We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy place, but with flaws.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Scots Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Scots Club to your Saves list
The Royal Scots Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Abercromby Place, Edinburgh EH3 6QE, Scotland (New Town)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Ballerup, Denmark
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Cosy place, but with flaws.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

And now for the bad things:
Maybe I was just very unlucky that I stayed in of the 2 lower bedrooms, but it was COLD and I couldn't heat up the room. It was late April and I think the room was colder than it was outside. Had to sleep with socks and a long sleeved shirt! In the +50 cities in +25 countries I have visited, I have never experienced such a cold room. The Bathroom had a nice size, except in hight. I am 186 cm, and I couldn't stand under the showerhead.

The staff was really friendly and helpful. Not only to me, but I also noticed that they provided good service to others. They deserve a top grade. However, I think that my experience with the cold room and lousy bath, I can't defend to give it higher than 3 stars. The general condition of the hotel isn't high, but on the other hand it's rather cheap so you can't expect too much.

All in all I'm sure that the're better places, and the next time I come to Edinburgh, I'll choose another hotel, and I won't recommend it to friends or family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    101
    22
    11
    8
See reviews for
38
124
13
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

top class hotel, very clean, you have to dress for breakfast, which is OK. fantastic location just 2 streets behind the famous princes street. rooms are spacious with a dressing area and seating for enjoying a spot of reading. rooms to the front over look a lovely park.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienenburg
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

5 - 10 minutes to walk to Waverly Station, the Hotel is opposite a park and not far to the town Center and the old town. In the nearer area a lot of bars and Restaurants. The public area in the Hotel is beautiful, but the wooden furnishings in the room are slightly used. But our room was very clean.
Cold and served warm breakfast was good. The coffee set with the HRH-Emblem.
The staff (especially the Lady with the curly hair at the reception) was very nice, very helpful and very friendly. We enjoy our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Great service, friendly staff and brilliant location. Usually stay here when in Edinburgh as part of my IoD Membership - good discount and superb location near the city centre. Fantastic breakfast served in wonderful setting. Happy for you to leave overnight bags for pick up after check out - great touch which saves real hassle.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delamere, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We booked to stay here for two nights in March 2013 using reciprocal membership of a club in Bristol.

The room was amazing. It had a four poster bed, tv, excellent bathroom and beautiful wooden fittings. The tea and coffee facilities were very good. Everything in the hotel smacked of quality and lent a luxurious feel to our stay. The public rooms were equally nice. The dining room served bespoke breakfasts and à la carte dinners. Breakfast portions were huge and definitely set us up for the day. The dinner menu displayed traditional Scottish food, which was well cooked and served by friendly and attentive staff.

The only downside to staying here is that parking is virtually impossible without paying the hefty Edinburgh prices, but this is a problem throughout the city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tipton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We chose the venue because of location and the events team made us feel so welcome. The food was outstanding all the staff were outstanding, we were made to feel very special. Nothing was to much trouble. We stayed on the night and the rooms were fabulous. In our option a excellent wedding venue.

Room Tip: Room 16 is a four poster room a very nice room to stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This was a surprise trip for me as my boyfriend had arrange a weekend away. He had family connections to The Royal Scots Club and wanted to share his childhood memories, Oh and while we were there he had arranged a whole "pop the question" event that included a traditional piper. The staff were wonderfully helpful and the setting has a quiet elegance that makes you feel very comfortable. Big Georgian windows overlooking a park and a cosy bar area with lots of sofas. We would definitely recommend this hotel for it's central but quiet location and the friendly, courteous staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Scots Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Scots Club

Address: 30 Abercromby Place, Edinburgh EH3 6QE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Scots Club 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of Edinburgh's finest Georgian streets this is a rare combination, the charm of a country house hotel with a cosy club atmosphere. Founded in 1919 as a tribute to those who fell in The Great War The Royal Scots Club is proud of its heritage. Courtesy, personal service and warm hospitality are at the very heart of the Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Royal Scots Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Scots Club Hotel Edinburgh
The Royal Scots Hotel
Royal Scots Hotel
The Royal Scots Club Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Scots Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.