We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Melting Pot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Emmaus House, Edinburgh SCIO

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Emmaus House, Edinburgh SCIO
Save
You added Emmaus House, Edinburgh SCIO to your Saves list
14 Gilmore Place, Edinburgh EH3 9NQ, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 440 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Western Isles
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Melting Pot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

I have stayed at Emmaus House about half a dozen times sometimes on my own and sometimes with another person. It is a really welcoming and homely place when visiting the city of Edinburgh.
Many people seem to be coming and going and it is always an enriching experience.
The communal table is a great place for people to meet others on their respective journeys. There is a great respect for every person of any persuasion, race or ethnicity. The breakfast is healthy with choices of fruit, yoghurts, bread or croissants and also a range of cereals.
There is a dog in the house called Guinness who is a lovely gentle character. The staff are all friendly and could not be more helpful.
There is a winding staircase as is typical in this type of house. The rooms are mostly en suite, very clean and in good repair. There is a TV in the shared lounge but not the bedrooms which I preferred but might not suit everyone.
Emmaus House is located near Tollcross and there is easy access to buses to get across the city. There is a 'holy hut' - a large, bright and welcoming place to pray in the garden which offers a reflective space seldom found in today's busy, noisy world.

Room Tip: There is only one room on the ground floor for folks who will struggle with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
17
50
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

A wonderful welcome and I felt right at home here! I stayed here for four days, and then returned for four more days. Emmaus House is a great location and there is plenty to see and do in Edinburgh. It is convenient for buses to the city centre and to the airport. Andrew and Janet are very helpful and welcoming. Breakfast is shared together at a large table and evening meals are tasty home-cooking and good value too.
The large library lounge is available for guests and if guests want to attend short chapel services in the morning and evening they are welcome. If you want a comfortable place to stay where you will meet friendly people, then I highly recommend Emmaus House!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

I stayed for a few nights at Emmaus House while defending my PhD thesis. It was so nice to have a "home" to come back to during this stressful time. Everyone there was very supportive. The communal meals and prayers were wonderful. The weather was gorgeous, soft fluffy snow lay over everything, mind you the locals did not seem to appreciate this as much as I did. Heck I even got to do a bunch of snow shoveling which, for this Canadian, was a plus. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for two nights in February 2011 and were given the warmest of welcomes by Janet et al. What a place! Perfect location and very reasonable - they ought to charge more frankly! Lovely en suite room. Other more permanent guests were very welcoming too, and there is a chapel at the back of the lovely house for evening and morning prayers (sadly we missed all of these). Communal meals (if you were on time!) and given own key to come and go as we pleased. Brilliant, and unforgettable.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

Emmaus House is a delightful place to stay. I've stayed several times now, keep going back. It's like a home from home, run by such lovely people. They are so warm and welcoming (without being remotely 'in your face'), unlike many B&B's I've stayed in. The bedrooms are spacious, comfortable, en suite, and the breakfasts are great. You eat around one large wooden table in an informal and comfortable dining room, so if you want to be alone with your own tiny table in a big corporate dining area this may not be the place for you. Personally, I love the homely feel of it and the warm welcome. The location is great too, very close to the centre yet in a fairly quiet residential road. really good value too. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

I have stayed at Emmaus House a few times and am always moved by the warmth of the welcome my friends and I receive from Janet and Andrew, and their gorgeous dog Guiness. There is an openess and inclusiveness about the place, and an eagerness to help guests to get the most out of their stay, both in the house and in Edinburgh. Breakfast, and the optional evening meals, are lovingly prepared, with any dietary requirements taken into account and catered for, and meal are eaten together at one long table in the cosy dining room. Most rooms are en-suite and of good size. My only concern about Emmaus House is that they don't charge enough - the low cost in no way reflects the quality of what they have to offer.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Emmaus House, Edinburgh SCIO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emmaus House, Edinburgh SCIO

Address: 14 Gilmore Place, Edinburgh EH3 9NQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 440 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inclusive Christian community offering accommodation for holiday, business/study or retreat. Warm welcome irrespective of age, gender, sexual orientation, religious tradition. Guests welcome to share in meals; meet others from around the world & local visitors. Near city centre,so easily reached on foot or by bus. Convenient to theatres, cinemas, restaurants, pubs, EICC, universities. Georgian terraced villa. Accommodation: family, double, twin, single - most en-suite. Ground floor room available. Sitting room. Wifi internet. Happy to help with enquiries about the house, this wonderful city, local transport, and other local attractions in Lothian. Our visitor reviews give a very good perspective on staying with us. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Emmaus House, Edinburgh SCIO Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emmaus House, Edinburgh SCIO, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.