a very long and windy journey up several flights of stairs as there is no lift. However, the hotel receptionist kindly walked me to my door after I checked in and pointed out all the major 'route markers' which would help me find my way back later (although i wasnt very successful).

The room was stunning. Spotlessly clean, comfy double bed, big telly, walk in wardrobe, desk, massive bathroom, bath, massive shower, two sinks and a telly over the bath. Couldnt get the telly over the bath to work but I think that might be the luddite in me rather than the hotel.

Hotel staff were helpful, booking me taxis as requested. Didn't have time to try the breakfast though, but the location is spot on.

I got a great rate through booking dot com, and overall worth the £60 I paid. Frankly, it was worth more than that!

Only downsides were that my room was very warm and there was no cold water in the taps, plus the small hike to find the room....

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Booked a single room for night 13th March 2012. Location of the hotel is excellent just a short walk from Waverley station. Checked in at 6pm given room 401 at the top of the hotel. To get to the room you have to climb two flights of stairs (no Lift). The room was very small dark and very dirty. As I was running late for a meeting so I did not complain. I had asked reception to book me a cab for 6.30pm after 7pm it still had not arrived. I went outside and got one within 5 mins walk. Got back to the hotel at 1am note on reception " night manager in the bar down stairs". Went down the stairs to get my key 2 hours later I went to bed. Jim the night manager is a great guy he will chat all night.

Bed very small I am 6" 1' did not get any sleep and at 6am the noise from the street was terrible. Breakfast was good and for £50 BB you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Say no to rooms on the top floor 401, 402 etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

We stayed at the Albany hotel on a trip to Scotland and i must say what a find. Booked this through laterooms and pleased i had, Excellent room, Very high ceiling, Best breakfast ive ever had in any hotel hands down, the choice was amazing. Checked in a 2pm short walk from waverley station, had a great tour on open top bus round Edinburgh, Then walked to George street later on for the bars and restaurants. Would stay here again on trip to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

just returned from overnight stay room fine breakfast lovely nice welcome from guy on reception showed us to our room offering to carry bags nice touch! we told him we were going to see a show and while checking out this morning asked if we enjoyed it we felt this was nice just wasnt making small talk he actually was listening. We would definately return again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ballantrae Albany Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballantrae Albany Hotel

Address: 39 - 47 Albany Street, Edinburgh EH1 3QY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#60 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballantrae Albany Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the The Ballantrae Albany Hotel a wonderful Grade A listed Georgian town house building and one of Edinburgh's best boutique hotel's. The Hotel is located in the heart of the lively city of Edinburgh, just a short walk from the best attractions of the city. The hotel has a total of 42 en-suite rooms all fitted with modern amenities to meet your needs including Satellite TV and tea/coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Ballantrae Albany Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballantrae Albany Edinburgh
Hotel Ballantrae Albany
Albany Hotel Edinburgh
Ballantrae Albany Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballantrae Albany Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.