We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely old church building with loads of history to tell” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Greyfriars Church

Greyfriars Church
Old Town, Edinburgh, Scotland
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #31 of 204 attractions in Edinburgh
Type: Cemeteries, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Religious Sites, Architectural Buildings, Historic Sites
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Historical church famous for its cemetery where Bobby, a loyal terrier, kept watch over his master's grave for 14 years.
Templepatrick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Lovely old church building with loads of history to tell”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We visited Greyfriars Kirk as it's known locally during our visit to Edinburgh. It is a lovely old building with plenty of secrets and history to discover.
If you have the chance ask one of the church volunteers to give you some of the history, we were there for an orchestral concert by the Edinburgh University Musical Society which was excellent, the acoustics were great plus the atmosphere too.
Just underneath the pulpit is a plaque to commemorate the signing of the Scottish Covenant in the 1600s also the church yard was used as a gaol to house Scottish Covenanters during the very difficult reformation era.
Of course everyone will have heard the tale of Greyfriars Bobby the little dog who sat by the grave of his master - people leave flowers and soft toy animals here at the grave today. There is a pub of the same name and the statue of the dog just as you approach the laneway to the Kirk.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    59
    17
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“most people have probly walked past this for decades not knowing there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

nice place to visit & walk round - most people walk past & miss the entrance. find Bobby the doggy entrance only a few meters from there ! Brilliant on a sunny day to sit & ponder

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesham
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Loads of tours around here but try and spend time with a church volunteer, truckloads of information”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We wanted to visit Greyfriars church and graveyard in the daylight as most of the tours focus on poltergeist and ghost activity!! The pictures on the Royal Mile tour posters of visitors who had been bitten by the resident poltergeist made me crave the safety of daylight!!
We visited on a Wednesday and the church was closed so we walked round the graveyard looking at the amazing carvings on the tombs and headstones, this is where we met Wallace, a church volunteer who was wonderful! He has been at the church for 7 years and the information he had about the graveyard was just astounding! He walked round with us for more than an hour explaining the intricate carvings and their meanings, the history of the place, the link to Harry Potter and of course the lovely story of Greyfriars Bobby. We could have listened to this lovely man for the afternoon but it was very chilly and so we pulled ourselves away. Thankyou Wallace ( if you read trip advisor ) you were brilliant and a pleasure to meet!
Make sure you visit greyfriars and if you decide to do a ghost tour make sure you visit in the light of day too, look out for a church volunteer aswell they aren't led by the ghosts and ghouls history of Greyfriars just by the history, sometimes gruesome but often sad of this stunning place. We shall definately visit again and look for Wallace!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
72 attraction reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Lovely, lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This church is great and steeped in history. There is plenty to see from John Gray's memorial, Bobby and the Covenantors stones. There are plenty very old graves here, wonderful carvings and even a family tomb belonging to the Spankies!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Heartwarming, Spooky and Interesting!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

On a recent trip to Edinburgh with my family, we visited Greyfriars Kirk yard and Church, as my nana was interested in the Greyfriar's Bobby. Greyfriar's Bobby for those of you who don't know was a dog who spent 14 years of his life by his owners graveside and upon his death, the dog was buried just inside the gates of the churchyard, close to his owner. The graveyard was spooky and atmospheric! Crypts are built up against the houses that over look the churchyard and have intricate and interesting details on them. When we visited it was cold and sunny, a cozy winter’s day, and we thoroughly enjoyed our visit.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greyfriars Church also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Greyfriars Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greyfriars Church, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Greyfriars Church to your Saves list