We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“most people have probly walked past this for decades not knowing there” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greyfriars Church

Greyfriars Church
Greyfriers Place, Old Town, Edinburgh, Scotland
0131 225-5429
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$24*
and up
Edinburgh Ghost Tour by Vintage Bus
Ranked #87 of 732 Attractions in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historical church famous for its cemetery where Bobby, a loyal terrier, kept watch over his master's grave for 14 years.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“most people have probly walked past this for decades not knowing there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

nice place to visit & walk round - most people walk past & miss the entrance. find Bobby the doggy entrance only a few meters from there ! Brilliant on a sunny day to sit & ponder

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    87
    21
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wesham
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Loads of tours around here but try and spend time with a church volunteer, truckloads of information”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We wanted to visit Greyfriars church and graveyard in the daylight as most of the tours focus on poltergeist and ghost activity!! The pictures on the Royal Mile tour posters of visitors who had been bitten by the resident poltergeist made me crave the safety of daylight!!
We visited on a Wednesday and the church was closed so we walked round the graveyard looking at the amazing carvings on the tombs and headstones, this is where we met Wallace, a church volunteer who was wonderful! He has been at the church for 7 years and the information he had about the graveyard was just astounding! He walked round with us for more than an hour explaining the intricate carvings and their meanings, the history of the place, the link to Harry Potter and of course the lovely story of Greyfriars Bobby. We could have listened to this lovely man for the afternoon but it was very chilly and so we pulled ourselves away. Thankyou Wallace ( if you read trip advisor ) you were brilliant and a pleasure to meet!
Make sure you visit greyfriars and if you decide to do a ghost tour make sure you visit in the light of day too, look out for a church volunteer aswell they aren't led by the ghosts and ghouls history of Greyfriars just by the history, sometimes gruesome but often sad of this stunning place. We shall definately visit again and look for Wallace!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
288 reviews 288 reviews
86 attraction reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
“Lovely, lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This church is great and steeped in history. There is plenty to see from John Gray's memorial, Bobby and the Covenantors stones. There are plenty very old graves here, wonderful carvings and even a family tomb belonging to the Spankies!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Heartwarming, Spooky and Interesting!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

On a recent trip to Edinburgh with my family, we visited Greyfriars Kirk yard and Church, as my nana was interested in the Greyfriar's Bobby. Greyfriar's Bobby for those of you who don't know was a dog who spent 14 years of his life by his owners graveside and upon his death, the dog was buried just inside the gates of the churchyard, close to his owner. The graveyard was spooky and atmospheric! Crypts are built up against the houses that over look the churchyard and have intricate and interesting details on them. When we visited it was cold and sunny, a cozy winter’s day, and we thoroughly enjoyed our visit.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halle (Saale), Germany
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Concert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

To visit the Church, go there for a concert, the graveyard itself is accessible but the a ghost tour you find out the creepy eerie stories

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greyfriars Church also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Greyfriars Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greyfriars Church, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.