We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gilmerton Cove

Gilmerton Cove
16A Drum Street, Edinburgh EH17 8QH, Scotland
+44 7914 829177
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #12 of 203 attractions in Edinburgh
Type: Historic Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Enter one of Scotland's most curious heritage sites. An archeological mystery that has baffled investigators for over 300 years. Gilmerton Cove is a series of chambers and passageways lying hidden beneath the streets on the South side of Edinburgh. Join us on a guided tour and help us unravel the mysteries of this strange mysterious labyrinth. Please note this attraction is by appointment only, please call to book a slot.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Really interesting tour here, quite a small area underground but the guides were excellent the explanations of what might have taken place there were really interesting.

I had been to Mary King's Close a few days before and felt it was a rip off, a 45 minute tour of stuff that wasn't much to do with Mary King's Close by some dressed in a costume rounded off with about 5 mins in Mary King's Close where we weren't allowed to take pics but then had to pose for a pic they tried to flog us, not impressed there at all.

In Gilmerton Cove I felt like I was learning something, the guide was really friendly and interesting, after going round the different chambers and listening to the theories about when they were made and who could of used them and getting a real feel of mystery about the place we were left alone to take as many pics as we wanted.

We went to Craigmillar castle (which is nearby Gilmerton cove) and then Gilmerton for the same price as visiting Mary King's Close, would advise the double of Craigmillar and Gilmerton over Mary King's any day.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    75
    9
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely tour guide and really unique attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I thoroughly enjoyed our trip to gilmertons cove, our tour guide was very knowledgeable and talked us through the history of the cove although it still remains a bit of a mystery as to how and why it was made. It was a really unusual attration and was a little bit scary but we got some awsome photos.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Gilmerton Cove”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

On a recent visit to Edinburgh we actively searched out this fantastic place after reading about it on the internet.....it's not easy to find though. It is situated a short drive out through Edinburgh suburbs at a place named Gilmerton. It's beneath a single storey unassuming building, just past a betting shop, on a crossroad.
You will have to book to go on a tour...there is a phone number pasted to the window by the entry door.
Tours last a fair amount of time and the guide is very good...you even have time after the tour to explore a little on your own and take as many photos as you like.
It's a series of linked cave-like rooms down below the street surface, chipped and carved out by some-one with very basic tools. If you have ever been to Malta, it bears comparison with St Pauls and St Agathas catacombs.
Even though there are stories of it's use over the years and many experts have investigated the cove, no-one really knows how, why or when it was created.
I highly recommend going to see it and forming your own opinions :)

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We visited the cove today - 27th Jan 2013 and had the most amazing time. The tour guide was fantastic full of interesting facts and knowledge. She takes you down to the cove and explains everything and then you are free to explore youself and take pictures. You get to ask loads of questions and the tours are small - only 5 of us on our one. The guide ( sorry we didn't catch your name) enjoyed asking what our theories were and very very engaging. We all decided probably the best tour we have been on all weekend. Would highly recommend it. Not sure if anyone reads these reviews from gilmerton cove but we listened on line to the ghost recording and we could make out never mind! Very creepy!!!
Thanks you for an amazing experience.
Danielle, Alayna and Terry.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fascinating and Intriguing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

It's hard to believe that behind the unassuming door on a busy street is this mysterious and fascinating historical treasure! The guide is lovely, knowledgeable and her obvious enthusiasm and energy for the caves enhances the tour. The fact that there are so many questions around the origins and uses of the caves left me thinking about it and speculating long after we left. As other reviewers have said, wrap up warm as it's cold in the caves but I cant recommend this tour highly enough!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gilmerton Cove also viewed

South Queensferry, Edinburgh
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Gilmerton Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gilmerton Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Gilmerton Cove to your Saves list