We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Calton Hill

Calton Hill
off Regent Road, Edinburgh EH1 3DG, Scotland (Broughton & Calton)
44 131 200 2000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 460 things to do in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historic neighborhood lined with monuments dating back to the Enlightenment.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Only a short walk upwards to this treasure. A lot of spectacular views of the City and especially of Aurthur's Seat. A great place to take photos of everything Edinburgh has to offer.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,572 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,485
    936
    137
    10
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Another good walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Just a stone"s throw from the centre, another good walk in the countryside but stil in Edinburgh.
the monument (Scotland's shame to some) is good to see, though purely visual

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MONTGOMERY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quite a Hike!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

You can take the bus up there, but it felt like I had really accomplished something when I climbed some hidden stairs and found my way to the top. The views are astounding, and I was particularly proud to have my picture taken with the Stewart Monument which I had seen in my guidebook. There is lots to see at the top, and it is easy to get lost on the paths on the way down if you didn't come up by way of them, but it is fun to find your way back to Princes Street. Embrace the adventure!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Well worth the walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

The walk to the top is quite easy and the views are very good. Not far from Princes Street and well worth the excursion.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, VA
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“View is worth the wallk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We had a beautiful day, and reaching the top of the hill and looking out over the city and Firth of Fourth was just amazing.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calton Hill also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Calton Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calton Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.