We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value for money in an excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of easyHotel Edinburgh

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
easyHotel Edinburgh
Save
You added easyHotel Edinburgh to your Saves list
125A Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 4AD, Scotland (New Town)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic value for money in an excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Excellent location and room was functional and clean. Probably a bit small for a longer stay but given that the room was cheaper than the taxi ride from the airport I don't think you can complain! Definitley recomend

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
easyHotel_Edinburgh, Manager at easyHotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. I am pleased that we have met your expectations and you enjoyed your stay at easyHotel Edinburgh.
I appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Best regards,
Management representative
easyHotel Edinburgh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    109
    78
    31
    40
See reviews for
15
132
48
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

If you want somewhere to rest for the night and that's cheap and not more, this is fine. They don't clean the room after a night unless you pay more, the walls are paper thin (so you can enjoy everyone elses noises at night which is fun) and the room is weeny. But it's a bed. The night where we couldn't hear our neighbours, the sleep was great, the other night... not so great. The lcoation however, is very central and really good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
easyHotel_Edinburgh, Manager at easyHotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us.
I appreciate your comments and I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. I would also like to apologise if you had experienced any issues with the noise during your second night.
Thank you once again for taking the time to share your thoughts.

I look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Edinburgh


Best Regards,
Management representative
easyHotel Edinburgh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed in room with no window - this wasn't as bad an experience as we thought it would be.

Don't book a room here if you want to spend time in your hotel room, but as somewhere just to sleep it is fine.

Very clean, plenty of power points (given the size of the room!) and had a vey comfy bed. The 10am checkout time is quite harsh, would be better if later. Reception staff were pleasant. Good coffee from the vending machine and ok selection of snacks.

Would stay again if getting cheaper deal - we paid £40 as it was last minute we decided to go, not sure it's worth that although the location is very good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
easyHotel_Edinburgh, Manager at easyHotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.
I am glad to hear that you were satisfied with your stay. Our room prices do vary depending on the time of the week, availability etc. so the rates can be lower. We also offer a late checkout for an extra fee of £10 and that would give you until 1pm.

I hope we get a chance to welcome you again soon.

Best Regards,
Management representative
easyHotel Edinburgh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Datteln, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I have stayed in a small room with a window with my sister. If you consider booking such a room, keep in mind that it is really small. Storaging two bigger suitcases might be difficult.
Unfortunately it wasn't possible to open the window. Thus we couldn't open it while sleeping or after using the shower which included dampness for a while! So we think that it isn't worth to book a room with a window as long as you are just staying there during night. Furthermore it took a while to get hot water. But all in all we were satisfied with our stay in Easyhotel/Edinburg! It was cheap, clean and central! And as far as we are small, the small room wasn't a problem!

Room Tip: Do not take a room with a window! You cannot open it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
easyHotel_Edinburgh, Manager at easyHotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review regarding your stay at our EasyHotel in Edinburgh. Unfortunately all windows are sealed shut due to Health and Safety reasons and we are sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused you. However, I was delighted to note that you found our hotel clean, very well located and you were satisfied with your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Best Regards,
Management representative
easyHotel Edinburgh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thetford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

There's a point in human experience where hospitality morphs into punishment..where a hotel room morphs into a prison cell and I suspect Easy Hotel is pretty much sitting on that cusp..there's not much in it (literally and metaphorically) but I suspect inmates at Strangeways would be on the roof in protest were they to be confined to such a paltry space...and it just about qualifies as a space...a room it is not..in fact we had room 2.3 with 2 referring to the floor and the point 3 to the fraction of a room it represents..just enough room to swing a very small porcelain cat assuming you've got very short arms..luckily unlike those in jail we have a choice to leave and enjoy the delights of Edinburgh...were this not the case I would know be waiting patiently for a frontal lobotomy right now...the idea of charging a fiver for the 'privilege' of watching TV takes the idea of stripping away all extras to the nth degree..good old Stellios taking the biscuit which he charges 80p for (exact change only) however I commend him for the way he found a use for his Easyjet airline toilet cast offs...i also commend him for stripping away any last vestige of what a hotel should be in the name of capitalism and pursuit of profit..this is however a novelty experience...do it once and you can say you've done it..a bit like running in front of a train or walking on hot coals...and as such it should be seen as one of life's learning curves....I'd already stayed here on a stag do a few years ago and clearly had learnt no lesson...BUT...i suspect I may make the same mistake again! Claustrophobics of the world unite....in an easyhotel room!

Room Tip: Choose a room that's in another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
easyHotel_Edinburgh, Manager at easyHotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review regarding your stay at the easyHotel Edinburgh. I appreciate your comments, and would like to take this opportunity to apologise if your stay was not as comfortable as you had hoped on this occasion.

We are a budget hotel and we do our best to provide the lowest prices for our guests that other places in city centre are unable to offer that is why we have to charge extra for the extra facilities which is clearly stated on our website.
In regards to your comment about the room size, we have variety of room types and sizes. All dimensions, descriptions and photos of our rooms can be found on our website for the guest queries.

Once again thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us and once again I apologise for any inconvenience caused.

Best regards,
Management representative
easyHotel Edinburgh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The tiniest room i've ever seen. 2 suitcases can not fit to the room so we squeezed one of them in to our shower. Shower & toilet together but it is as small as a plane's toilet.
Even though the prices seem convenient, they charge everything extra so it sums up to a regular hotel price. The check in is at 3pm. If you try to check in earlier they sometimes let in with 10pound charge, or they say they can let u check in early and when you ask whether you could leave your luggages because there is no room they also charge you 10pounds extra.
So instead of paying extra charges for unnecessary extras it is convenient to book from another hotel which at least may have elevators and friendly staff.

Room Tip: don't stay in this hotel. each room is uncomfortable individually
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
easyHotel_Edinburgh, Manager at easyHotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time leaving feedback regarding your stay. I would like to apologise for any inconvenience that has been caused to you.

I know that our room sizes are smaller than usual, which is why all dimensions and pictures of our rooms can be found on our website to ensure all of our guests are aware before making bookings. We also have three different types of rooms with the standard room offering a bit more space.

Because we are a budget hotel and offer extremely competitive rates for basic en-suite accommodation we have to charge extras in order to make a profit and although we do charge an extra £10 for early check-in we only charge £2.50 per bag for luggage storage.

Also I would like to apologise if the staff you have dealt with were not friendly and this will be dealt with as soon as possible as we try very hard to achieve the highest level of professionalism

Ones again, please accept my apologies and thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us.

Best regards,

Management representative
easyHotel Edinburgh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borders
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Used this hotel 3 or 4 times now. Very convenient, locality and price. Would recommend to anybody on a budget, as long as they are not wanting a perfect night sleep. Lots of door banging and external noise from the corridor, but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
easyHotel_Edinburgh, Manager at easyHotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review following your recent stay with us at easyHotel Edinburgh.
I am delighted to hear that you find our accommodation to your convenience. I also would like to apologise for the noise that has been disturbing you during your stay with us. This has been passed on to higher management .

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and hope you find your next visit as pleasant as always.

Best regards,
Management representative
easyHotel Edinburgh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to easyHotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about easyHotel Edinburgh

Address: 125A Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 4AD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edinburgh hotel accommodation in the city centre, easyHotel Princes Street is located in the city’s main shopping area and within walking distance to Edinburgh's Waverley Train and main Bus Station. Additionally there is a 24 hour, 7 days a week shuttle to service flights to Edinburgh's International Airport and the city centre. The hotel offers cheap hotel accommodation in the city centre and is located right in the heart of the city on the world famous Princes Street with direct views of Edinburgh Castle and Princes Gardens. The budget lodging accommodation provides easy access to the city's shopping, dining and famous tourist attractions. So whether you are traveling for business or leisure, visiting the playhouse theatre or usher hall the hotel provides a great city center location to base yourself. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
EasyHotel Edinburgh Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage easyHotel Edinburgh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.