We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Concert” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greyfriars Church

Greyfriars Church
Old Town, Edinburgh, Scotland
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #27 of 207 attractions in Edinburgh
Type: Cemeteries, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Religious Sites, Architectural Buildings, Historic Sites
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Historical church famous for its cemetery where Bobby, a loyal terrier, kept watch over his master's grave for 14 years.
Halle (Saale), Germany
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Concert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

To visit the Church, go there for a concert, the graveyard itself is accessible but the a ghost tour you find out the creepy eerie stories

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    60
    17
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
139 attraction reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
312 helpful votes 312 helpful votes
“Great views inside the churchyard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Not to be missed on any trip to Edinburgh is a visit to this old Kirk. Views of the old churchyard, adjacent buildings and houses with no modern clutter enable you to get a real feel of times gone by in this grand city. There are many magnicient and significant graves and even a memorial to Greyfriar's Bobby which is located at the entrance. The lack of leaves on the trees during our visit in January enhanced the view of the grounds.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Brilliant history and interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I went through this graveyard four times through our stay - once by myself, once later at night with my other half, once during the ghost tour and once with my other half in the day!
It is a very interesting piece of history to know that the hill it is built on is a mound of thousands of bodies!! I love walking through graveyards, sad maybe, but find them very interesting. The Greyfriars Kirkyard is spooky and quite gothic in design, and there are some historical and interesting names to be seen.
My favourite was the Tom Riddell grave, said to be the inspiration for the Tom Riddle name for Voldemort in Harry Potter - It's on the Flodder's wall down the slope.

The Greyfriars Bobby story is often disputed but still an interesting story to read about and see for yourself.
I would recommend visiting here if you enjoy History as Edinburgh is full of it!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto Canada
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great bit of history, go at night for better atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Visited as part of a ghost walk tour and it was great. Got some great pictures at night. Worth the look and it is close to the main sights. We went as part of a tour and it was amazing but I recommend going back to have a longer look around without the group to get a better vibe of the place.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plainfield
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“nice historic builiding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Has a little bit of something for everyone, not full of excitement but the story of Bobby will should interest families, the story of the Covenanters and others is interesting to the history buff. the building itself is a nice example of a kirk.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greyfriars Church also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Greyfriars Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greyfriars Church, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.